We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent B&B”
Review of The Arthington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Arthington
Ranked #4 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2012

we stayed here weekend of 19th-21st October 2012. From the minute we arrived we felt welcomed they greeted us at the door and gave us tea and coffee.
What can I say apart from Steve and Elaine are amazing, nothing is too much trouble. From recommending places to eat to places to visit. Room was absolutely lovely they knew we had recently got married and had even gone to the trouble of putting a balloon in the room. Breakfast was lovely, room spotless. me and my husband had such a lovely stay we have booked for next year

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

771 - 777 of 1,228 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

This place is a little diamond in the rough, nice wee street and the welcome was a nice touch! The owners are friendly and inviting. we stayed here for 2 nights in the suite and the room was lovely, very modern and decorated to a high standard. bathroom could have been bigger and the shower needs a bit extra power to it. bar was reasonably priced and breakfast wa delicious and well prepared. highly recommended and will very booking again very soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edwithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Steve and Elaine made our stay at the Arthington thoroughly enjoyable, from the moment they greeted us at the door with an offer of tea or coffee. Steve then took our luggage to our room, and gave us helpful information on things to do. Having booked from Australia we were delighted to find the accomodation first class. The room we had was a double, and was gorgeous. The decor was modern and tasteful, spotlessly clean, and had lots of extra touches to make your stay comfortable, even ear plugs in case the seagulls annoyed you. The hotel is ideally positioned for the major attractions Blackpool has to offer, and there is a tram at the bottom of the road if you need it, to take you to them. The breakfast was plentiful and tasty and served with great speed. Our whole stay was a delighful experience and we did not want to leave. Stuart & Elaine Australia.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elainemc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is my second time of trying to place a review for this location (dont know why TA) wont place.

Firstly my review is not bad - quite the opposite The Arthington is Fantastic B&B in central location and outstanding hosts Steve & Elaine.

On check in we were given a choice of Tea & Coffee a very nice touch and appreciated. Steve explained all the necessary points for the Guest House and after reading some of the reviews on here that are negative - these people should pay the extra and go to a hotel, if they have issue re size of room etc. This is an old property that had been re developed to a high - very high standard.

Steve carried our case to our room no6 all you need comfortable bed, Free Wifi, shower, spotless and more than comfortable.

Breakfast following morning was a huge suprise chocolates on our breakfast table after I mentioned on our pre booking form that it was our Anniversary break ! Steve entered the room with a Big " Happy Anniversary" this was really appreciated by us both. (Again others have had a moan re pillows not on bed etc but fail to mention they had chocolates & Wine in their room ) TA is a two sided base and pity folk forget to mentiion all the good points that Steve & Elaine do for their guests.

Back to Breky this was excellent with Freash Fruit, Yogurts, Cereal, Croissants etc followed by cooked with choices and nothing to much problem.

We returned to the guest house at lunch time and asked if it was possible to have a sandwich - again not a problem Elaine produced a lovely plata of sandwiches.

Elaine recommended a superb resteraunt for evening food to which we have also added a review. We returned after the meal to enjoy the company of our hosts and fellow guests in the well stocked bar within the guest house.

We have travelled very much in the best of hotels and this Guest House is 1st Class. Leading budget hotels are not cheap as they charge for breakfast Wifi etc and also leading hotel chains would be worth them visiting the Arthington and see how Customer Care is driven through and how they "Go the Extra Mile"

Oh last point Toilet Roll ...... (Bet you thought I forgot Steve !) Excellent just like being at home.

Dislikes : Had to Leave
Likes : Very central for Tower - Pleasure Beach equal distance

Thank you Steve & Elaine you and your Guest House will be the reason we return to Blackpool.

Room Tip: Try and book the De Luxe room that Steve showed us Fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkandAmanda06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Recently back from our 3rd stay at The Arthington and as always everything was fantastic, Steve an Elaine are wonderful people who always go that extra mile to make your stay a memorable one, from the modern individually decorated rooms to the delicious breakfasts everything is done to the highest level. Its location is also ideal just off the front between the South and Central Piers so everything is close by. Would not dream of staying anywhere else in Blackpool and have already booked again for next year which can't come soon enough!! P.S thanks for the chocolates on my birthday, didn't last long though we were eating them on the train home!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are immaculate and come with everything you could possibly need!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My and my husband stayed here for 2 nights in room 6, a double with en-suite The hotel is in a great location, right in the middle of the pleasure beach and the Blackpool Tower. It is modern and clean and the breakfast is absolutely delicious, plenty to choose from from yoghurts, fruit and cereals and various hot food. The poached eggs I had were perfect every time. I would recommend to anyone visiting blackpool to stay here, it's rating on trip advisor is well deserved.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anneb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

As always the Arthington is like a second home with any requests no trouble for Steve or Elaine. This time my wife and I went for the superking room which did not disappoint. Room was modern, well presented, immaculate and luxurious.
Breakfast was gorgeous (no wonder they've won an award!!!) with plenty to choose from. Sad to leave, can't wait until we go back.

Special thanks for letting us watch the Scotland match and tennis on the big screen.

Ross and Louise

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mclean242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
512 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,376 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#2 of 73 in Blackpool
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Kenley
The Kenley
#2 of 863 in Blackpool
1,075 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Hotel Blackpool
The Hotel Blackpool
#10 of 863 in Blackpool
220 reviews
0.8 mi away
FouRooms Blackpool
FouRooms Blackpool
#1 of 863 in Blackpool
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arthington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arthington

Address: 24 St. Chads Road, Blackpool FY1 6BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $71 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arthington 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steve and Elaine would like to welcome you to The Arthington Guest Hous offering quality accommodation at a reasonable price. All rooms en-suite ranging from Single to King (King and Executive King). All rooms have LCD TV with freeview and IPod docking stations. Wifi available. Well stocked Bar with SKY sports in the lounge.Fantastic Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Arthington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arthington Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing