We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Errmm Just be aware”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Queensgate Hotel
Ranked #388 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Merseyside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Errmm Just be aware”
Reviewed October 13, 2008

Stayed here on a one night deal!!! The Staff where lovely.. but we where greeted at reception with bin bags of empty beers cans!! the rooms well lets say yes the beds where clean and fresh clean towels where left on the beds for us but that was about it... the bathroom had black mold all around the bath, toilet and sink..and the floor was filthy.
I dont doubt for a minute that they do get a wipe over but that is all I say they do get. Inside of the windows are filthy... the carpet had not seen a hoover for a long time... if they say it has -may I suggest buying a new one!! the whole hotel smelt of old damp socks and stale smoke. This hotel could just do with a really deep clean!!
I can see in different reviews and responces that yes the hotel is old and tired and could do with a freshen up but that should not excuse hygiene..
Well not too mention our lovely view - courtyard with over 30 bin bags - old furniture and just generally a haven for rats.. I do believe that the Bin Men where due the following day but hey put the bags out of view of your quests!!!
As I said the staff where very friendly , I know that they do work hard and hardly get any sleep.... but I certainly would not pay to stay again ...they say you get what you pay for but we could of stayed down the road in a much nicer Hotel just for an extra £5.00 each, but hey if they get there marigolds out and a bit of bleach then yes I would say you would have a good time.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Hygiene
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HuneyMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpooldave, owner at The Queensgate Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2008
Few hotels in Blackpool accept one night stays during the busy illumination period. We do but of course give a priority of the better rooms to our guests who stay for 2 nights or more. You arrived at a very busy time as shown by the amount of bin bags that had been put outside ready for the bin men in the morning and due to the turnover of guests it seems that the hotel wasn’t quite ready! On behalf of the managers I apologise for that.
When it is really busy sometimes rooms are missed – they shouldn’t be but it does happen. I would hope that when this does happen the guests would let the managers know so that it can be rectified. A few of the rooms do have marks on the bath and sink and we have tried everything to remove them, eventually they will have to be replaced.
The staff have been made aware of this review and although they would have preferred to have been advised of these views at the time they have taken them on board.
As for staying down the road for £5 each a night more – maybe on the day but a one night stay booked a few weeks I think this very unlikely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    49
    22
    16
    23
See reviews for
52
15
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Myself and my family arrived at the Queensgate after finding an offer on teletext.

We were greeted by friendly staff who bent over backwards to make sure we had everything we needed. My son was 20months old at the time and has Cystic fybrosis and liver diesease,

So we needed medicines keeping in the fridge which they allowed us to do no questions asked, He also needed his medicines at awkward tmes but that was no problem, The manageress would get them anytime we asked and allways took time out to say hello to my kids and give them sweets. which they loved.

Our room was clean and tidy and the food was excellent, We lliked it that much we stayed an extra night and was even going to stay another but sadly they were fully booked.

We will be going back again very soon, as we are thinking of taking the kids to see the illuminations and the Queensgate will be our choice of accomodation.

  • Liked — The staff were amazing
  • Disliked — the annoying number 1 bus
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank desypher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
widnes
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2008

the worst hotel i have ever stayed in.the place is pure filth the rooms are small dirty and smell,the breakfast was a poor excuse for food and wouldnt fill a mouse ,the advertised entertainment was nothing like and stopped very early,do yourself a favour and stay away.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — all of it
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vikingWidnes061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpooldave, Owner at The Queensgate Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2008
Wrong Hotel!
We do not have a record of any guests from Widnes during over the last few weeks that I have checked!
Are rooms are larger than most in Blackpool and not pure filth nor smelly (having said that the horrendous driving rain did get into one of the sea view rooms unbeknown to us and smelt damp for a while but we didn't put guests in it when we knew).
The breakfast consists of Sausage bacon, egg, baked beans or tomatoe, fried bread. There is also cereal, orange, tea/coffee toast.
We are talking about some huge mouse that wouldn't fill!
We don't advertise entertainment we have a fantastic bar/lounge for partying but only offer music and karaoke. Karaoke goes on until midnight then we have music till 02.00 and the bar is open until 04.00.
We do get a lot of calls for hotels in Blackpool that have Queens in the name.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2008

we stayed at the queensgate for 4 nights it was great very friendly hotel. macia and billy were great hosts

HAD A FAB TIME

see you next year

lyndsey and chris and kids

also
albert and freda

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank kyle_huntley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2008

Dirty dirty dirty and very old fashioned. We came home with a few interesting bites too.
The hosts were fab though, a great laugh and seemed to try their best. Cant really ask for much more from a couple who dont sleep!!

  • Liked — home time
  • Disliked — bedtime
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tittybangbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpooldave, Owner at The Queensgate Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2008
Ridiculous statement! - We have a contract with Sunlight for laundry which provides fresh laundry for every guest;we have a policy of no pets; we have a contract with pest control. as do most hotels in Blackpool to prevent such thing occuring. As the reviewer only stayed 1 night it is more than likely that they brought it from home.

Old fashioned for the most part I agree but not the hospitality and great atmospher in the bar. Why do people comment on the hotel being dirty - it is cleaned continually by staff and management but occaisionally something may be missed. It's no coincedence that the people who complain on Trip Advisor never mention a problem to the managers who are very friendly approachable people. The hotel is due a full refurb but 95% of the guests are more than happy with it as it is at the moment especially the price.
If you are reading this give it a try if you're not happy let the managers know. The policy is to correct the problem or give your money back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2008

Have recently stayed at the Queensgate Hotel had a brilliant time. Hotel was close to town and Syndicate (amazing) and overlooking the sea.

Liam and his wife couldn’t do enough for us. Can recommend to anybody it’s clean, comfy beds, good food, friendly and best of all has a bar/
lounge area which is just the job for parties – keep up the good work don’t let the professional moaners get you down.

Cheers

  • Liked — friendly easy going atmosphere!
  • Disliked — Seagulls in the morning
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gleen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2008

Hi All, We are a large football and social club from Belfast, Northern Ireland and have been going to Blackpool for 27 years we have all ages from 70 odd to young players around 18 years and the Queensgate Hotel has to be the best we have stayed in, Good rooms, bar opened all night, cheap drink, clean, and the best hospatily you could ever wish for, Billy (from Belfast) and Marchia where so friendly we thought they were members of our club, on the Sunday night around 12.00 midnight, Billy covered the pool table and brought out a big pot of Irish Stew, (no charge) it was lovely, just like home,
This is a truthfull review, go to the hotel and find out for yourself.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Cowselder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.3 mi away
GR8 Hotel
GR8 Hotel
#577 of 856 in Blackpool
288 reviews
1.2 mi away
No photo provided
Talbot House
#666 of 856 in Blackpool
3 reviews
1.2 mi away
Zebra Lodge Blackpool
Zebra Lodge Blackpool
#66 of 128 in Blackpool
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Butterfly Hotel
The Butterfly Hotel
#14 of 128 in Blackpool
80 reviews
1.2 mi away
Helmshore Hotel
Helmshore Hotel
#190 of 856 in Blackpool
198 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novello B&B
Novello B&B
#161 of 856 in Blackpool
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queensgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queensgate Hotel

Property: The Queensgate Hotel
Address: 398 - 402 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #388 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queensgate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Queensgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing