We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly rude staff”
Review of Ocean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Hotel
Ranked #797 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 19, 2011

This hotel only cost us £20 a night each, the rooms weren't too bad and it was a very good location. However, I would still never ever stay here again purely due to the cold and terribly rude reception of the man and woman who run this hotel. I have never met such rude and unwelcoming people in my life. To start, I was forced to park in the smallest space in the world round the back of their hotel whilst the woman stood there with a fowl look on her face. She then spoke to me and my party very rudely about payment once we checked in. But the worst was yet to come when the man rudely asked me to stand outside in the rain to eat food as I couldn't bring it in the hotel. Then demanded me to prove that I was a resident at the hotel by showing him my key before I was allowed to enter. This was at 2:00am in the morning following a night out! However, the woman (the owner's sister) who served us at breakfast was the absolute opposite in the morning, incredibly friendly and welcoming. She should run the hotel instead before they're out of business!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kscru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 65 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2011

The decor was very dated but for £40 a night we weren't expecting too much. The owners were very friendly and courteous, breakfast was good but not exceptional. Overall nothing much to moan about, it just needs decorating. The Irish guy that served breakfast was very friendly and nothing was too much trouble, thank you for a great weekend, would definitely come again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedRob72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

ocean view-under new ownership,went several years ago ,very dated then,now having total
re-vamp,rooms of a very high standard,excellent value,tried to book for easter-no chance
new owners very helpful,builders in at present during week to complete re-vamp,once
done will be superb if rooms are anything to go by,really enjoyed my weekend,hoping to return soon

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mircalla007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

This hotel is advertised on websites locating smokers rooms, it does not have smoking rooms so disregard that. They said in the ad that you could request a cot they did not say you have to pay £5 for the use of the only cot they have in the place or the one booster seat. The car park is very small and all the cars are double parked so if you wish to set off early you have to wait for whomever is blocking you in.
The rooms are dingy and in desperate need of a coat of paint as is the rest of the hotel, it is very shabby and tired and obviously needs money spending on it, the surroundings are also very dingy and it is not a very nice area at all. Having said that the bedding was clean, the breakfast was reasonable and the staff very friendly but that would not tempt me to go there again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpanishfanMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

it looks good on the outside but i must say the rooms are alright however the bathrooms and toilets are DISGUSTING - very dirty! and the smell is unbearable !

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amyk65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

hotel was in good position but the owner was a very rude man who had no manners at all i expect good hospitality when i am paying money to stay somewhere and the way he spoke to my party on 2 occasions was not acceptable in my eyes

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heatherjane2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

We stayed here over a weekend.

First room the flusher didnt work so we were moved to another room , second room was not prepared, we had one towel to share between a family of 3 and there were curly black hairs ( don't want to think about where they came from) both in the shower and on the floor in front.

Toilet roll provided sat on the floor and was brown at each end.

Room was small and looked out on to someone elses room and dirty back alley.

We were charged more than we were told on the phone and there is no control over the bar area, on the Saturday night we stayed residents were more or less tearing the place apart, glass was smashed, drink was all over the floor, tables were knocked over and none of it was cleared up - definitely not a place for children.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llbbcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.1 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#94 of 863 in Blackpool
212 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#140 of 863 in Blackpool
85 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#102 of 135 in Blackpool
157 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,375 reviews
1.6 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#346 of 863 in Blackpool
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Hotel

Address: 180/182 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 1RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #797 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing