We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cracking hotel n very lively!!! rooms where immaculate and breakfasts hit the spot!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Residence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Residence Hotel
Ranked #854 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
1 review
“cracking hotel n very lively!!! rooms where immaculate and breakfasts hit the spot!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

me and my mate had a lively girlie night out on the sat night met a group of lads who lived not far us at home so ended partyin in the hotel bar till the early hour felt sorry for the landlord as i was prob the most noisiest guest in the hotel hahaha defo will be payin this hotel a visit again thanks for having us

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boozybird1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceBlackpool, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
These guests were a pleasure to deal with and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    9
    5
    50
See reviews for
6
17
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

Friendly,clean,very nice breakfast,good bar.free parking.A lot better than anyother hotel I have ever stayed in Blackpool.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nochange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

Worst hotel ever stayed in!
OK so it's a Stag hotel but no excuse for being such a dump.
travelled with 7 colleagues for cup final drink.
Rooms tiny,My room 18 had two small beds squashed together with no gap in between !
Springs stick into you in mattress contrary to what owner says.
Filthy stains on carpet-I have pictures to prove it.
Simple things like kettle lead 1 mtr long but wall socket 4 foot in air so you have to hold kettle while it boils.
The noise! Ok it's a lively area but the room next to ours was populated by drunken yobs and we got no sleep at all.
What was the point in paying for a bed if you aint going to get any sleep?
When our mini-bus arrived next day we virtually ran to it to get away!
The hotel Booker in our party got stick (and still does) all the way home.
To summarize unless you are an 18 year old off his head and never having stayed anywhere else other than a doss house then leave well alone.
The guy is there to take your money and cram you in!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lestaxi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceBlackpool, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
We are in the process of refurbishing our hotel, and some of our rooms are small, but have everything you need for a 1 night stay as was the case for these guests. These guests were very pleasant during their stay, and at no time did they complain about anything. If we had received a complaint then as always would have done our best to put it right. It is a shame that some guests do not give you the opportunity to do this, but then complain after the event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

Great price. Clean. Very helpful and friendly staff. Would recommend for stag weekends.

Stayed April 2011
Helpful?
Thank Dai032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceBlackpool, Manager at The Residence Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
It was a pleasure to have you as guests. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this B&B part of a large group taking part in a hockey tour (ages between 22 and 50 male and female). The B&B is probably the typical quality you would expect in Blackpool, the decor is a little dated and fixtures and fittings in the bedrooms a little tired. I was in a twin room initially in which you could literally get between the beds with little chance of doing anything else. Having just had an operation I was on crutches and there was no way of staying 3 nights sharing this room so enquired on another room. The owners could not have been more accomodating moving me to a double room which was more spacious. I believe the owners have only been in the hotel since August 2010 and signs are up apologising for refurbishment work so they could be working their way around updating the rooms as in our group there were a couple of beds where the slats had come lose or were broken, iron burns and stains on some of the carpets, plug sockets are positioned in places that are not where the mirrors are (a girl thing!). The showers were quite powerful and hot but could do with a towel ring/rail as no where to put towels when in shower other than the floor. Hand/bath towels were provided in the room as were tea/coffe making facilities. However, the bar was well stocked and reasonably priced. The bar lounge was a nice area to meet up or just relax of an evening. The bar stays open as long as people were in there but if everyone goes out then the owners understandably won't hang around on the off chance you all come back and want a drink into the early hours. The breakfast was good, a selection of cereals and a hot cooked breakfast of bacon, egg, sausage and beans. fresh orange tea/coffee and toast was help yourself. The owners of this B&B were so accomodating of our requests, were helpful with all our enquiries and went above and beyond what you would expect e.g. they collected a prescription for one of the girls and gave me (on crutches) a lift to the restaurant we were all going to, went to a neighbouring B&B to get more bottled water (post drinking thirst!) when they sold out. They took a £10 deposit on arrival per room key and we all had the deposits returned with one exception where the key was lost so understandable. With a bit of TLC this B&B would be really great as in great position and has very accomodating and pleasant owners some of our rooms were good value for money but the very small ones perhaps either need to be cheaper or made into single rooms.

Room Tip: Ear plugs as can be traffic noise outside :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceBlackpool, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
The hockey team were a great group and a pleasure to deal with. We are in the process of refurbishment and we are sure when you return for your next visit you will see some major improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2011

I have just arrived back home after visiting Blackpool for a friend's stag night. After staying in this hotel I feel compelled to write a review. When we arrived we were told that we would need to put a £10 deposit down, per key, which we were not told when booking. One of our party was unable to attend at short notice, however we were still charged the full rate of his room, even though we had paid a deposit.

When we got into our rooms, we found that they were ridiculously small. There was literally about 10cm space between the two single beds, which were old, damaged, tatty and uncomfortable. The 'en-suite' was tiny and the flooring had mold in the corners near the shower. Moreover, there was nowhere to place your towel or clothes, and there was no lock on the en-suite door, which was not useful when sharing with others.

Back to the room...The carpets were old, dirty and stained, and the windows in the room were also moldy from god knows how many months worth of condensation. The only plug socket in the room was about 5ft above floor level, which meant that the kettle lead could not reach unless you placed it on top of the 6ft wardrobe!

The bar area was nice enough, however, the bar was not open until 6am as advertised and was closed on my return to the hotel, shortly after 2am. After going down for breakfast following a restless night trying to sleep on an uncomfortable bed, I was nearly sick after the breakfast. The sausage and bacon were very low quality and not well cooked.

I know that there are plenty of other similarly low standard hotels in a place like Blackpool, given how many hen and stag nights it caters for...and for me it was a bit of a life lesson to pay a bit extra and get a decent nights sleep in a comfortable and secure room! Travelodge in future!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oogiemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceBlackpool, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
The refundable £10 key deposit is notified on the written booking confirmation as are the cancellation fees. We advise on our website to take out travel insurance, and our cancellation policy is in line with most other hotels in the UK. We also abide by the 'Pink Booklet' with is a policy guide for accommodation providers written by the local authority.
We are in the process of refurbishment of our rooms and major improvements are being carried out.
We do operate a late bar, however we do tell guests that we will only stay open if there are enough guests wanting to use the bar to make it viable to stay open.
Please read our other reviews as we have been praised many times for the quality of our breakfasts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2010

We stayed here for a friends birthday earlier this month. The only good things I could say about the place is that the location isn't bad and the breakfast is average.

Now the bad. The rooms are tiny, you litterally can fit the beds in and that's it. The beds are old and horrible with the springs poking through and the stains on one of the sheets was....I'm sure you can guess!

The bath room was tiny with the toilet leeking and the shower that trickled out.

The bar claimed to stay open till 6am but both nights we were there it had shut before midnight?!

Finally out if our £100 deposit we put down £60 was unfairly held back as a result of supposed damage which realistically would have cost £5 to replace.

Blackpool is a dump but this place is worse, avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kermitthe60poundfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceBlackpool, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
We are in the process of major refurbishments, however all our mattresses are in good condition with no springs poking through. All beds have fresh clean laundered sheets, pillow cases and duvet covers provided, together with a hand and bath towel for each guest.
The bar was open until around 1.15 am and these guests did not return until around 2.30 am by which time the bar was closed.
We did charge the group £60 as they had stood on the base of a wardrobe which had to be replaced, and 2 pillows were completely soaked with water which also had to be replaced at a total cost of £95 - so a £60 charge was in fact less than the amount they should have been charged.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#10 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lawton Hotel
The Lawton Hotel
#286 of 913 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
1.2 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#212 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#342 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#460 of 913 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Hotel

Property: The Residence Hotel
Address: 99-101 Hornby Road, Blackpool FY1 4QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #854 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing