We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel that won't break the bank.”
Review of The World Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The World Hotel
Ranked #750 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Boutique Hotel that won't break the bank.”
Reviewed June 10, 2007

David and his crew are fantastic hosts and have created a relaxing haven right in the centre of Blackpool. We spent the Saturday afternoon sitting in the courtyard, lapping up the sun and enjoying a break from the hustle and bustle.

The rooms are compact but spotlessly clean and each bedroom, as with the rest of the hotel, is decorated with wall hangings and curiosities collected on David's travels around the world - so much more personal than the standardised rooms of a large chain hotel yet much more fashionable than the usual chintz of Blackpool B&Bs.

The hotel is spotlessly clean and the breakfasts are enormous- with the best fried mushrooms we have ever tasted.

The location is ideal. Walking distance from the attractions and night-life, yet tucked out the way of the noise.

We are already planning to return later this year!

  • Liked — The quirky decor
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jemimapuddlejumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    25
    6
    10
    21
See reviews for
28
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2007

I cannot fault the staff who were friendly and extremely helpful. We were unable to attend breakfast in the morning as we had an early start and were pleasantly surprised to discover sandwiches had been made for us and a bottle of water provided. The location is excellent if you wish to be very close to the Tower and the North Pier. However, the room was extremely small (the bathroom was huge however) and the beds were incredibly uncomfortable. The room was adequate in its cleanliness although the toilet seat fell off during our stay and the water from the cold water tap ran very slowly.

The property has no parking facilities of its own. However, if you are lucky you may be able to find a space on the road nearby. Failing that, you will have to use the pay and display which is a short distance away.

  • Liked — Friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked — The room was too small and the beds were uncomfortable
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tipsymazuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayenne, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2007

We stayed here at the end of Feb begining of March, the room although a little on the small side was individualy decorated, we stayed in the Thai room (no 2) the owner David was lovely and couldnot do enough for us, the service second to none. the breakfasts were exceptional and definately not for the faint hearted, we couldn't manage cereals as well as Davids lovely full english breakfast,
Although Blackpool was "closed" our stay was made enjoyable by staying here.

  • Liked — The themed rooms, the owner
  • Disliked — no designated parking
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puresilk26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2006

I stayed here for one night with my husband and son during the illuminations. The hotel is brilliant - the themed rooms are really tasteful and clean. There are two bar areas - one quirky traditional area, and a beautiful modern African themed room. The owner and staff were extremly friendly and helpful, and we enjoyed the whole stay. We had a meal on the evening, which was lovely, and the breakfast was just amazing. The rooms are very small, but the gorgeous cushions and art more than make up for it. Nice hot showers, and shampoo and shower gel were provided - a nice touch. We loved the huge map of the world on the wall downstairs, and the many globes - a fascinating place to stay - loved it!

  • Liked — The owner, staff and decor.
  • Disliked — No view
  • Tips/Secrets — Book early to pick a room!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2006

We stopped in the sister hotel to the World Hotel, the New World Hotel. I have to say, Steve the owner and his staff, Phyllis and Agnes, could not have made us any more welcome. Whilst we were there, we were invited to go and see the World Hotel, and I have to say, that both of them are true diamonds and definitely well worth staying in.

The location is great, near enough to the Centre, but away from the hustle and bustle (especially late at night), and the service you receive is second to none! The group we were in were of mixed ages ranging from 18 year olds to 80+ and everyone was looked after, being treated as individuals rather than just being treated as someone who was stopping for a night or two.

The themed rooms are great (though some of the bathrooms are a little small), but the added touches of shower gel, shampoo and other little extras certainly made up for this.

There is an extremely well stocked bar for those after show drinks, and the food is excellent, beware you need to have an after breakfast and, if you choose to have it, which I certainly would recommend, an after dinner nap!

If you are looking for quality, clean, but most of all, a personal touch, to your accommodation in Blackpool at a reasonable price, (and you like your food), then you will miss out if you don't stay at either the World, or the New World Hotel.

We have booked again for next May, and will certainly be stopping again in October during the Luminations!

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank carol004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2006

This is just to confirm previous reviews. We have just returned from a one night stay there. David, the owner, couldn't have been more helpful. The themed rooms are on the small side but they are spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast was fabulous with good attentive service. There is a fantastically styled sitting room. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — cleanliness & service
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mardrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2006

Don't be put off by the venue of this hotel which is on a back lane because the welcome and the service received here make up for it. The hotel is a five minute walk from the North Pier. Although there is no desigated parking with the hotel we managed to park two cars outside on the street. The building is old and the rooms quite small but the themed decoration is really interesting. The bathrooms, bedding and towels were spotless.From the intriguing entrance hall with a water feature to the bric a brac in the bar and dining areas there is a homely feel to this place. The owner could't do enough for us and the other staff were very helpful making us a pot of tea while we waited to go into our rooms. The breakfast was fantastic- not for the faint hearted! I don't often frequent Blackpool but if I went back there I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel.

  • Liked — The personal touches from the owner
  • Disliked — The location- not much of a view but not a lot couldbe done about this.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tripadvisor Sunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.3 mi away
The Clarendon Showtel
The Clarendon Showtel
#58 of 70 in Blackpool
131 reviews
2.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,041 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hotel Blackpool
The Hotel Blackpool
#7 of 856 in Blackpool
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#95 of 128 in Blackpool
133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 70 in Blackpool
3,898 reviews
1.8 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#243 of 856 in Blackpool
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The World Hotel

Property: The World Hotel
Address: 1 Lansdowne Place | Northshore, Blackpool FY1 1SB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #750 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The World Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world hotel is under new management as of 16th january 2013 (we are nothing to do with the new world hotel)we have 10 en-suite bedrooms, this hotel was previously run as a woman only hotel, we have decided to change this to couples and families and female groups sorry no stag parties! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing