We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Viking Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Viking Hotel
Ranked #18 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A real holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

The Viking Hotel excelled again passed all expectations food and service second to none, entertainment with Buddy Lee and friends was brilliant. We booked this holiday because it was all inclusive and we meet some friends who we have met for the last 4 years and lots of other who return as regular as we do, that alone speaks for it's self what a good hotel this is the menu cant be faulted all I can say is WOW.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harryxBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    407
    93
    33
    23
See reviews for
102
621
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
st helens
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel, good points are that check in was smooth and our room was allocated straight away,room lovely and clean, free car park, staff friendly in all areas, food was very good with lots of choices at dinner, breakfast was a buffet which was exceptionally good, we went to the show on the Saturday very entertaining. Now the bad points we could not shower the water was either red hot or freezing cold!, some of the public areas were shabby looking and the lift was dark and grubby, drinks in the club were expensive and tasted weak, however this did not spoil our experience and would recommend this hotel and we would book here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

The. Food was very good and the entertainment in the talk of the coast was good on both nights. We got there on the Friday lunch time and met our friends from Bradford and had a look around. Blackpool and then back to tHe hotel and had.ba few drinks befor our evening meal and then went down to see the show.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax west yorkshire united kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Went to the viking hotel blackpool with our family 10th aug for our golden wedding on 11aug, everyone enjoyed it,Staff were friendly food is great good choice at evening meal and buffet breakfast,the entertainment on friday and saturday was first class,our waiter on evening was Mathew he could not do enought for you nothing was to much trouble,only one drawback bar prices were a bit steep by the entertainment made up for it. just one thing to say, thank you for making it a special weekend

Room Tip: front rooms have a lovely view of prom and irish sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

We have been 4 times this year and we love it, the staff are very friendly and helpful
Plan to go again soon.
Rooms are clean cosy, the food is great and the entertainment is excellent, we have the use of a swimming at the sister hotel which is good

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

I stayed here with my grandmother for 3 days (Mon - Weds break). The hotel is located at the south pier (closest tram stop). The hotel is very clean and rooms (although on the small side) - very adequate. Ok, so there were a few things that could have been improved on, such as the broken door handle on the bathroom and the broken hinge on the warddrobe but it was a very good purchase. Also - watch out for the red hot water!!

Check in was a little on the slow side but I think that we just came at a busy time. Once served, staff were very efficient and friendly. & you can even purchase tram & bus tickets here.

The food is amazing and I am a really picky eater. There is a different dinner menu available each day with a wide range of starters, mains and puddings. On both nights, the food was excellent. The food came out quickly and was to a high standard. The starters and mains are served by a waiter and then you help yourself to pudding. The tables are a bit close together but this is because it is a really busy hotel. The breakfast was just as good too and you can have as much/as little as you want.

Entertainment wasn't really our cup of tea but everyone else seemed to enjoy it. & it's free for hotel guests so worth a try. It was rude humour - but if you like that then you will be satisfied. Also - avoid the 'big money' bingo as this was very expensive £12 per person for only 5 games and prizes very low. Perhaps could have been a one off but didn't play it again.

I would definitely visit this hotel again and recommend it too. I have stayed at the Claremont before and we enjoyed the Viking more!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lwa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

only one problem, the service in the resturant. it was to slow we had to wait between courses. apart from that everything was ok. we will be back next year. room was fine, clean towels every day. is it possible to fit some fans in the room as it can get very warm during summer months.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChoiceHotelsltd, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear glenn m

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay at the Viking. We have discussed your comments with the Restaurant Manager who will endeavour to increase the speed of service during dinner.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay otherwise and hope that you will visit us again.

Regards

Sally Carpenito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,028 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,850 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,973 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
2.0 mi away
Claremont Hotel
Claremont Hotel
#19 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel

Property: Viking Hotel
Address: 479 Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#19 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Viking for good food, friendly service and exciting entertainment - all under one roof! Only a few minutes walk from South Pier and Blackpool Pleasure Beach, at the Viking the accent is on fun. Our exceptional sea view restaurant and unrivalled 'Talk of the Coast' cabaret club with top name acts featured nightly, offer our guests simply the best evening's entertainment in the town. An ideal base for a lively child free holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing