We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Alexander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alexander Hotel
Ranked #182 of 911 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedworth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

I booked this hotel as an overnight stay in Blackpool due to it's location being near to Blackpool football club. The owners of the hotel were very pleasant and i was made feel very welcome however the down side is there is no on site parking and the nearest available parking is at the football club itself which i didn't feel comfortable leaving my car in an open car park over night. The rooms were comforable but a little small but it was clean and everything i needed for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: Choose a bigger room if possible as they are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ByronBedworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    20
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
20
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southend on sea
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel three times now and each time i enjoyed my stay. The service was excellent and so was the rooms and breakfast. Very worth the money and if i went back to blackpool i would stay here. GREAT BED AND BREAKFAST.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoshuaMaxwell29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

Stayed at The Sandhurst for the 2nd time and it was equally as good as the first. Mick & Joanne are great hosts, it's like a home from home. They can't do enough for you, they work incredibly hard and you really get the feeling you are being looked after. Next door to the pleasure beach and with a Pier close by you have entertainment on your door step! I can't wait to visit again next year!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaddyCool29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

We were expecting a small room as stated but this was literally a large single bed in a box room, the en-suite was falling to bits but what can you expect with the price? Well I would expect hot water for a start, my partner had a nice warm shower which was nice, but afterwards my shower was short lived, by the time I had shampoo on my head the water turned freezing so I was unable to wash it out. I got my partner to go down stairs and we were told the light had gone out on the boiler and to wait 10 minutes for it to warm back up, this didn’t happen. After 10 minutes I went down myself with shampoo still in my hair and was told the water tank didn’t cater for multiple showers. How is this possible for a hotel with multiple rooms?... However after I explained we were meeting Friends at 6pm and it was already 5 we were finally offered an electric shower in another room. However the temperature gauge was on the outside of the shower and also to turn it on you had to turn it from hot to cold, so I set it at the halfway mark. Jumped in the shower and screamed. This was scalding, jumped back out and turned it right on the blue. This was still far too hot and by the time I’d managed to wash my shampoo out I was red raw. I told the hotel owner and was told I could have my money back and leave, but this wasn’t my intention, I just wanted to give advice plus time was getting on and we were pushing it to be out for 6pm. Over all not necessarily happy, the plus was didn’t have to be out of rooms until 11 am but can think of any other plusses.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jezz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed for two nights and the accommodation okay, en-suite with a double and two singles. The room was well presented and clean as was the en-suite. The breakfast could have been better quality given the price of the room. The hotel is very close to the pleasure beach and south pier.

There is very limited on street parking in the area, and we had to leave our car a couple of blocks away.

Having booked a room for 4 adults via Bookings.com we were disappointed to discover that the price for the room was apparently for 2 adults and 2 children resulting in additional and unexpected costs. The staff were pleasant and friendly but uncompromising, given the situation. The last thing anyone wants to hear on arrival is that there are additional charges and for that reason I wouldn’t be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StuEdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

Managed to get in for a one night stay - although the shower was not working really enjoyed it - especially as it was a one night stay!!

Promised to come and see them soon as will be staying at the Arncliffe Hotel on osborne road

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillianlingard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

Very comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price. The rooms are small but clean and the location is ideal. Would recommend for a short stay.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stickeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
San Diego Guest House
San Diego Guest House
#126 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.0 mi away
Thistle Dhu Guest House
Thistle Dhu Guest House
#87 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
2.9 mi away
Oakland Guest House
Oakland Guest House
#130 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Staymor Hotel
Staymor Hotel
#215 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Blackpool
Aparthotel Blackpool
#49 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Holmeleigh Hotel
The Holmeleigh Hotel
#132 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Property: Alexander Hotel
Address: 29 Osborne Road, Blackpool FY4 1HJ, England (Formerly Sandhurst Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 911 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexander Hotel, Blackpool, Is An Attractive Family Friendly Hotel, Where New Owners (May 2013) Neil & Joyce, Aim To Make Your Stay, As Enjoyable As Possible. The Hotel Provides 1 Family (2+2), 2 Family (2+1), 2 Small Doubles, 3 Standard Double Rooms. Which Are Serviced Daily. We Will Soon Be Adding 1 Single Bedroom. All Rooms Are Equipped With En-Suite Shower, Tea & Coffee Making Facilities, TV & Free WiFi Connection. The Hotel Is A 2 Minute Walk To Blackpool Pleasure Beach, Sandcastle Waterpark, Grosvenor Casino, South Pier & The Promenade & Beach. Public Bars & Amusement Arcades Are Also Nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing