We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”

Glendowie Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glendowie Guest House
Ranked #454 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent hotel”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

visited on the 30th July originally for 1 night but decided to spend 2 nights instead. room, food, hotel and lynn and merv was fatastic hosts nothing was a problem to ask. breakfast was FANTASTIC. we will be going back very soon. thanks again for the warm welcome.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoyle1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
4
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We come and stay here on a regular basis, and couldnt ask for more!!!! Lynn & Merv make you feel at home in thier home, exceptional breakfast to kick start your day, which you could start it anywhere as the B&B is situated 5mins walk from sea front with pleasure beach 10mins walk and the town with other attractions only 10min walk in other direction. Would never ever stay any where else in Blackpool & alwasy recommend. couldnt ask for any more from wonderful Glendowie Guest House xxx

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2011

I stay here on a regular basis as Im a season ticket holder at Bloomfield road (Blackpool fc) but I live in Aberdeen.
Merv & Lynn make me feel like its my second home and they go out of their way to help especially when I stay there with my 8 year old during holidays. I have stayed at other B&Bs but ended up at the Glendowie because another B&B I had booked at out of season had forgot I was coming. Im really glad they had because I wouldnt want to stay anywhere else now. Value for money - Just the best. For somewhere to put your head down and have a great breakfast before you go out for the day then choose this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Stayed in a single room for a weekend. Very basic. Bed, hanging rail and sink. Would have been more enjoyable if there was a tv in the room. The dining room was in the cellar with the bar area, all clean, nice food, pleasant and friendly proprietors.
Couldn't get hot water in the leaking shower but other than that, I may stay there again but perhaps upgrade to a double room and hopefully get en-suite

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roughbubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

When I realised how much we were paying for B & B I was convinced that it was going to be a hell hole ....... I could NOT have been more wrong ! Lovely family run establishment. Clean and tidy and the owners happy to change the time for breakfast to accommodate our intended late night !
Centrally located in a deadend road with other B&B's this was by far the nicest looking, there is a carpark at the end of the road £10.00 for 24 hours also good value.
After a restful night a cracking breakfast was served with no complaints from any of us ! The only negative I have is that there was not a TV in the room although we didn't need one because we only stayed one night I feel it may be missed after a few days !

We have just booked to go again to see the Blackpool illuminations, cant wait !

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rivelincottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

More than a typical Blackpool B&B. A very relaxed atmosphere,immaculately kept, freshly decorated rooms. Close walking distance to the Central Pier and town centre.A very congenial atmosphere in the bar with Merv the perfect host. Lynns breakfast will keep you going all day.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumhip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2010

The warmest welcome by Lynn and Merv, the guest house is in a ideal situation for all attractions and ages. It is clean and comfortable and good value for money. For your use is a large sitting room and comfortable dinning room. Bedrooms are well maintained with tea making facilities, and bathrooms have towels and accessories.
I would reccommend this guest house every time.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crackerjack281267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#227 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Minotel Lucena
Minotel Lucena
#92 of 126 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#326 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,060 reviews
1.2 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendowie Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendowie Guest House

Property: Glendowie Guest House
Address: 23 Lonsdale Road, Blackpool FY1 6EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #454 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Glendowie Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glendowie Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing