We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“birthday treat”
Review of The Strand Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Strand Lodge
Ranked #57 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I booked this hotel on kgb when it was brownes so glad it had shut down and was now known as the strand lodge. What a superb place, had the executive suite with king size bed and jaccuzi lovely and bright with a view of the sea. The staff here are amazing nothing was too much trouble and they were always pleasant and helpfull. The food was always beautifully presented hot and home made. I would reccomend staying here. We would certainly come back a really enjoyable mini break

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank valerie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Thank you for your review and I am pleased you are glad we took over what was 'Browns International'. We certainly think there has been a massive improvement so it is great you do too.
We have lots of special mini break deals coming up for the year ahead and it would be great to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 129 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014

We have just come back from a 4 night stay at the Strand Lodge. Our room was a premier on suite Jacuzzi room, No 7. We had a large room with a bay window with a side view onto the Irish sea. The room was clean with a very large and comfortable bed. The staff were very helpful especially Colin and the young girl serving breakfast. The hotel although quite full was extremely quiet. The hotel had nice reception and bar rooms. Entertainment was held on the sister hotel just located round the corner on the seafront. The breakfast was nice and a full English offering available. Very pleasant hotel would stay here again and only a 5 to 10 minute walk to bars and town centre.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apsdisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

What a wonderful informative review. Thank you for your comments about the lodge and the hotel and we hope to see you next time you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

My partner and I av just returned from a weekend trip to blackpool fri4 to sun6 april and didn't think we could possibly top the strand hotel bt after staying at the sister hotel the strand lodge, I must say its deffinately on par and being set just around the corner from the the strand hotel, it is within easy walking distance between the two should u wish to spend time at both venues. Karl and staff are very welcoming, friendly, accomodating and he is also a excellent chef too, with breakfast at the lodge and a great value 3 course main meal at the the hotel. Really lukin forward to going back later this year.

Room Tip: we stayed in a luvly room on the top floor bt for a little extra you can stay in an executive room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidmorrey21up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Its is great that you have stayed at both our venues and are just as happy to stay at the Lodge. This is the very reason we purchased another hotel as the Strand Hotel was becoming so busy it was awful when we couldn't accommodate regular guests now you have 2 to choose from. Karl and the team are very friendly and Chris is a great chef they are thrilled with your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We were booked in on a KGB weekend at a hotel called Brownes International. When we got to
Blackpool, we found that the previous owner had done a bunk. Chris at the Strand Lodge was really helpful. He was really helpful offered us a room , so that we did not have to travel three hours home again.
The breakfast was excellent, we went to the Strand for dinner. What a lovely stay. Staff could not do enough for us. The room was lovely, and the bed was really comfy.
We will definatley be going back.

Room Tip: We had room seven, which had a jaccuzzi bath. the room was really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seasoneddiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Thank you for your review we are still getting the occasional KGB or other voucher deal guests arriving at the Lodge due to the previous owners but thankfully not as many now and all guests that have stayed have received refunds from the voucher company. We are pleased you visited our hotel (The Strand Hotel) just around the corner for your evening dinner, many guests are loving having the flexibility of staying bed and breakfast and knowing if they want dinner there is a fab restaurant at our hotel. Many Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We were here for a friends birthday & didn't want to pay a fortune for a hotel. We weren't expecting much for our money, but we were pleasantly surprised. It was clean, the staff were friendly & helpful. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Thank you for you response and we are glad that we exceeded your expectations for the value for money deal you received. We have many offers throughout the year and special deals on our website hopefully we will see you again next time you visit our wonderful town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

A first class experience for our charity function. A professionally run quality establishment. Superb chef and awesome murder mystery night. This newly aquired and modernised hotel will do very well. It is places like this that I believe will restore Blackpools reputation with its value for money and quality that todays clientele demand.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank madgician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

We love a Wow.... Thank you. We were pleased to be asked to host your group for a Charity Murder Mystery evening which also celebrated Burns Night with the Scottish themed menu. I like your photo of the Macsween Haggis -Traditional Scottish haggis on a peppered croute with a runny poached egg and whisky sauce. We look forward to hosting your next event and have many different themes and fundraising ideas to choose from. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

A little gem, fab hotel and fab staff, big mention to Chris excellent chef! 3 nights bed breakfast and evening meal £100 for LSW...booked for next year straight away..any question feel free to ask...?

Room Tip: The executive rooms are fab with big beds and jacuzzi bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendyroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Thank you for your comments and you were wise to book for next year straight away as we only have a few rooms left for the Luxury Soul Weekender. We all agree Chris is a wonderful chef although this has an impact on our waistlines. Morning jogs down the promenade required for all Team Strand I think?? See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.6 mi away
The Clarendon Showtel
The Clarendon Showtel
#47 of 73 in Blackpool
147 reviews
0.2 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
869 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maples Hotel
Maples Hotel
#22 of 73 in Blackpool
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#61 of 73 in Blackpool
1,095 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
507 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Lodge

Address: 5-6 Wilton Parade, Blackpool FY1 2HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: $36 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Strand Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not far from The Golden Mile you'll find pure platinum!The Strand Lodge remains Blackpool's "Best Kept Secret". We are situated in the slightly calmer end of town, the picturesque "North Shore" but still only 5 minutes from the town centre, Tower, theatres and nightlife.All rooms are en-suite with telephone, flat screen digital televisions and hospitality tray. We also have two luxury spa bath mini suites both with stunning views of the Irish Sea.The Lodge boasts some of the most stylish and comfortable rooms in the town and has been refurbished throughout to the same standard as its sister hotel The Strand Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Strand Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing