We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A well run Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abbey Lodge Blackpool
Ranked #110 of 911 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A well run Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

Just returned from a very pleasant stay at Abbey Lodge. The location was great, just a short walk to Promenade and the City Centre. Rooms although a bit small were fully equipped with all the facilities available at Big name hotels( Ensuite, Iron/ ironing board, hair dryer, coiour TV, Tea / coffee making facilities and fresh towels daily). We booked B&B and we all were of the same opinion Breakfast was excellent. A very clean and well run Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kireland09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    31
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
172
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

We went to Blackpool so that we could go ballroom dancing in the Tower Ballroom. We wanted a hotel that was located near the Tower and would be easy to drive to. There are hundreds of little hotels on the streets leading down to the beach and promenade, so we just picked one that seemed convenient. The Abbey Lodge was a good choice. We paid about 45 pounds a night for bed and breakfast (stayed two nights). This is probably a bit more than some other hotels, but we were able to book online, and that was much more convenient than trying to find somewhere upon arriving in the town.
The owners were very friendly and very helpful. We had a room at the back of the house. Small, like most rooms at Blackpool, but quiet (although we could hear the donkeys from the beach donkey rides occasionally!). Bathroom also small but everything worked and the shower was easy to operate and hot. Good quality towels. TV and tea-making necessities. Room was nicely decorated, but the bed was a bit hard.
Good quality English cooked breakfast in the morning, with cereal also available. A small bar in the front room and a little outside patio for having drinks on warm evenings.
Overall good value for money and the owners were pleasant, helpful and friendly.
One caution - many of the smaller hotels in Blackpool don't have parking and you cannot park on the streets overnight. So be prepared to unload your suitcase and then park the car somewhat further away. This is a problem for all of the smaller hotels, not just this one.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank old-jogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

Just returned from 4 night stay. Comfortable,enjoyable and very friendly.Breakfast was excellent.Both Dean and Steve would go out of their way to help you.We had to check out early but the guys made us a special early breakfast. Room was very clean.neat and tidy.Toilet and shower may be a little too small for some people but overall we had a good time at the hotel and would be more than happy to recommend it. Dinner was available if booked in advance and for £9 was a great bargain.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sussexray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire uk
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

We only stayed for one night as we were on our way to Cumbria, but from the moment we arrived we were greated with very friendly owners Steve and Dean. We were showed to our room which was great, a little small but very comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. Had drinks in the evening with Steve and friends in hotels bar, we were made to feel very welcome. The following morning we were served with an outstanding breakfast selection, which was very tasty, coffee was great too . Steve and Dean were excellent hosts, they treated us very well indeed. We will definately stay here again when in Blackpool.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2010

Like me i read the reviews for this hotel, but wanted to see for my self what it was like. When we arrived we were welcomed by a friendly lady who showed us our room, Very clean and tidy room with ensuite, Dean was one of the gentleman who was very friendly and adivsed us on good spots to visit, We made breakfast in the mornings and i was very pleased with the amount of food we had, filled me up for the day. They are very friendly and helpful and obliging to what you require/need.
Well worth every penny.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invergordon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2009

Well we booked and paid for our trip to Blackpool and staying at the Abbey Lodge hotel through Last Minute.com back in July. It was the worse start to a trip ever, as per our conformation from Lastminute we called the hotel before we started our 7 hour drive south to Blackpool, but got no answer just eventually forwarded to a fax machine. We tried all day during our drive but still no reply, when we got there there were no lights on but we were advised the place was not manned so we went for something to eat.

After continuing to call we headed back to the hotel only to find out from neighbouring hotels that the hotel we booked was closed as the owner was on holiday, we then had to find alternative accomodation while on the street with nowhere else to go.

I have found this a very poor customer experiance, and up to now I am not sure if the blame lies with Lastminute or from the hotel who had taken our payment. Not heard from the hotel since and I have had to chase lastminute since I came back and may get a refund in another ten working days, again very poor since I paid right away when booking.

I am only marking this hotel down due to not getting in so I cannot mark it positively and not due to the fact we got into the hotel. For as much as I am marking the hotel as not recomending them it is also directed at lastminute.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry_mcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve3432, owner at Abbey Lodge Blackpool, responded to this review, January 19, 2010
We are sorry for the inconvenience you encountered when visiting Blackpool. We were unable to accommodate your booking and Lastminute were made aware of this a month before your arrival date.

I would of contacted you directly myself but Lastminute only supply us with your name and arrival and departure dates. We had requested a contact number for yourself from Lastminute.com but they declined saying we did not need to contact you direct as they would do this on our behalf.

We do take customer service to a high level here at Abbey Lodge and can understand the frustration you felt on your arrival in December. I can only apologise for all the inconvenience you experienced.

We have contacted Lastminute.com and have made a complaint on how this situation has occurred, and have been told a full refund has been issued to yourself, but by no way any means of any compensation to yourselves.

I look forward to hearing from you in the near future

Steve Williamson

Proprietor Abbey Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2009

I must admit that my room here left a little to be desired. The bed wasn't really that comfortable, the towels were so new they left fluff all over me and the room was very small.

But it WAS good value for money and I think I got the last room in the place. The breakfast was brilliant, and the chap and his mum who run the place were really attentive, really kind, and did their utmost to ensure I (and seemingly everyone) had a good stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britontherails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#45 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#73 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Hotel Blackpool
The Hotel Blackpool
#6 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sandford Hotel
Sandford Hotel
#112 of 911 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Libra
Hotel Libra
#28 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bianca Guest House
Bianca Guest House
#226 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Lodge Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Lodge Blackpool

Property: Abbey Lodge Blackpool
Address: 31 Palatine Road, Blackpool FY1 4BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 911 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Lodge Blackpool 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey Lodge is in the popular area of Palatine Road, Central Blackpool. We are situated at little over 5 minutes walk from the Promenade, Town centre all its busy shops and nightlife..We are also far enough away to guarantee a good, quiet night's sleepA variety of tastefully decorated room sizes are available Kingsize ,Double and Single. All of our bedrooms have private en-suite bathrooms, with toilet & shower. Tea & coffee making facilities in every room. Towels & Toiletries are supplied each day, as required Hairdryers, and an iron & ironing board are always available free of charge within your Room. All bedrooms are equipped with 42 channel Free View television. All bedrooms & bathrooms, tidied & cleaned on a daily basis.We operate based on the belief that our guest's needs are of the utmost importance. We are committed to meeting those needs. As a result, a high percentage of our business is from repeat Custom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abbey Lodge Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing