We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great”
Review of The World Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The World Hotel
Ranked #739 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner were already in Blackpool for the weekend and decided to stay another night, while sitting in a bar along the road we booked the world hotel for the following night at an excellent price. We arrived and every one was really friendly, we were led to our room. Which was fine the only thing was the window didn't open for a bit fresh air, bathroom was really spacious! We dumped our bags and went straight out this is an ideal location, it's a short walk into the centre but the hotels in a quiet part which is ideal. On returning to our hotel we were hungry so decided to nip over to the pizza shop across the road on the managers advice we asked for discount for staying at the hotel and he gave us £2 off, bonus. We didnt make it for breakfast but sounded like they had a good selection. Overall for the price we paid I'm very happy.
Thanks!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay-Dave12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    25
    6
    10
    20
See reviews for
28
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We booked last minute me(sam) and my husband dave.....could not believe the last minute price we paid...mymothrt in law decided to come for the day.when we arrived she decided she wanted to stay the nite and we enquired if there was ant spare rooms..and no full up..hardly suprizing with the last minute deals.anyway they went out their way to offer to accommodate my m in law in r room for half price!as it was only for one nite we was more than happy with this..we wern.t on our honey moon after all!
The bar was closed as no licience but they was happy enough to let us drink our own wine!
All in all continental brekkie also included..cereals croissonts cooked meats yogurts boiled eggs toast jams coffee/tea and orange juices

What more can you ask for!
And the little helper chelsea..daughter and granddaughter with such good manners for a 6 yr old x

5 weeks in and wish u all the best !

See you soon

Sam dave and hilly (hilda) x

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sammieanddave19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at The World Hotel for one night in February and had a great experience. The price we paid seemed such great value that we were surprised it included breakfast.

The room we had was dog friendly (a huge plus for us!) and the room was spotless. The bathroom was huge and absolutely sparkling clean. Nice handwash is provided which was a nice change to little packet soaps!

The breakfast provided downstairs in the morning was continental - a selection of croissants, breads, meats, cheeses and cereals. There was also unlimited toast - great value.

Location-wise it really couldn't be better placed. 5 mins from the Tower/ town centre, near to the piers and obviously tram stops are nearby for the 5 min journey to the Pleasure Beach.

The family that run the hotel were fab - didn't mind us arriving later than we said and couldn't do enough to help at breakfast time.

We often visit Blackpool as our dogs just love the beach/ sea (once month at the very least) so it is great that there is a hotel which is budget friendly as well as welcoming and clean.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are pet friendly but I think it's great that pets are allowed here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peach1038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

OnI my way to the hotel i was dreading itt because of reviews that was said but it was nothing compared to what people say as its new managment i really enjoyed it made uss feel reallyy homely :) i would really recommend this hotel for aa nice break

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizzie1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This hotel is under new management and from the reviews below its a major improvement.The hotel owners chris,wendy,kim and mark where very welcoming and we had a great stay there was nothing that was too much trouble.The hotel is close to the sea just 2 mins away and is also very close to the town centre maybe a 10 min walk.Me and my family will be booking to stay at this lovely hotel on our next trip and cant wait to return :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Myself and 9 other women stayed here 2nd November - 4th November 2012, having gone to Blackpool for my 30th Birthday. Hotel was booked via the Awesome Weekends.com. We all had a great stay here, rooms were comfortable and clean, breakfast was good yes not a cooked one but we all knew that before going.

Landlady Fran truly looked after us all, renewal of bar license had not yet came through so we had our own alcohol/snacks and music in the bar area which was great.

The pictures of this hotel are not up to date, the decor and furnishings are absolutely fine. Location of hotel is very good, we had booked for Funny Girls (a must see) which is very close by as are various pubs and clubs.

Planning to return to Blackpool with the girls next year and we wont hesitate to book here again.

Room Tip: Room 7 does have a corner bath :))
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were booked into this hotel for a hen weekend of 11 through an events company Awesome weekends. When we arrived at the hotel the land lady was friendly and welcoming, however this soon changed.... First of all she would not accept the fact that we had already chosen where we were all sleeping as members of the hen party knew some people better than others. She was adamant she knew better, we eventually let her have her way to keep her happy. We quickly dumped our bags in the rooms, which were small, dated decor and a little musty. We were still waiting for the other half of the party to arrive so we decided to take a walk around. As we were leaving, Fran told us we had to leave our keys with her each time we left for safety, which we thought was odd. She told us her and her husband would wait up for us arriving after our night out, again odd as we would probably be out till 3/4am, the bridesmaid told her she was a non drinker and responsible so would keep the key safe. It was then mentioned to us on the way out that it was an all girls hotel, which we were NEVER told by her or the events company!! We panicked because we had a male in our party who was due to arrive shortly. She was disgusted by this, shaking her head refusing him to stay the hotel. After her being so uncooperative I went outside to phone the company to discuss this (who was also unhelpful only offering the male to be moved to another hotel HIMSELF). Whilst I was on the phone one of the girls looked on trip advisor and saw a review stating the real reason Fran wanted us to leave the keys was so that she could snoop in our rooms whilst we were out, this made us feel very uncomfortable. I mentioned this to the company on the phone because we wanted to be moved to another hotel so were all together. They told us they would ‘look into this’ and get back to us. After a minute or two I went back into the hotel to round up the rest of the party, to find my friend very upset as Fran had confronted her accusing us of writing the bad review. The company had obviously told her and she had got the wrong end of the stick. After receiving this very hostile treatment we packed our belongings and left!
We were on the phone to company for hours, they refused to re accommodate us, telling us we were not getting a penny out of them. It wasn’t until we spoke to citizens advice who told us to threaten them with legal action that they decided to put us all in a different hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 278anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#32 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hotel Blackpool
The Hotel Blackpool
#7 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
1.8 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#224 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Minotel Lucena
Minotel Lucena
#91 of 125 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,851 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#325 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The World Hotel

Property: The World Hotel
Address: 1 Lansdowne Place | Northshore, Blackpool FY1 1SB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #739 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The World Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world hotel is under new management as of 16th january 2013 (we are nothing to do with the new world hotel)we have 10 en-suite bedrooms, this hotel was previously run as a woman only hotel, we have decided to change this to couples and families and female groups sorry no stag parties! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your The World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing