We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Shame About the Bedrooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Residence Hotel
Ranked #824 of 864 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this B&B part of a large group taking part in a hockey tour (ages between 22 and 50 male and female). The B&B is probably the typical quality you would expect in Blackpool, the decor is a little dated and fixtures and fittings in the bedrooms a little tired. I was in a twin room initially in which you could literally get between the beds with little chance of doing anything else. Having just had an operation I was on crutches and there was no way of staying 3 nights sharing this room so enquired on another room. The owners could not have been more accomodating moving me to a double room which was more spacious. I believe the owners have only been in the hotel since August 2010 and signs are up apologising for refurbishment work so they could be working their way around updating the rooms as in our group there were a couple of beds where the slats had come lose or were broken, iron burns and stains on some of the carpets, plug sockets are positioned in places that are not where the mirrors are (a girl thing!). The showers were quite powerful and hot but could do with a towel ring/rail as no where to put towels when in shower other than the floor. Hand/bath towels were provided in the room as were tea/coffe making facilities. However, the bar was well stocked and reasonably priced. The bar lounge was a nice area to meet up or just relax of an evening. The bar stays open as long as people were in there but if everyone goes out then the owners understandably won't hang around on the off chance you all come back and want a drink into the early hours. The breakfast was good, a selection of cereals and a hot cooked breakfast of bacon, egg, sausage and beans. fresh orange tea/coffee and toast was help yourself. The owners of this B&B were so accomodating of our requests, were helpful with all our enquiries and went above and beyond what you would expect e.g. they collected a prescription for one of the girls and gave me (on crutches) a lift to the restaurant we were all going to, went to a neighbouring B&B to get more bottled water (post drinking thirst!) when they sold out. They took a £10 deposit on arrival per room key and we all had the deposits returned with one exception where the key was lost so understandable. With a bit of TLC this B&B would be really great as in great position and has very accomodating and pleasant owners some of our rooms were good value for money but the very small ones perhaps either need to be cheaper or made into single rooms.

Room Tip: Ear plugs as can be traffic noise outside :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndreaPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceBlackpool, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2011

The hockey team were a great group and a pleasure to deal with. We are in the process of refurbishment and we are sure when you return for your next visit you will see some major improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 105 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2011

I have just arrived back home after visiting Blackpool for a friend's stag night. After staying in this hotel I feel compelled to write a review. When we arrived we were told that we would need to put a £10 deposit down, per key, which we were not told when booking. One of our party was unable to attend at short notice, however we were still charged the full rate of his room, even though we had paid a deposit.

When we got into our rooms, we found that they were ridiculously small. There was literally about 10cm space between the two single beds, which were old, damaged, tatty and uncomfortable. The 'en-suite' was tiny and the flooring had mold in the corners near the shower. Moreover, there was nowhere to place your towel or clothes, and there was no lock on the en-suite door, which was not useful when sharing with others.

Back to the room...The carpets were old, dirty and stained, and the windows in the room were also moldy from god knows how many months worth of condensation. The only plug socket in the room was about 5ft above floor level, which meant that the kettle lead could not reach unless you placed it on top of the 6ft wardrobe!

The bar area was nice enough, however, the bar was not open until 6am as advertised and was closed on my return to the hotel, shortly after 2am. After going down for breakfast following a restless night trying to sleep on an uncomfortable bed, I was nearly sick after the breakfast. The sausage and bacon were very low quality and not well cooked.

I know that there are plenty of other similarly low standard hotels in a place like Blackpool, given how many hen and stag nights it caters for...and for me it was a bit of a life lesson to pay a bit extra and get a decent nights sleep in a comfortable and secure room! Travelodge in future!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oogiemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceBlackpool, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2011

The refundable £10 key deposit is notified on the written booking confirmation as are the cancellation fees. We advise on our website to take out travel insurance, and our cancellation policy is in line with most other hotels in the UK. We also abide by the 'Pink Booklet' with is a policy guide for accommodation providers written by the local authority.
We are in the process of refurbishment of our rooms and major improvements are being carried out.
We do operate a late bar, however we do tell guests that we will only stay open if there are enough guests wanting to use the bar to make it viable to stay open.
Please read our other reviews as we have been praised many times for the quality of our breakfasts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

We stayed here for a friends birthday earlier this month. The only good things I could say about the place is that the location isn't bad and the breakfast is average.

Now the bad. The rooms are tiny, you litterally can fit the beds in and that's it. The beds are old and horrible with the springs poking through and the stains on one of the sheets was....I'm sure you can guess!

The bath room was tiny with the toilet leeking and the shower that trickled out.

The bar claimed to stay open till 6am but both nights we were there it had shut before midnight?!

Finally out if our £100 deposit we put down £60 was unfairly held back as a result of supposed damage which realistically would have cost £5 to replace.

Blackpool is a dump but this place is worse, avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kermitthe60poundfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceBlackpool, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2011

We are in the process of major refurbishments, however all our mattresses are in good condition with no springs poking through. All beds have fresh clean laundered sheets, pillow cases and duvet covers provided, together with a hand and bath towel for each guest.
The bar was open until around 1.15 am and these guests did not return until around 2.30 am by which time the bar was closed.
We did charge the group £60 as they had stood on the base of a wardrobe which had to be replaced, and 2 pillows were completely soaked with water which also had to be replaced at a total cost of £95 - so a £60 charge was in fact less than the amount they should have been charged.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

We arrived at the Residence what a dump! dirty! They charged us £30 each! 4 of us in a dirty cramped room with 2 single beds and bunk beds, £120 for a dump of a room not bad hey! what can I say ?

Didn't get any sleep due to the police throwing out yobs from the hotel, what a nite mare!

Stayed: October 2010
Thank sandramcloughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceBlackpool, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2011

Our hotel is not dirty and our rooms are cleaned after every guest leaves.
We did have some idiot guests who set off the fire alarm at around 4.00 am, and we did have the police evict them. This is the first time this has happened and we did apologise to all our other guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

I recently stayed at this hotel with a group of friends for a 21st birthday weekend. Upon arrival we were asked to pay a £10 deposit for each room which we would get back on departure. Between the group we had five rooms and all of them were run down and small. I was sharing a room with my girlfriend and our room was of a very poor quality, it was very small and looked dirty. Unfortunately the bathroom was much worse, the shower curtain was hanging off the rail, the toilet was leaking what looked like urine and on two occasions the toilet did not flush, and there were no hooks to hang clothes, towels etc . . .!!!! The first night my girlfriend was in the shower when suddenly all the lights went out, after about ten seconds they came back on. Unfortunately this happened a further four times during our stay. There was a TV in the room which required a further £10 deposit for the remote control. I paid the deposit and was given the remote but to my disappointment the TV signal was very poor and in the end we gave up with the TV. The beds were comfy enough but just outside our window there was a big flag which was hanging off the side of the building which was very noisy when flapping around in the wind. On a positive note the full English breakfast was very nice and cooked well, the only downside was they didn't offer a vegetarian option which caused a problem for one of my friends who had to make do with toast. My friends had a problem with the toilet in there room and a plumber was called out to fix the problem, we thought nothing of it until we were departing from the hotel where the manager asked us for £40 for the plumbing which seem very unfair as it was not our fault. We asked him for a receipt of the plumbing bill which he refused to show us. In my eyes it came across as a blatant attempt to make some extra money from us just because we were young. Although the plumbing was only carried out in one of the five rooms we were staying in the manager refused to give us our £10 deposits back which ended in a long stressful confrontation (we never did get our deposits back). Beware of this hotel, it may look good on the outside but inside it is run down and poorly managed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamestrusler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceBlackpool, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2011

Our rooms are clean and we are in the process of room refurbishment. We did have a minor electrical problem with the fuse board tripping out, but the fault was found quickly and rectified.
We do offer a vegetarian breakfast option but one was not requested.
Damage to the toilet systen was discovered in one room and when we asked the guests what had happened they said that it was broken when they went in the room and they had tried to fix it. If we stay in a hotel we would have reported this to the hotel management. The plumber was called the day after the guests had left to fix the toilet and we told the guests that we could send them the receipt if they requested it, which they did not. £40 was deducted from the deposits and the remaining deposits were returned to the guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

I stayed at the Residence with my teenage daughter for 3 nights (sun - wed) and I really do not have a bad word to say about the place or the owners. The owners were very welcoming and helpful even helping me sort out my train times home!! Our room was a good size and the bedding / towels were very clean. The breakfasts were very nice and the bar area was very nice too!
All in all We really enjoyed our stay and the Residence played a big role in that!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah_cox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceBlackpool, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2011

These guests were a pleasure to serve and we look forward to welcoming them again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Me and partner stayed here for one night, we booked a double room in advance buy card, on arrival the room was ready and was very clean and spacious. The carpets and curtains are a bit outdated but we didnt go to Blackpool to view either of these so we were not really bothered! There were towels on the bed and soap provided, a dressing table with chair and tea and coffee. We also had a tv. We didn't spend that much time in the room but it was very acceptable and comfortable.
The owners are what make the hotel a treat to stay in, they were extremely polite, helpful and friendly, we had a couple of drinks and had a chat with them and then went off and did our own thing. They did mention that the bar only stays open late if there is enough people in the hotel who want it open, we got in at 4am and there were no other guests around but were quite happy to just go to bed. We missed breakfast as we were asleep but we were offered tea, coffee and toast if we wanted any (an hour after breakfast had ended) and we were able to leave our belongings in a safe place while we walked around Blackpool. When we got back they rang us a taxi. All in all, i would definitely stay here again, can't understand the other 2 bad reviews.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnagatt83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceBlackpool, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2011

These guests were a pleasure to serve and we look forward to welcoming them again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#12 of 73 in Blackpool
1,328 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lawton Hotel
The Lawton Hotel
#281 of 864 in Blackpool
734 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#90 of 864 in Blackpool
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,402 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,301 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#146 of 864 in Blackpool
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Hotel

Address: 99-101 Hornby Road, Blackpool FY1 4QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #824 of 864 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $44 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing