We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was laffable really, a whole £60 for twin room.!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Queensgate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Queensgate Hotel
Ranked #326 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
NEWCASTLE
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It was laffable really, a whole £60 for twin room.!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2007

We arrived really tired to be told that we couldnt park ANYWHERE near the b&b,THEN were told the deposit hadnt been paid but we hadnt been contacted and told.The halls STANK of smoke and greasy food,the shower in the room had to be hit to start it.Our friends on/off switch was located in the very top of the shower cubicle and could only be reached standing on the flimsy plastic bin.!!!!!The mirror in our room fell off the wall and with its 1960's style could have killed someone.The beds were not made or bins changed for our 2nd night.The lock on our friends door didnt work so they couldnt lock the door and when they tried to pull over the dresser for protection the drawer front fell off.The drawers in our room were also falling apart and i didnt dare draw the curtains incase they consumed me with dust.It doesnt take much to make it presentable,if your going to do something,do it properly.!! Positive things are the beds were comfy and the linen/towels were clean,breakfast was common but there was plenty of it.Depends on your standards really,but i wouldnt reccomend it. £60 a lot of money for 1 night!!!!! And i cant beleive they let people smoke in their rooms,thats a massive turn-off and im sure illegal.All in all it gave us plenty of things to laugh about and prob enritched our weekend,but hell, we wouldnt do it again and we've all come back and have been poorley ever since!! (30yr old girls who work for nhs).

  • Liked — The best was comfy.
  • Disliked — ransid smell of smoke and loud music from the bar.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovingit38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpooldave, Owner at The Queensgate Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2007
I Ihave taken time out from the end of season decorating and refurbing in response to these reviews.
Obviously the reviewers arrived very irritable and with the council work taking place outside, the hotel didn't stand a chance!
Deposits are sometimes unpaid when there are insufficient funds or a wrong digit etc. We would try to contact the guest to advise of this embarrassing situation and I believe at this time we did try 3 times with one card!
Halls stinking of smoke and greasy food is a mystery as smoking is not permitted but we do allow guests to bring in take aways if they wish.
We have had problems with some guests who have been unable to work the showers - they usually ask the staff and should never stand on anything that can cause injury - as NHS workers they should know better! I wonder about the mirror to just fall off a wall!!
With weekend guests who arrive after 2.00 on Friday and depart at 10.00 normally on Sunday, bins are rarely used and unless there is a problem most of our guests do not expect to have there beds changed every day nor have the quilts pulled back in the evening.
All locks should work and rather than pulling the room apart you should tell the managers, we actually have a joiner who works full time for us.
Not sure about the curtains as they have already been pulled down to wash.
Obviously the reviewer is used to staying in posh accommodation, with better standards than most!! it's not often you hear an English breakfast being called common!
I'm suprised that £60 is considered a lot of money considering the type of hotels the reviewer must normally stay in. It does happen to coincide with the very height of the season this weekend for example is less than £40.
Smoking in rooms is not illegal, we did think hard and long about this and had we the facility for a warm area outside of the hotel then we would have put a stop to it. It actually looses us revenue as many guests go to their bedroom with their own drinks and smoke rather than using our lovely lounge area, which I doubt the reviewer ever even saw, although from the sounds of it they had a good laugh, alchohol enriched and unfortunately seem to be suffering the consequences.






Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    49
    19
    14
    23
See reviews for
52
15
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2007

A few of went to this hotel when we looked at the photos on the website we were rather happy to book this unfortunately when we got there there it look nothing like what the pictures on the website shows, for one we couldnt park there as there were roadworks outside, the rooms were dirty, the shower curtain had mould on the bottom of it the toilet looked like it had vomit staines round the rim and the walls were an awful yellow colour which were also dirty, we also had problems with our payment as when it was booked they didnt take the number down properly and when we got there after phoning only a week before hand to make sure everything had gone through and they said it had we were told that the deposit hadnt not gone through which meant we had to find that money thinking it had already been paid, my door didnt not lock which i had to report when i went to use our chest of draws i opened the draw and it fell apart when i mentioned this to the owner she laughed then said she would get it fixed including the door eventually they did fix it but i never slept that night knowing door wouldnt lock, when my friend also was very upset that the money hadnt come out of her bank account cause then she had to find the extra money for deposit the owner also laughed and said put it down as an experience which i didnt find very funny i seriously would not recommend this hotel as i found it to be very expensive and not get value for money you expect when you pay £60 per night for the room for it to be clean at least

  • Liked — not much
  • Disliked — was very dirty and not good value for money
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazza1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpooldave, owner at The Queensgate Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2007
I can assure our reviewer that what you see on the website has not been doctored in any way. I suppose any interior that has seen better days will appear dirty in contrast to the stark sanitary cleanliness of our hospitals.

Please read other management review as this review is basically a copy of the other - I suppose at least it wasn't in triplicate!

The reviewer was obviously confused, as I am the owner and this is the first time I have been aware of this situation. I wish her friend, who obviously has a better life style than most, would have helped her out with her money situation and management.

Sorry this didn't appear value for money but if you stay anywhere in the high season you have to pay for it.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2007

My partner and I stayed in this hotel from Friday to Sunday! We had room 26 with a seaview.

We were on holiday and excited about being on an adventure together and we kept telling ourselves that the hotel was ok and that it was just for two nights but the bed was very uncomfortable, and although the room looked as if it had had a 15 minute clean between quests, it needed a lot of time, effort and money to make the room pleasant. Grotty carpet, manky curtains, broken bathroom from the 70s - no money has been spent in that room for a good 25 years I would say. And YES carpet in the bathroom circa 1988 - Lovely!!! (not)

Although we live in a SMOKE FREE inviroment these days, all the hotel reaked off smoke and the dirty brown tar stained everything just made it all worse. The hotel was dirty, smelly and not worth the £60 we paid per night.

If I had known I would have definitely not stayed here but I did want a seaview and I definitely got that although the dirty curtains and windows did spoil it a bit.

GOOD POINTS
Staff - friendly / OK
Food - Very well cooked, a plus!!!
No one really watching over your comings and goings never saw anyone at the reception area. When we left we just left the keys on the desk.

  • Liked — the food was nice
  • Disliked — the piece of wood under the matress on the broken bed - backache next morning
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sjc0213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpooldave, Owner at The Queensgate Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2007
Yes room 26 is in need of refurbishment and it does have the interesting carpets in the bathroom – although not unique to Blackpool I can assure you.
Normally I would be very protective over our hotel and our pricing policy usually offers exceptional value for money. On this occasion I do agree, although I question the cleanliness aspect for which extra staff are employed to fulfil this need, the hotel is dated and tired at this time of year (which is why we are closing to refurbish in readiness for Christmas and New Year), but it is the very height of the season and prices are at there highest throughout the town, in January you would only be paying £39 for the room even at the weekend.
Very sorry that you found bed uncomfortable, I wish you would have told the managers as they would have investigated and should have been able to replace the mattress or fixed the bed if that was the problem – at least we now know and can do something about it!
The carpets and curtains we will assess, we have spent a fortune on some rooms but we made a decision to spend more on the rooms without sea views as we charge the same price and thought that is the fairest way. You have made a valid point a lot of money is needed! I suppose you are already aware that there are too many hotels in Blackpool so prices are very competitive and over the year turnover only just covers costs, if that, which means unless more money is borrowed or new owners take over, there is little or no money for refurbishments.
We pay a window cleaner on a regular basis, even with the windows cleaned with the winds and high tide, after half an hour they are layered with salt and sand!! Don’t have an answer for that one!
The smoke smell and tar stains now that is odd every time I have been into the hotel (as an owner I don’t live there) it smells of cleaning tackle. I’m sure the tar stains you are referring to must be magnolia paint I have never smoked and would have noticed that happening straight away. As for the smoke smell staff, including managers, are not allowed to smoke in the hotel – they can only smoke outside or in their flat. I wonder if they had been smoking downstairs in their apartment and left the door open. The managers incidentally are hands on managers i.e they do work in the hotel as well and as such they are not always by reception, which is why there is a bell to call them from the bar or kitchen.
I hope you made use of the hotel facilities and will give us another opportunity in the future. When booking please discuss the points that you have raised to ensure you have the best room suited to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2007

We have just returned from a two night stay in this hotel, and i must warn anyone with any cleanliness standards not to stay here. The only word i can use is squalid. Outside you are greeted with traffic cones around a stagnant pool of water. This had obviously been like this for some time as it was disgusting. Inside, the place is grotty from the front door right up to the room itself. Our room was disgustingly dirty, like a previous review we daredn't take our shoes off. The wall underneath the window looked like it had been replastered by a very small child and had green paint splattered over it. The walls and carpet were filthy and had obviously not been cleaned for a very long time. We found a toenail on the carpet which had not been hoovered between guests and the paintwork was disgustingly dirty and likewise had not been cleaned for a very long time. While i understand that we may have been given a room that was still waiting to be refurbished this does not excuse the state of the room regarding the cleanliness. The state of the room spoiled our entire stay as we found ourselves wandering the streets for as long as possible to avoid having to spend longer in our room than we had to. And before the owner replies and comments that we should have complained while we were there and the price reflects the standard, i would like to say that we did not complain as anyone who thinks that the room and hotel are in an acceptable condition to charge people to stay in would never understand our grievances. I cannnot believe that people can give this hotel a positive review. All i can say is DO NOT STAY HERE IF YOU HAVE ANY STANDARDS.

  • Disliked — Cleanliness was atrocious
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpooldave, Owner at The Queensgate Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2007
Stay in a Travel Lodge if you don’t want a traditional hotel. What a ridiculous review, and how can somebody who has obviously not made use nor seen most of the hotel advise future guests who will make the most of the hotel facilities and really enjoy their stay. And how pompous to question other guests reviews as well as presuming all guests have this narrow minded outlook and expectation that £45 for 2 adults and 2 children with full English breakfast will provide a modern purpose built hotel – get into the real world!
For possible guests who have read this review I feel it only fair to point out that this hotel does have rooms that are in need of modernisation and the furniture in some rooms are retro. Some guests even like it as it brings back fond memories of Blackpool. At present there are traffic cones outside the hotel due to the hotel being at the very heart of the illuminations and the quantity of traffic has caused a flow pipe to break. The council has this in hand and we are assured that it will be fixed ASAP I suppose you could say that we are a victim of our superb location!
We have contract carpet cleaners and our own cleaners hoover after every guest leaves, there are marks on walls which are cleaned/ repainted throughout the season. We close the hotel at the end of October for refurbishments and if the marks cannot be cleaned then unfortunately at this time of year they stay until the refurbishment.
A piece of advise for the reviewer:- If you are not happy complain, if you have just cause you get your money back, if your expectations have not been reached because basically you have taken a gamble (it’s school holidays in the High Season and you are paying £45 per night for 4) and you didn’t get the Hilton then bite the bullet and loose your deposit, try the Hilton, which is about 10 doors away. If you can’t afford the move then at least give the hotel a chance, the lounge area is superb (it’s actually the best part of the hotel) there is a kids games room and the managers love kids. They even get the chance to Karaoke on stage. I bet this family never went near, which is a shame.
To say we would never understand their grievances is probably correct as I cannot understand their actions at all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2007

Stayed at the hotel in Feb with 4 other girls, all of us in our early 20s.
Had great time, atmosphere was fantastic and rooms were clean and what u would expect from a Blackpool B n B!

Felt completely safe even though the hotel was full of Irish men on a rugby trip!

Would def go back.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cab84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#3 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,728 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Boston Hotel
The Royal Boston Hotel
#9 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Coast
The Coast
#223 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenwalden Guest House
Glenwalden Guest House
#208 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queensgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queensgate Hotel

Property: The Queensgate Hotel
Address: 398 - 402 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #326 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queensgate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Queensgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing