We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy Bed & Breakfast”
Review of The Arthington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Arthington
Ranked #3 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottinghamshire
1 review
“Trendy Bed & Breakfast”
Reviewed October 20, 2009

What can i say? We arrived at the Arthington on Friday 17th October, to a very pleasant greeting. We had room 9 - it was small but very well laid out, presented and decorated.

The staff are very friendly (including the dog!) and can't do enough for you. Breakfast was lovely, and you get plenty of it, although it is served early - so if you off out and are not expecting to be back until the early hours,remember breakfast finishes at 9am (I would like to see it served untill 9:30 or 10:00am like most B&B's), Although we did get offered a cuppa when we missed breakfast on the second day at around 9:45am.

Over all a perfect B&B, perfect staff and a lovely atmosphere! I would highly recommend it to anyone, and we are planning to go back in March 2010.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arthington, Owner at The Arthington, responded to this review, October 21, 2009
First of all thank you for taking the time to write the review. They are important to us and we take all points (good and not so) seriously.

We would just like to comment on a couple of points.

The Arthington is run by Elaine and I and in order to ensure that it is run efficiently we do have to have a routine that allows us to, changeover rooms, replenish rooms, clean the guest house, run the bar, socialise with our guests and have the occasional tea/coffee break. Unfortuantely this means that we have to stick to meal timings. We do appreciate that some guests like to lie in which is why we do not take breakfast orders the night before and all breakfasts are cooked fresh to order. We also do not ring a breakfast bell so as not to disturb those wishing to catch up on beauty sleep. Breakfast is 0830 to 9am as is the case in most guest houses in our srea but we do offer the flexibility of an extensive evening bar menu served between 6-8pm (most guest houses offer evening meal at 5pm only).

The rooms are not large (we are a guest house) but do meet and in most cases excell the standards required for a 4 star visit britain guest accommodation rating which we achieved in Mar this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,125
    25
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
230
606
31
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2009

Thank you Steve and Elaine for providing such a beautiful place to lay our heads during our stay in Blackpool.

I will undoubtedly be recommending the Arthington to family and friends, I had slight reservations about booking an overnight stay in Blackpool due to a couple of bad decisions in previous years, but as early as arriving outside the Arthington, I knew we'd chosen well. EVERYWHERE is impeccably clean (How do you keep on top of it!?), NO bad smells, quite the contrary, offered a complimentary drink as soon as we arrived, bags were taken to our room immediately, the room, beautifully furnished, modern (I LOVE your style Elaine), bed SOOOOO comfortable, bathroom absolutely spotless, loved all the little touches like toiletries, cotton buds, bath robes, freeview. Bed so comfy we slept in on our first morning, but yesterday had a brekky. Now, we like our food, and are usually hard to satisfy, but you get so much, and within minutes of sitting down! As with the cleanliness, amazed at the service and standard. Lovely approachable couple, will not be trawling any search engines for accomodation in Bpool again, thank you so much Steve and Elaine, Kelly and Rob, Cheshire xx

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly_and_rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heppinstall28
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2009

thank you to steve and elaine for their hospitality, they are amazing hosts, we will definately be visiting you again!!! Steve the breakfast was spot-on!
Dale & Vanessa,
Kinsley, West Yorkshire.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heppinstall28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2009

My fiance and I stayed at The Arthington this past weekend and it was fantastic! The room, bar and dining area were newly renovated and so modern and chic! Elaine and Steve were fantastic hosts and the breakfast was delicious. I have been raving about our stay since we returned home so we most definitely recommend the B&B to anyone heading to Blackpool.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candyc108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

We stayed at the Arthington last weekend and what a pleasure it was, the room was lovely it had everything you need. It was exceptionaly clean and Elaine and Steve were very welcoming, and the breakfasts were great. We will without doubt stay here again, and we will recomend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

Steve and Elaine were very welcoming and were helpful throughout our stay. The hotel was very well decorated, stylish and clean throughout. The location is in walking distance to nearly all the attractions and if not they'll arrange a taxi for you, no problem. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pink_angel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucestershire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2009

we throughly enjoyed our stay here, Steve and Elaine couldnt of been more welcoming and helpful towards us and our young daughter they made our stay a pleasure, the food, room and service were all excellent.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura0787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.0 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,042 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
452 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Kenley
The Kenley
#2 of 856 in Blackpool
1,021 reviews
0.8 mi away
FouRooms Blackpool
FouRooms Blackpool
#1 of 856 in Blackpool
203 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Hotel Blackpool
The Hotel Blackpool
#6 of 856 in Blackpool
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arthington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arthington

Property: The Arthington
Address: 24 St. Chads Road, Blackpool FY1 6BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arthington 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steve and Elaine would like to welcome you to The Arthington Guest Hous offering quality accommodation at a reasonable price. All rooms en-suite ranging from Single to King (King and Executive King). All rooms have LCD TV with freeview and IPod docking stations. Wifi available. Well stocked Bar with SKY sports in the lounge.Fantastic Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Arthington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arthington Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing