We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“talk of the coast”
Review of Viking Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Viking Hotel
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2011

we have stayed here before many years ago in the 1990's and i dont think it has changed much at all. ensuite room was small as was the bathroom,but ok for a weekend stay. decor tired in places, dining room bright with sea view. all the staff very friendly, efficient and helpful. food was good, plenty of choice. nice buffet style cooked breakfast & cereals, porridge also available. the talk of the coast shows were very good, efficient bar service and reasonable price drinks. the totc lounge is dated but all in all we enjoyed our stay and would go back. free wifi is available in the lounge. my tip would be: arrive early and secure a hotel parking space,spaces are limited.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kay b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,048 - 1,054 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2011

Just returned today from a weekend at the Viking Hotel Blackpool. I can describe the weekend in one word, 'FANTASTIC'... Trust me, I have stayed in many hotels in Blackpool over the years, the Viking is head and shoulders above the rest. I stayed with my wife and in-laws and all 4 of us agree it was truly one of the best weekends we have ever had. We booked 2 sea view rooms and both were clean, tidy and had everything you'd need for the weekend. We were on a BBD basis and the food in the restaurant is as good as you'll get anywhere, good taste, choice, presentation, atmosphere, service, I couldn't fault anything. The breakfast being self service is spot on and just what you need to start your day. With the exception of some of the reception staff (who need to smile and improve their customer service), all staff we encountered were extremely polite and courteous at all times and were more than willing to help with all our needs. We all enjoyed both nights in the 'Talk of the coast' the show is entertaining and very very funny with Buddy Lee, he'll have you in stitches with his interaction with the audience... We'll definitely be returning soon. Thanks Viking

Room Tip: Sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ANDYBATT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Food was outstanding,great choices,Service in restaurant and bars was excellent.
Entertainment in TOTC was excellent and we enjoyed it except for Thursday.
Staff were all friendly and helpful.
Looking forward to next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MICHAELO23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Lovely room. Nice decor and very clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Food quality and choice is excellent. Top class entertainment too. Excellent value for money. Looking forward to staying again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MerseysideCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

first room.rotten.walls dirty wardrobe falling tobits.beds clean.they moved us to room down hall.better but looked like end of season room not begining.rooms very hot.staff very helpfull and kind.food 5out of 10 .had to get up 2 flights of stairs and get in very small lift.if your put on top floor you have to go up more stairs.would not recommend .full of people over 60.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 987,654,321,186,337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

What a brilliant hotel, we chose this place because it had entertainment and I had read other great reviews. Myself, mother, sister and niece went on a weekend from Friday to Sunday as it was my mothers birthday. The food was excellent and the service in the dining room was first class,a big thank you to the ladies who arranged a window seat for us, the entertainment was brilliant, from the comedians, dancers and singers. The staff were helpful, friendly and the room was spotless, even a comfy bed.
The only down side to the hotel is if you are disabled there are about a dozen steps from the reception to the lift on the first floor and the bathrooms could do with a refurb. I will definately be going back and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janet50Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

we stayed her for four days all inclusive it was a fabulous break the hotel was lovely and clean the food was out of this world ant the staff couldn't help you enough you would be hard pressed to find a better hotel in Blackpool

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank keithbiston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,306 reviews
0.6 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,192 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Claremont Hotel
Claremont Hotel
#20 of 73 in Blackpool
1,539 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#24 of 73 in Blackpool
1,950 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel

Address: 479 Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#19 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: $108 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Viking for good food, friendly service and exciting entertainment - all under one roof! Only a few minutes walk from South Pier and Blackpool Pleasure Beach, at the Viking the accent is on fun. Our exceptional sea view restaurant and unrivalled 'Talk of the Coast' cabaret club with top name acts featured nightly, offer our guests simply the best evening's entertainment in the town. An ideal base for a lively child free holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing