We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$192
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Park House Hotel(Blackpool)
$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$101
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Lucena Hotel(Blackpool)
$40
$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Big Blue Hotel(Blackpool)
$158
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kings Hotel(Blackpool)
$173
$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveler rating
77
30
16
6
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
30
16
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotelon arrivalmain mealnext yeara great staynorth shoreexcellent facilitiesbooked this hoteldouble roomfull englishgreat value for moneyhot watertown centregood nights sleepweekend breaktoiletriesprom
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 138 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We have bought a MIGHTY DEAL voucher for a stay at Brownes International Hotel in Blackpool and booked a weekend away in December 2013. What a surprise we got when we turned up and they went bankrupt in the meantime! Jane, at The Strand Lodge were very helpful and explained the situation and offered us a good deal on accommodation. What a lovely stay we had! The staff was very friendly. Our room super and the breakfasts excellent! Many thanks and we shall be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cornelia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strand M, Manager at The Strand Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for yet another review commenting on the perils of buying voucher deals when companies go out of business. We were only too happy to be able to accommodate you and that you enjoyed your stay.
For future reference we have our own special deals which can be found on our website www.thestrandlodge.com where you can book direct. Hopefully we will see you again next time you visit Blackpool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

On arrival at the hotel, we were greeted by a lovely lady, who gave us all the info we needed about breakfast & if we wanted an evening meal.
We were very pleased with our room, which was very clean,and as i am an avid watcher of four in a bed programme i checked everything including the mattress & pillows,all were spotless.
our friends room was the same.
We were staying for 1 night to see the illuminations so we only had 1 drink in the bar before going on our way,this was a little pricey. Had a lovely sleep ,the bed was very comfy.
Breakfast was good with extra tea coffee if required.
All in all a great little hotel that we will deffinately return to .Some may say it is a little out of the way, but this suited us .
Many thanks everyone at Strand lodge for a great night.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berniebubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strand M, Manager at The Strand Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thanks for your review and praise from avid 'Four in a Bed' fans is great praise indeed.... haha...

Its great to hear you found everything to be spotlessly clean as our housekeeping team work really hard and the praise is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the NEW Strand just round the corner from their other hotel..... After we had booked Brownes International through KGB Deals and it turned out to be a scam and the owner of Brownes done a bunk with thousands of pounds of money..... Including ours. BUT the lovely owners of the Strand gave us a room and were extremely helpful. After speaking with KGB Deals they completed a bacs transfer the very same day. Our room was spotless and the beds were very comfy and cosy bedding. It had all the necessities we needed, tea, coffee etc. bathroom was clean and the whole room was lovely and warm. Not the best views but that's not their fault. What I will RAVE about is the quality of food!!! The food was of the highest standards and was all freshly prepared daily. All homemade too. Different options both nights and great value for the quality you receive. Breakfast was great as well although no continental option, the waitress in the morning wasn't very engaging, didn't tell us about the cereal and juice over in the corner we could have. But that's the only gripe, and she was also the chambermaid and instead of knocking on our door later that day she just walked in. Apologised then left. Keep doors locked ;-). There is nothing that is too much trouble for the owners and provide friendly excellent service. By far the best hotel in Blackpool and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbskyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strand M, Manager at The Strand Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for your review and we were pleased that we were able to sort out the issues with KGB to enable you to enjoy your stay in Blackpool.
Its is always great to hear that guests enjoy the food and hospitality as we pride ourselves in only using fresh local produce and of course we believe we have the best chef in town!!
Were glad you found the beds comfy as all the bedding is brand new and quality linen, duvets and pillows defiantly helps towards a comfortable nights sleep.
We look forward to meeting you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had a Groupon Voucher this hotel's previous existence as "Browns International" but on arrival we found they had gone bankrupt and the voucher, although paid for, was no longer valid. The new owners are the proprietors of the Strand Hotel around the corner and were most understanding and apologetic even though the situation was not their fault; they had no records given to them and no way of contacting people with reservations. Fortunately they had a room available and so we booked it even though it meant paying again. They gave us a voucher for complimentary drinks at their other hotel which we thought was a nice touch.

We had an executive room that had a diagonal sea view and en suite bathroom with Jacuzzi. The room was pleasant and airy but the bed was very small. The reception area and some of the public rooms appeared a bit worn; but to be fair the new owners had only been there 3 weeks and so there was not time to do everything but there were encouraging signs of refurbishment going on.

As we were staying only one night, bed & breakfast, we ate out in Blackpool so we cannot comment on the restaurant. However breakfast the following morning was excellent, self serve cereals or fruits, etc. followed by a wide choice of cooked dishes, served to table.

The hotel is well placed, just 2 minutes walk from the sea front and adjacent to the Wilton Parade tram stop. It is about a 15 minute walk from the North Pier or 20 minutes from the Tower, 5 minutes by Tram. Overall we were very glad that we stayed and we would like to stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean-Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strand M, Manager at The Strand Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, also for pointing out the issues we have faced with the previous owners selling voucher deals. It has been hard work but I can honestly say that all guest that chose to stay have given positive feedback on their stay and have now received full refunds from the voucher companies involved. We have also devised our own voucher deals that you can now book direct offering superb value for money with all the savings passed to the guest rather than lining the pockets of voucher companies.

We are please to announce that all public areas have now been refurbished and are looking much smarter. Plus we are in the process of planning for a passenger lift to add to guest comfort and accessibility, a new car park with an extra 10 spaces is being created and the gardens have all be landscaped and planted out with bulbs for the spring.

The room you stayed in has a brand new super king sized bed so comfy its difficult to get out of bed in the morning!

We look forward to meeting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night (sat) on the last weekend of the illuminations. Really pleasant stay and is in a good location close to north pier and walking distance of Central etc. tram stop just down the road too if your heading down to South and don't fancy the walk. Little confusing at first as we booked online at 'the strand hotel' which is on the front, when we arrived there they redirected us to the strange lodge formerly browns I think which their newly acquired sister hotel. (The management team is clearly doing something right expanding in the tough economic climate blackpool has to offer). This hotel is just around the corner off the front. We didn't know what to expect really but it was just fine everything up to standards we were expecting at the strand on the front. Breakfast was really good too, pleasant service throughout stay. Rooms are nice modern, we got the room above the kitchens (3 I think) and could hear the extractors and abit of noise but nothin major we were up and about early anyway. Nice bar spacious areas downstairs where we had a quick night cap before bed. Would return, keep up the good work

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ricky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strand M, Manager at The Strand Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you so much for your very informative review. It is inspiring to hear support from guests who recognise the fact that we have the faith in our product and Blackpool as leaders in the tourism market. As you pointed out this is our newly acquired 2nd venue which is ideally situated in close proximity to the main Strand Hotel and we look forward to receiving new guests to experience all we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews