We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap and cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Queensgate Hotel
Ranked #501 of 864 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2009

staff very friendly and joined in with the fun when possible.rooms small but ok ideal for just getting your head down after night out,shower sink and toilet all perfect condition.bar fully stocked all the time.excellent for hen or stags,you can have fun without being told to quieten down.overall very good value.
Thanks queensgate for great weekend
Lads from dublin.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paddyaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 200 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2008

We wanted a weekend away to party in Blackpool, we didnt expect to get a great hotel to party in aswell, but thats what we got!!! The Queensgate staff were great fun and very welcoming, we partied hard all night!!!! The bedroom were clean and looked freshly painted, the beds were comfy enough. The breakfast the following mornig was just what the doctor ordered, plenty to eat and lots of fresh juice!!! Its a great hotel for a group wanting to party, we will definately be returning!!!


Thanks Again xxx

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannismell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpooldave, Owner at The Queensgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2008

Many thanks for your review.
It's nice to see guests appreciating the hotel for what it is.
It's also lovely to see Lynn and Hughie our new managers getting similar great reviews that they have received in the past from their former hotel.
The drinks are on me.
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2008

Just what we wanted - Sea front room, Comfy Bed, Great bathroom and all on a budget. The staff were friendly and athough the weather was terrible they advised us on things to do away from the rain and kept the bar open late. Was not looking for the Ritz but this hotel was just right for our weekend away.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank albino_batman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpooldave, Owner at The Queensgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2008

Many thanks for your review.
Yes our new managers have worked really hard to get the hotel ready and it seems have worked really hard to enable the guests to enjoy themselves.
Please contact us to reserve your accommodation for next time and have a drink on us for taking the time and trouble to write your review.
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2008

As a party of 17 aged from 23-54 we arrived at this hotel and stayed about an hour. We all went to our rooms and there was no way on earth we could have slept in those rooms. It was absolute squaller, from doors that wouldn't lock to holes in windows one room was full of flies. Another had a hole in the ceiling and damp up the walls, a headboard that was crawling! I am a smoker but the rooms stank of stale smoke which the non smokers really didn't like. At 1 point the owner told us the handy man hadn't turn up but it's not the handyman who cleans the rooms and staircases and corridors! I would advise anybody please don't go there, for an extra fiver a night you could stay somewhere 100 times nicer.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Staceygriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpooldave, owner at The Queensgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2008

This group never stayed at the hotel and as stated spent an hour preparing negative excuses to give to the agents so that they would be moved. This party of ladies were part of a limousine package put into the hotel by an agent. Apparently the price they paid led them to believe that their hotel would be luxurious with chocolates on the pillowcases etc. A room full of flies – rubbish we were advised that there were insects all over the bed when the quilt was pulled back – this is an absolute fabrication of the truth. Handyman not turning up! He only works weekdays. The doors lock, what holes in windows!!, a crawling headboard!, and the rooms do not smell of stale smoke. It is obvious that this reviewers expectations were not reached and we have never portrayed this hotel as luxurious in any way. It is very good value for money and offers a party atmosphere at weekends and family orientated weekdays.
How can a review be justified when the group never stayed at the hotel and it is obvious that the main aim of the group was to be moved hotels by any means possible. The comments were not only second hand from the group but I would suggest hearsay as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2008

I'm sorry to say that the poor reviews for this hotel are accurate and the owner needs to stop trying to make excuses and blaming the guests and listen to them instead. some people may like it here but they must have poor standards of cleanliness.

The bar area and dining room are clean and tidy and if you were to look at these you would think that the rest of the hotel was the same - sadly not.

We were given the key to our room and the first thing we noticed was the carpet had not been hoovered, there were flakes of chipped paint and crisp crumbs on them, the bedding was clean and fresh though but there were no towels or toilet roll in the bathroom so I went to reception and told them and in fairness they brought us some within minutes

I was also surprised to see an ashtray in the room and signs on the door saying "you are allowed to smoke in this room" as I thought it was now illegal!

The curtains were paper thin and would not close properly as half the curtain hooks were missing, the bathroom was reasonably clean but the shower curtain was too short and water ended up on the floor every time we had a shower.

There wasn,t any hot water even though we ran the tap for ages. Trying to get to sleep on the first night was impossible as other guests were slamming doors until about 4 in the morning. Breakfast was quite nice but a little cold. I felt sorry for the people employed to manage the place as they are up until at least 4am due to the bar being open until this time, they must only get about 3 hours sleep a night. I think maybe if you are just looking for somewhere to sleep after a night on the booze you wont mind it here but I would advise anyone else to avoid it.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank pppapopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpooldave, owner at The Queensgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2008

Firstly I think it very rude to say that the guests who are at least 95% of the people who stay at the Queensgate have poor standards of cleanliness. I would also like to refer to your comments, which seem to contradict your opening paragraph:- 1/ The bar area and dining room are clean and tidy. 2/ the bedding was clean and fresh 3/ the bathroom was reasonably clean – These are all comments taken from your review. Now let’s see where the problems are.

The carpet had not been hoovered, I am sorry about that, it seems that during the busy times some rooms had been overlooked. I’m sure the managers hoovered whist they brought the towels and toilet rolls that were missed. In abiding by current legislation on smoking on premises smoking is permitted in bedrooms and as soon as guests depart windows are opened and all remains of ash removed. Some rooms do need replacement curtains and they will be replaced before the new season begins. I can’t understand why the shower curtain was short, sorry I forgot to ask my managers that one, perhaps it was a temporary measure! As it doesn’t make sense otherwise.

No hot water! Sometimes guests do not switch the electric heating on, despite notices being clearly displayed. The water heaters had all been serviced shortly before your visit and were all in good working order. I am also sorry that your sleep was interrupted by other guests, we do advertise that the bar is open until 04.00 and to many guests this is a bonus. We do reduce noise levels from the bar after midnight but a guest slamming a door is beyond our control unless pointed out to us by a guest, when managers would monitor it and ask the guests in question to respect others rest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

Stayed here on a one night deal!!! The Staff where lovely.. but we where greeted at reception with bin bags of empty beers cans!! the rooms well lets say yes the beds where clean and fresh clean towels where left on the beds for us but that was about it... the bathroom had black mold all around the bath, toilet and sink..and the floor was filthy.
I dont doubt for a minute that they do get a wipe over but that is all I say they do get. Inside of the windows are filthy... the carpet had not seen a hoover for a long time... if they say it has -may I suggest buying a new one!! the whole hotel smelt of old damp socks and stale smoke. This hotel could just do with a really deep clean!!
I can see in different reviews and responces that yes the hotel is old and tired and could do with a freshen up but that should not excuse hygiene..
Well not too mention our lovely view - courtyard with over 30 bin bags - old furniture and just generally a haven for rats.. I do believe that the Bin Men where due the following day but hey put the bags out of view of your quests!!!
As I said the staff where very friendly , I know that they do work hard and hardly get any sleep.... but I certainly would not pay to stay again ...they say you get what you pay for but we could of stayed down the road in a much nicer Hotel just for an extra £5.00 each, but hey if they get there marigolds out and a bit of bleach then yes I would say you would have a good time.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HuneyMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpooldave, owner at The Queensgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2008

Few hotels in Blackpool accept one night stays during the busy illumination period. We do but of course give a priority of the better rooms to our guests who stay for 2 nights or more. You arrived at a very busy time as shown by the amount of bin bags that had been put outside ready for the bin men in the morning and due to the turnover of guests it seems that the hotel wasn’t quite ready! On behalf of the managers I apologise for that.
When it is really busy sometimes rooms are missed – they shouldn’t be but it does happen. I would hope that when this does happen the guests would let the managers know so that it can be rectified. A few of the rooms do have marks on the bath and sink and we have tried everything to remove them, eventually they will have to be replaced.
The staff have been made aware of this review and although they would have preferred to have been advised of these views at the time they have taken them on board.
As for staying down the road for £5 each a night more – maybe on the day but a one night stay booked a few weeks I think this very unlikely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Myself and my family arrived at the Queensgate after finding an offer on teletext.

We were greeted by friendly staff who bent over backwards to make sure we had everything we needed. My son was 20months old at the time and has Cystic fybrosis and liver diesease,

So we needed medicines keeping in the fridge which they allowed us to do no questions asked, He also needed his medicines at awkward tmes but that was no problem, The manageress would get them anytime we asked and allways took time out to say hello to my kids and give them sweets. which they loved.

Our room was clean and tidy and the food was excellent, We lliked it that much we stayed an extra night and was even going to stay another but sadly they were fully booked.

We will be going back again very soon, as we are thinking of taking the kids to see the illuminations and the Queensgate will be our choice of accomodation.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank desypher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.3 mi away
GR8 Hotel
GR8 Hotel
#547 of 864 in Blackpool
9 reviews
1.3 mi away
Talbot House
Talbot House
#625 of 864 in Blackpool
13 reviews
1.2 mi away
Zebra Lodge Blackpool
Zebra Lodge Blackpool
#98 of 137 in Blackpool
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Butterfly Hotel - Adults Only
1.2 mi away
The Lawton Hotel
The Lawton Hotel
#282 of 864 in Blackpool
734 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blackpool Central Hotel
Blackpool Central Hotel
#452 of 864 in Blackpool
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queensgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queensgate Hotel

Address: 398 - 402 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #501 of 864 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $84 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queensgate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Queensgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing