We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect break”
Review of The Arthington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Arthington
Ranked #3 of 858 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Normy
1 review
“A perfect break”
Reviewed April 19, 2009

We went for our fifth anniversary just for the weekend. The room was lovely. Cleanliness was spot on. Hosts, Steve and Elaine were extremely friendly and professional and made us very welcome. A variety of choice of rooms and all beautifully decorated and co-ordinated beautifully. It is situated in the middle so we could walk to the tower, shops etc easily yet go to the pleasure beach etc the other end of town. Will certainly go again and would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmithyNormy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,142
    25
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
233
617
31
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
glasgow, scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2009

my wife and I visited The Arthington for a long weekend 10th till 14th april and I must say it was the best accomodation i have ever had in Blackpool.the quality f food and service was fantastic, and the hosts, Steve and Elaine could not do enough to make our stay memorable. the arthington will be my first choice everytime I visit blackpool
John and Betty Cooper

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klebis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2009

This hotel was absolutley fantastic- clean, friendly, modern and comfortable. The owners were so friendly and the hotels location was great. Would definately recomend it for families aswell as couples.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikki_zolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayr
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2009

Our first time in Blackpool for 20 years and very wary about the reports you hear these days, just booked last minute ,didnt even read any reviews but we were so glad we booked. Steve and Elaine are fantastic hosts, cant do enough for you, the hotel is spotless , decor great {fantastic taste Elaine, when I win the lottery , i will hire you ) ! Breakfast great, my partner made it down the 2 mornings , that says it all, we were 10 days in benidorm last year and he only made it once! ,Tea coffee, fresh fruit whenever you want ,great location, near enough to bars ect but not enough to hear any noise. Had bar meal too, it was freshly cooked for us and cheap 2 .Hope to be back soon

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2009

Our group of 6 (12-70) has just returned from our second stay with Elaine & Steve with a further break booked for Autumn 2009. We were last with them 6 months ago but on our arrival their immense memory bank kicked in & we were met with a cheery wave from Elaine, sat on a bench catching a well unearned glimps of sun. (She never stops hosting) Out stepped Tanya (She never stops fussing) and Steve ( Has a footy break sometimes) to add to the welcoming committee along with hot drinks all round in the excellent lounge.

The accomodation rivals any London boutique hotel with Elaine's designer eye you come home rested and inspired to do something with your home.

Nothing is too much trouble and always friendly, even when I could not work out who owed how much in to the kitty, Steve sorted out my matrix mess, and found I was owed change too.

Eating in- it's home cooked to order and satisfaction with variations on the menu dealt with effortlesly. Better poached eggs than at the DeVeres were presented at breakfast along with plenty of other healthy options.

We look forward to our return to see how the rainforest showers are populating and to see if any more rooms have acquired ipod docking stations to go with the flat screen plasmas and Wifi access- visit and you will see nothing is too upmarket / too much for The Arthington and thats why you will not regret your booking.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thedancingmatrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2009

I sat for weeks checking all hotels in blackpool before settling with arthington, this is a beautiful hotel with lovely hosts elaine and steve could not fault them with anything really made you feel welcome.Hotel is spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated, rooms are spotlessly clean with nice fresh linnen and duvets. Breakfasts are massive and steve is your waiter as he brings you your cooked breakfast to your lovely set out table. They have a beautiful old english sheepdog called Tanya she is a star really fussy. I would recomend this hotel to anyone who is going to blackpool and we will definately be going again sometime soon. Many thanks Elaine and Steve for making our stay a memorable one of blackpool.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie5070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2009

We have just come back from visiting family in Blackpool (which I have to say is the only reason we tend to go there) and can't thank Elaine and Steve enough for their wonderful hospitality at The Arthington. From greeting us to waving us off in the car 48 hours later we couldn't find one single fault with the hotel or hoteliers. They have a very clean and modern hotel with plenty of room for families, the food served was delicious and plentiful, the conversation in the bar lounge was entertaining and amusing and to top it off they have a really cute and very well behaved dog who delighted my daughter no end. My family and two other couples who stayed there at the same time felt so comfortable in our surroundings that none of us left the hotel of an evening to sample the nightlife we enjoyed getting to know each other in the cosy bar. We have stayed in many places before but this is definitely one of the better places to stay. I do believe that Steve and Elaine think nothing is too much trouble. Ooh and one more thing, they offer a healthy option breakfast which I had both mornings and it was scrumptious - a great way to start the day.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missessgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.0 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,073 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,983 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
492 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kenley
The Kenley
#2 of 858 in Blackpool
1,036 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Hotel Blackpool
The Hotel Blackpool
#8 of 858 in Blackpool
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arthington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arthington

Property: The Arthington
Address: 24 St. Chads Road, Blackpool FY1 6BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 858 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arthington 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steve and Elaine would like to welcome you to The Arthington Guest Hous offering quality accommodation at a reasonable price. All rooms en-suite ranging from Single to King (King and Executive King). All rooms have LCD TV with freeview and IPod docking stations. Wifi available. Well stocked Bar with SKY sports in the lounge.Fantastic Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Arthington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arthington Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing