We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Residence Hotel
Ranked #824 of 864 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We arrived at the front door to be greeted by the owner and to tell us we had booked it wrongly and if there was indeed 2 of us in each double room (instead of 1) the price is £50 per night instead of £35!. (My mistake). We then asked to cancel he said he would charge us anyway as need to cancel 7 days before hand. So we had no choice but to pay, as booking over the internet, the owner already had my card details. We asked to see the rooms before we paid anyway. After seeing the rooms we went back to complain about the state of the rooms, as they were dirty. He just said this is Blackpool what did you expect? We then asked if there was a negotiation on price because the rooms were not fit, holes in the ceiling cracks in the wall dirty bed clothes and carpets, smelled of smoke even though asked for non smoking rooms, dirty tiles in the showers, with hairs in the shower tray. Paying £35 is to much to stay in this room, never mind £50.00. Again we were told this is Blackpool what did we want for our money and we could not cancel! We decided to stay out as long as possible and enjoy the lights and the town and go back when tired we then slept in our clothes on top of the beds. We also did not use the shower! The positive on the matter was the breakfast was edible and the place was a 5 minute walk to the lights.
Now i have seen the other reviews and read some of his answers so i wait with baited breath to see how he turns this complaint/review around but all i can say is all of the bad ones are true lesson learned!!

Room Tip: believe the reviews and pictures
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceBlackpool, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2015

We are sorry that these guests were unhappy with their rooms, however NO complaints were made during their stay, and the first we know about complaints made are when we saw the Trip Advisor review. The guests were unhappy when they arrived about the price, however it did clearly state on the booking form the price for a double room. They had in fact booked a double room for single occupancy, and their booking confirmation clearly stated this. We feel that these complaints are now some way of getting redress because they feel they have been overcharged in some way. If we had received a complaint we would have done our best to put things right during their stay - these guests have no given us the opportunity to do this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 105 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

Helpful owner/Manager. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice, hot and well cooked. The UHT milk in the room fell into my cup of tea in one great lump, no idea how long it had been there. Great location.

Hotel itself - Grim. Delapidated and run down, definitely in need of modernisation and a good clean. Very small room and not easy to get into bed. Black mould in quite a few places. Dirty sink. Ceiling lifted up everytime the bedroom door opened or closed, shower room dirty and carpets needed a good hoover and clean. Bed was quite comfy though. It's a shame as the owner was a lovely guy, felt like he had given up. Don't think we'll be staying there again. The Hotel Inspector would have a field day!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Car0lB62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceBlackpool, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for your review. The UHT milk you refer to was well in date, but during the recent hot weather, some has been going off long before the use by date. We have now changed the product we use and the new 'milk sachets' we use do not seem to have this problem. We are in the process of updating some rooms and we are sure your experience would be somewhat better the next time you return to Blackpool. We hope you return to us and give us the opportunity to improve your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We arrived at the hotel to find the front entrance door locked. After pressing the door bell for 2 or 3 minutes the manager unlocked the door and we confirmed our booking with him and asked to directions to the nearest secure car park as the hotels car parking spaces were full. As we walked back to the hotel after parking up for the night, we joked to each other as to why the hotels entrance door was locked at 6pm. Was it to keep the residents in or keep them out? We were given a couple of room and front door keys each (no deposits required) together with the key for room 21 which was on the 2nd floor, front. We climbed the stairs and after passing through fire doors arrived on the landing outside No.21. The decor so far wasn't too bad, a little scruffy and needing a good clean and a coat of paint. When we opened the door and passed into the twin bedded room we just stood there, open mouthed. The two, very narrow beds were so close together you couldn't walk between them and turn your feet around to retrace your steps. Each bed was tight against the bedroom walls and there were no headboards to prevent you pillows from going over the end. The tiny wardrobe's door was hanging on by one hinge at the top and when we opened it looking for hanging space (which there wasn't), the door fell off completely. The wash basin was in the bedroom complete with a cracked mirror over it. The "en-suite" room consisted of a tatty, dirty shower tray and a WC. There were no hooks of any description to be found to hang your clothes or towels on. Of the towels supplied, one had a dirty mark on it and looked as if had missed a trip to the laundry. We considered turning round and leaving straight away, but as we had paid up front in cash we thought we'd have no chance of a refund. This being the case we decided we'd chance it for a night.
The beds were surprisingly comfy and had a reasonable nights sleep even with the sounds of many drunken revelers making their way home at 2.30am. We arranged with the manager for an earlier than normal breakfast and he agreed to open up the kitchen an hour early for us, for which we were grateful. The breakfast was very good, a full selection of cereals, toast and jam, and a good English with bacon, egg, beans and sausage. We advised the manager that the wardrobe door had parted company with the wardrobe and he didn't seem surprised stating that " a couple of young lads had had the room for a week". Obviously nobody had bothered to check the room properly before the next guests. Say no more!!!!!

Room Tip: Find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chriswedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceBlackpool, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

We are sorry that these guests were not entirely happy with there stay, however yet again no complaint was made at the time of their stay, except to stay that one of the hinges on the wardrobe door had come off. This was only reported upon handing the key back at the end of their stay. We are in the process of updating rooms, and the room these guests had has not been updated yet. We were very busy this weekend and had no other rooms available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Excellent location, 10 minute walk to the sea front.
Rooms need a re vamp and to be cleaned, hovered and windows to be cleaned. Fresh bedding was used but carpet very dirty and the room smelt very bad of smoke. Friends room had hole in roof and again nerder a good clean.
downstairs was very nice and clean, bar and tv provided along with dart board and pool table.
breakfast was okay
owner very nice and even let us park all day the next day, and even let us use the toilet before we headed home at 9pm
overall okay for what we paid

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helenelizabeth1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceBlackpool, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thanks for your review. We hope your next will be even better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with my 2 children and wife, overall the hotel could do with a revamp. The rooms are dated and the cleanliness is not where it needs to be, the only saving grace is the owners such nice people made us feel really welcome and like nothing was to much trouble. Location is spot on and the food (breakfast) is nice, overall a good budget hotel with great owners but it does need some TLC.

Room Tip: Go with an open mind
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsaundo2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceBlackpool, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thanks for the review. We are still in the process of updating some rooms, but have made good progress over the last few months. We are sure our customer experiences will improve over the coming months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Just back from wknd staying here and wen we arrived our room still needed hovered once we checked inn and got to room our bucket in room was full and no toilet roll toilet is full of damp in ceiling and cldnt shower as was very dirty staff were friendly and fab location, kettle had somebodys hair on it

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracyluvssunbeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceBlackpool, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

These guests arrived early and the room still needed to be hoovered, which was done after they checked in. Toilet roll was replaced upon guests request. We should have ensured it was in the room, but more than happy to admit we sometimes make mistakes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

definitely return to the residence ...
great beds lovely sleep.. means a lot to me no bad back in the morning !!
owners are welcoming and always give you a good deal for return custom ...
well situated just 200 metres walk to beach ...
quiet at night no loud decibels heard
cant fault breakfast
and great parking facilities
will be returning this weekend and taking a friend to enjoy all that this hotel and blackpool itself has to offer ... its a must !!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerrymattb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceBlackpool, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thanks for your review, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#12 of 73 in Blackpool
1,329 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lawton Hotel
The Lawton Hotel
#272 of 864 in Blackpool
737 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#89 of 864 in Blackpool
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,433 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
4,338 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Hotel

Address: 99-101 Hornby Road, Blackpool FY1 4QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #824 of 864 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $46 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing