We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable and very hospitable land lord and lady!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alexander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alexander Hotel
Ranked #168 of 911 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and very hospitable land lord and lady!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

Will def come back to the Sandhurst when visiting Blackpool again, rooms clean and comfortable, good location for trams, buses and pleasure beach. Recommended for a short stay in Blackpool.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sianebabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    20
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
20
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2010

I cannot fault this hotel. We paid just £28 for the night and were greeted by friendly staff who went out of their way to help in any way possible.

Although the bedrooms are small , they are clean and well presented, with freeview TV and an ensuite with shower. There is plenty of storage with a wardrobe and cupboard. The rooms are perfect for anyone who just wants a nice, clean place to stay and is not looking for luxury.

The hotel has a great little bar with well priced drinks and a variety of games machines, which is great if, like us you arrive later on in the evening and just want a quiet drink.

Breakfast was provided at a great price. We were given bacon sandwiches for £1.50 each and the food was of a good quality - well cooked, not greasy and a generous portion.

This hotel is perfect for those visiting the Pleasure Beach as it is literally about a 1 minute walk away from the hotel. The South Pier is a couple of minutes away and the hotel is conveniently located only about 10 minutes walk from Blackpool Pleasure Beach Rail station.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah_0888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2009

We booked a room on the day so we could stay for the illuminations. Our room was very spacious (for a family room in Blackpool) and it was very clean and comfortable with tea/coffee making facilities which was great.

The actual hotel was much nicer than we'd been expecting considering the price that we paid. The owners Mick and Joanne were lovely people, very helpful & attentive and their Breakfast was great! The other guests were nice too including families with kids (like ourselves), and thankfully no rowdy stags or hens!

We would definitely book to stay here again if we were to go to Blackpool in the future.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimjamlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

stayed for the weekend at the end of aug,2009 with friends and family,mick and joanne are a lovely couple who made the adults as well as the children in our group feel welcome,we loved the atmosphere of the place,and nothing was too much trouble.All our rooms were clean and tidy,with fresh towels and bed linen,well stocked bar which catered for all our tastes,suituated close to all the attractions.I would recommend this hotel to anyone and certainly look forwards to staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funkymonkey64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2009

I stayed at the Sandhurst Hotel in August with my son only for 1 night but would have happily stayed for longer. Yes the hotel is probably in need of an up-date but who really worries if the place is as spotlessly clean at the Sandhurst. From the moment we arrived we were greeted by a very pleasant landlord who even carried our case to our room on the top floor. The room although small was extremely nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was the only room in need of an up-date but as this smelt of bleach and was spotlessly clean it really was not a problem. The Sandhurst is ideally located for the Pleasure Beach and South Pier and trams and extremely good value. The breakfast in the morning was huge and good value and the bar tariff was not unreasonable. All in all I would definitely stay at the Sandhurst Hotel again and would recommend this B&B to anyone other than a person with a disability who could not manage stairs as there is no lift.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nasher30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2009

I was part of a large family group that had to be split between The Sandhurst and The Oban across the Road (wished I stayed there!). When we arrived we were not introduced to the couple running the hotel (apparently under new management) we were t asked to pay for the rooms up front. The majority of my party were staying across the road so on the Friday night we met in their B&B for drinks, at the end of the evening myself and the rest of ny party that were staying at the Sandhurst popped into the bar to have a nightcap. Apart from the managers in-laws we were the only people in the hotel and the only people paying for drinks in the bar. After 5-10 minutes of being in the bar the husband of the management team came into the bar and said " O, has their bar closed?, well don't think you can come over here tomorrow night and get a drink!!!. That was the only time he spoke to any of us!!. The wife of the duo is pleasant enough and would try to do all she could to make your stay a good one, but her husband makes all her efforts a waste of time.
The room was in a poor state, smelled of damp, wallpaper hanging off the wall, the bathroom had mould and a leak that we couldn't find the source of, also had a large hole in the bathroom wall, but was cleaned everyday and fresh towels; and tea, coffee, sugar and milk replaced.

Breakfast was good, service was poor (e.g. orange juice but no glasses) but when you got what you ordered it was fresh and hot. I will not be recommending this hotel to anyone, not even my worst enemy - you have been warned!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gunnerking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
San Diego Guest House
San Diego Guest House
#129 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.0 mi away
Thistle Dhu Guest House
Thistle Dhu Guest House
#89 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
2.9 mi away
Oakland Guest House
Oakland Guest House
#143 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Staymor Hotel
Staymor Hotel
#217 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Blackpool
Aparthotel Blackpool
#55 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Holmeleigh Hotel
The Holmeleigh Hotel
#134 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Property: Alexander Hotel
Address: 29 Osborne Road, Blackpool FY4 1HJ, England (Formerly Sandhurst Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 911 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexander Hotel, Blackpool, Is An Attractive Family Friendly Hotel, Where New Owners (May 2013) Neil & Joyce, Aim To Make Your Stay, As Enjoyable As Possible. The Hotel Provides 1 Family (2+2), 2 Family (2+1), 2 Small Doubles, 3 Standard Double Rooms. Which Are Serviced Daily. We Will Soon Be Adding 1 Single Bedroom. All Rooms Are Equipped With En-Suite Shower, Tea & Coffee Making Facilities, TV & Free WiFi Connection. The Hotel Is A 2 Minute Walk To Blackpool Pleasure Beach, Sandcastle Waterpark, Grosvenor Casino, South Pier & The Promenade & Beach. Public Bars & Amusement Arcades Are Also Nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing