We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Alexander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alexander Hotel
Ranked #161 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here twice now, and both times it was excellent , Mick and Joanne are very friendly (even two years between visits they still recognised my voice on the phone ), the rooms are a good size and very clean, the location is good, breakfast was first class. All in all a great place to stay in Blackpool, I recommend to every family to goes to Blackpool.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1greywolf1brownbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    22
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
22
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stayed at the Sandhurst for 5 weeks whilst doing a course at Blackpool college. The rooms given me far exceeded the amount I paid (less than £14 a night for a double on suite). The place was clean and quite with fresh towels and the bed made everyday. Joanne and mick were always friendly and helpful. A lovely family run place, 300 yards from tramline. Perfect :-)))))

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wonkystonky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

cheap break clean hotel friendly recomended all en suite £15 per person per night dont come expecting luxury its value adequate for somewhere to sleep bathroom small but clean a shower toilet ,kettle and bed what more do you need

Room Tip: this is a value accomodation all en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimlo1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern irelamd
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Booked this hotel as an over night stop as we were traveling up to Scotland. the staff are so friendly and how room was fantastic. We had a family room, though it was only me my husband and 1 year old. The room was big enough for us to have our travel cot up even though it had bunk beds and a double! The ensuite was massive!!! and everything was very clean. There is parking on street which is free, its luck if you get a space, we were able to get one just around the corner, and the location is perfect! We had no trouble with noise etc. Only downside was that we had to leave too early for our breakfast, which I gather from other reviews, would have been yummy! never-mind, we will be back again!

Room Tip: we were in room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littletravelller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedworth
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I booked this hotel as an overnight stay in Blackpool due to it's location being near to Blackpool football club. The owners of the hotel were very pleasant and i was made feel very welcome however the down side is there is no on site parking and the nearest available parking is at the football club itself which i didn't feel comfortable leaving my car in an open car park over night. The rooms were comforable but a little small but it was clean and everything i needed for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: Choose a bigger room if possible as they are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ByronBedworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend on sea
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel three times now and each time i enjoyed my stay. The service was excellent and so was the rooms and breakfast. Very worth the money and if i went back to blackpool i would stay here. GREAT BED AND BREAKFAST.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoshuaMaxwell29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Stayed at The Sandhurst for the 2nd time and it was equally as good as the first. Mick & Joanne are great hosts, it's like a home from home. They can't do enough for you, they work incredibly hard and you really get the feeling you are being looked after. Next door to the pleasure beach and with a Pier close by you have entertainment on your door step! I can't wait to visit again next year!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaddyCool29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.5 mi away
The Royal Alexandra Hotel
The Royal Alexandra Hotel
#50 of 73 in Blackpool
309 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
1,539 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#8 of 73 in Blackpool
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,105 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
498 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hotel Wilmar
The Hotel Wilmar
#160 of 859 in Blackpool
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Property: Alexander Hotel
Address: 29 Osborne Road, Blackpool FY4 1HJ, England (Formerly Sandhurst Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexander Hotel, Blackpool, Is An Attractive Family Friendly Hotel, Where New Owners (May 2013) Neil & Joyce, Aim To Make Your Stay, As Enjoyable As Possible. The Hotel Provides 1 Family (2+2), 2 Family (2+1), 2 Small Doubles, 3 Standard Double Rooms. Which Are Serviced Daily. We Will Soon Be Adding 1 Single Bedroom. All Rooms Are Equipped With En-Suite Shower, Tea & Coffee Making Facilities, TV & Free WiFi Connection. The Hotel Is A 2 Minute Walk To Blackpool Pleasure Beach, Sandcastle Waterpark, Grosvenor Casino, South Pier & The Promenade & Beach. Public Bars & Amusement Arcades Are Also Nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing