We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never need to look for any other hotel in blacpool”
Review of Viking Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Viking Hotel
Ranked #19 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2011

The service inall aspects is very good,especially with the staff who remember you from previous visits. The rooms are cosy and spacious. Evening entertainment is nver to be missed with superb shows every night. while the food has always been a hi-light of this hotel, it has been made even better by the introduction of a buffet style breakfast. My only concern was the lifts not individually going to all floors.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buck6282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,150)
There are newer reviews for Viking Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,059 - 1,065 of 1,151 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2011

me and my wife as stayed at the Viking 3 times and really enjoyed our stay,the entertainment is first class and the meals were top class and the staff would do anything to make your stay first class,We are going back this Easter weekend and more times in the future

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashy1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

All the family congregated at the Viking in July 2010 to cellabrate our Uncles 70th Birthday. We have been going to the Viking once a year for the past 7 years and always have a great time. The rooms are always clean and the entertainment is great. We are all fans of Buddy who makes sure everyone enjoys their evenin

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilaUpholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

It is our last night and we have just finished dinner and we are sitting in the lounge using the hotels free Wifi to write this review enjoying complimentary coffee which is served after dinner!
We arrived on Tuesday evening and only booked this hotel the day before. We have stayed here before about 2 years ago and we are pleased to say how improved the overall service and hotel decor is!
Check in:
The reception staff are friendly and efficient and check in was smooth and trouble free!
The room:
Considering this is only a 2 star hotel the room is basic but acceptable. There is tea and coffee faciliaties in the room and it is clean, if you get a choice choose a sea view..... Simply stunning watching the sun set over the sea.
Your room is cleaned daily with fresh towels provided!
Food:
This is where this hotels excels because you have 5 choices of starter, main and desert. The restaurant caters for British tastes so you always get your meat and 2 veg along with other dishes. For example tonight we had Feta Salad and Smoked Salmon followed by Lamb shanks which were cooked to perfection and bread & butter pudding and chocolate fudge cake.
If you are british you will love the food!!!
Service:
The waiters and waitresses are excellent and I can report that Jackie is very pleasant so you can ignore other reviews about her on here! I read that she was awful and in my opinion those comments are unfounded!
Entertainment:
We booked this hotel because of the high standard of entertainment in the hotel show lounge and once again they did not disappoint. The host and compere is Buddy Lee and he is a legend in his own right add the dancers and a couple of good acts this makes a great night of entertainment which you will not find in any other hotel in Blackpool.
In summary this hotel represents excellent value for money, great service, it's clean and you are entertained so what more can you ask?
We are well travelled in the UK, Europe and beyond so you are getting a honest review by people that know what they are talking about! We have been really pleased with our midweek break and hope that this review will help you when thinking of booking a holiday in Blackpool .... If they are not fully booked!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simonjason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Good Hotel, Pleasant Staff, Good Food, Good Entertainment, Value for Money

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Returned again to The Viking to yet another enjoyable weekend. Food was excellent and a good choice both breakfast & evening meal. Rooms are a bit tired looking but you are only sleeping in them. Buddy Lee well what can we say two nights of good entertainment, with plenty of laughs right threw the night. The other artists first class as were the dancers. We will be booklng again be sure of that. Well Done The Viking.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meggiez01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

We travelled with our friends Simon & Joanna from Greater Manchester they've stayed at The Viking for the last few years for the Valentines weekend break. This was our first-time of staying and certainly won't be the last time we will make this a yearly weekend away. Great entertainment with Buddy Lee he was so funny and very likable you never tire of him also Carl Schofield was a brilliant comedian. The staff on the reception desk were very professional at check in and out, staff in the restaurant never stopped in making sure we were looked after. Thank you to everyone at The Viking we look forward to seeing you again. Mel & Steve, Manchester

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melmarsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,148 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,259 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#23 of 73 in Blackpool
1,935 reviews
2.0 mi away
Claremont Hotel
Claremont Hotel
#21 of 73 in Blackpool
1,519 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel

Address: 479 Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#19 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: $111 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Viking for good food, friendly service and exciting entertainment - all under one roof! Only a few minutes walk from South Pier and Blackpool Pleasure Beach, at the Viking the accent is on fun. Our exceptional sea view restaurant and unrivalled 'Talk of the Coast' cabaret club with top name acts featured nightly, offer our guests simply the best evening's entertainment in the town. An ideal base for a lively child free holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing