We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant for Hen Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Derwent Blackpool

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Derwent Blackpool
Ranked #184 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant for Hen Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

There was 12 of us staying at the Derwent for a Hen party, and it was fantastic. Welcoming, friendly and clean. We all said we would stay again if back in blackpool!! The rooms were comfortable and the food was great : ) would definitly reccommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    53
    24
    7
    8
See reviews for
41
110
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

What a great hotel could not fault it one little bit, our first time staying at the derwent, stayed May bank holiday weekend, everyone was so impressed with my choice of hotel that all 15 of us said we would stay again if back in blackpool. I also agree with alot of other reviews for this hotel the owners are really nice, friendly and helpful. Stayed in many hotels in blackpool and this one is by far the best for service, cleanliness, breakfast, location, value for money, My biggest concern was is the hotel going to be clean as i run my own cleaning business, there was nothing for me to worry about the hotel was spotless. The bar was opened up for us both nights which was great with karaoke. Would recommened this hotel to anyone thinking of staying at blackpool, i will certainly be returning with my husband.

Room Tip: I would say all the rooms are great, we were all very satisfied
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cumbrialisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

If your looking for a B&B that is clean, friendly and happy to accomodate then this is it. The owners really do make every effort to ensure your stay is up to scratch, they are very warm and welcoming. We were a party of 14 hens and they were very helpful on nightclubs, bars, somewhere nice to eat and the do's and the dont's. Before going out we had a few drinks in the bar and they even provided karaoke. Full english breakfast was great and you could help yourself to coffee and cereal. Overall a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

I visited the Derwent and have to say from the moment we arrived its was fabulous!
We were a partry of hens and had 3 rooms between us they were all warm, comfortable and had all the amenties advertised!

Beds were very comfortable and the place was clean, fresh and just what we needed!

The bar is a great little area for pre party drinks

Breakfast was Fantastic, it arrived quickly there was endless toast tea and coffee - topped off on our final morning with a group photo taken by the owners from the previous day to keep as a souvenir!

Definatley worth a stay if you are looking for some where in blackpool for a hen party or weekend away

Massive thanks for having us will definatley be back !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bagnalina01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, Shropshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

Firstly, I'd like to point out that in calling ahead and asking if the Derwent could match what expedia.co.uk were offering the hotel for, we ended up paying just £16 pppn, so it's hard to be overly judgemental about the Derwent.

It's situated maybe a 10/15 minute walk from Blackpool tower on a relatively quiet street, but unfortunately parking is only available at the end of the road next to the busy main road, which was disappointing as it meant the car was being stored out of sight, and the £5.50 per day charge pushed the overall cost of the stay up somewhat. Parking on the street is only available for 1 hour, or all day on Sunday.

Chris is very friendly and went out of his way to ask where we'd come from, what brought us to Blackpool, and even gave us a business card to ensure we could get back to the hotel after "too many lemonades", quite a nice touch!

The room was clean and tidy, and the bathroom was spacious enough for our needs. The TV wasn't connected when we arrived so we had to tune it in ourself, but I'm fairly sure the room had been recently decorated by the freshly pasted smell that was present in the room. My only negative point on the room was the bed which was fairly hard and uncomfortable, and the single pillow was rock solid, which meant waking up with a cricked neck on both mornings of our stay. The walls also seem quite thin, as we could clearly hear the TV in the room next door.

I've stayed in other B&B's in Blackpool which were both better located and more comfortable, albeit at a higher price, so there's certainly a case of swings and roundabouts to be considered here, but with a few minor adjustments, Chris could have a goldmine on his hands here, as he certainly has the personality to be succesful as a proprietor in Blackpool!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

me and my five friends only enjoyed a flying visit of blackpool for one night but chris at the derwent hotel was absolutely lovely and really welcoming and hospitable
just about to book to stay there again for a weekend in february!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cabbages106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

My friends and I stayed here for my Hen party in November. I cannot stress enough how fantastic our stay was and this was all down to Rob, Chris and Shaun! We were given a very friendly welcome when checking in and nothing was too much trouble for them. They made us feel at home and their personalities and humour added to my whole weekend! The breakfasts were amazing and just what we needed after a heavy party night and on the Saturday they hosted a little hen party in the bar downstairs, which might I add is brilliant! We had karaoke and drinks and even a little buffet all served with more than a smile! The rooms were great! The beds were sooo comfy and everywhere was spotless.

If you are going for a weekend in Blackpool I cannot recommend The Derwent highly enough!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.2 mi away
The Carousel Hotel, Blackpool
0.1 mi away
Llanryan Guest House
Llanryan Guest House
#157 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lanes Hotel
The Lanes Hotel
#529 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arncliffe Hotel
Arncliffe Hotel
#608 of 913 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#463 of 913 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#69 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derwent Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derwent Blackpool

Property: The Derwent Blackpool
Address: 42 Palatine Road, Blackpool FY1 4BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Derwent Blackpool 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer warm, friendly and cordial guest accommodation. With rooms containing, full central heating, digital TV in all bedrooms, free internet access in the bar. We provide guests with a hearty, traditional full English breakfast. We also cater for groups both large and small and up to 13 person coach parties. We have a strict non-smoking policy within our hotel.Coupling excellent food with swift service, it is little wonder we have been awarded a 3* and BAGS award!Situated within a few minutes walk from the town centre, sea front, theatre and clubs. Nearby the lake-district offers a stark contrast to Blackpool's attractions in the shape of beautiful countryside and stunning landscapes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Derwent Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing