We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only what you would expect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Metropole Hotel
Ranked #71 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed here earlier this month on a coach tour deal. It must have been a wonderful experience to have been there when it was newly expanded 100 years ago; such grandeur and luxury for it's time was the top of the tree. But time has moved on and left it behind. Look around you at the broad stairway, the richly moulded wall panels in the public rooms and the extensive huge mirrors. To return it to the state it must have been in decades ago would cost a fortune and I would be surprised if Britannia Hotels would be prepared to spend that kind of money; and if they did the prices would go through the roof.
However to get down to our stay, we were met on the coach and room keys distributed competently, Unfortunately some of our group found themselves in really smelly smoking rooms and the efficiency with which they were moved leads one to suspect that this happens a lot. Our room, like the rest of the hotel was fine; faded, run down, threadbare but fine, after all we weren't planing to sit in it our room for four days.
The food served at breakfast and dinner was perfectly adequate, all collected from a buffet so no problems with quantity. Cordon bleu it ain't but unless you are seriously picky you won't go hungry, and with reference to other review comments it was always quite hot, so they must have taken note. The entertainers tried their best, the reception staff were helpful and the waiters got on with the job, but remember that they are probably on the minimum wage and I have never seen what you might call an enveloping aura of joy to be employed by any of the Brittania Hotels I have experienced. So, it did the business, and that is as much as you can expect for the money. And finally, take note of other reviews and don't bring the priceless family jewels or your latest diamond encrusted iPad with you! And looking at the car park coming by car is certainly going to give you more grief than it is worth.

Room Tip: Try moaning long and loud if you don't like what you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ancientwokkadriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. I'm delighted that the location gave you scope to explore Blackpool.

I was delighted to read that your found your room and the Hotel to be clean and tidy and the staff to be helpful and friendly.

I was so pleased to read that like me - you liked to Aulde Worlde charm of the Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,769)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,315 - 2,321 of 3,769 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

booked last minute and stayed here 25th october for 1 night and loved it. after reading the reviews I wasn't expecting very much but the staff were very friendly and helpful when we checked in, we were given the tower suite and it was lovely, we had a four poster bed, little kitchen with microwave, kettle and fridge but the thing I enjoyed most was the spa bath, it was lovely. Admittedly it is old fashioned but that is in keeping with the style of the hotel, if it was modern furniture it wouldn't look right. We went down to breakfast at 8.30 and had big choice of seats and the food choice was excellent, there was fruit, cereal, cooked breakfast and fresh orange juice. I would have loved to stay another night but they were fully booked but already booked for next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SianMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. I'm delighted that the location gave you scope to explore Blackpool.

I was delighted to read that your found your room and the Hotel to be clean and tidy and the staff to be helpful and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year and trust your review will be just as good.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I will never stay here again I complained about the room and the manager was just not interested at all. The room was freezing cold I wanted a family room and got a room with a double bed and two camp beds. I paid for a nice room and that's not what I got.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lwalker28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. Sadly we cannot do anything about charges in other car parks.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed at the Metropole on 25 October 2013. This is the 2nd time. (1st time payed under £50 per room B&B and regarded it as acceptable). I mentioned to my wife it was OK and, unfortunately, she booked it for my 55th birthday for a cheapish night away. Big mistake. It cost over £100 including booking fee and, quite honestly, it was daylight robbery.

We were allocated room 109 which turned out to be an internal room with no window. A short corridor leading into the bedroom did have a window but it was filthy with bird droppings and encrusted dirt. The window looked out into an internal light well which was also polluted with bird droppings and fag ends. So the only view through the grime was of a wall of glazed brick and a frosted window about 15 feet away. If this room existed when the hotel was first built, I cannot believe it was ever intended for guest occupation ... brooms or linen perhaps.

The bathroom was clean, though the frosted window was rather dirty and covered in pigeon feathers on the outside. (Made quite a pretty pattern when the light was turned on).

The double bed was against the wall on one side so the occupant nearest the wall had to crawl across the bed to get in and out ... the room really wasn't big enough for a hotel double room. The TV was just about the smallest, old fashioned portable you can buy. In the absence of a wall bracket it sat on the item of furniture usually used for putting ones case on when unpacking.

The mattress was extremely noisy and so worn that ones hip pressed on the bed base when lying down. To be fair, I am heavy, but my wife is not and her hip pressed so hard on the base she had a numb leg by the morning.

On the up side, there was plenty of hot water and the shower over the bath was good. Being an internal room there was little night time noise, which can be a problem in rooms facing the road. The English breakfast is great for £50 per room per night but lacked choice for a £100 per night room. (My wife found the buffet breakfast to be insufficiently hot ... it was OK for me).

The staff were friendly and helpful ... though they must have to develop a thick skin working in the Metropole.

I love the old hotels but whatever money Britannia are spending ... all they seem to be doing is papering over the cracks, literally.

I cannot recommend a stay, unless the price per room is under £50.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigHaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. Sadly we cannot do anything about charges in other car parks.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

we have just spent weekend in here and the rooms are not too bad paper coming off walls in bathroom but the worst was no shower ,in this day and age you expect a shower in rooms, cleanliness not too bad but as we went upstairs on friday there were some chips spilt on stairs and they were still there on sunday,, but the worse was food breakfast cold and we only had one dinner as it was that bad , i watched a waiter breath on a knife and rub it on his sleeve and every time he passed buffet he took a potato and ate it, not very good fo higene standards so i would not stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gilbertdeak67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. Sadly we cannot do anything about charges in other car parks.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed 1 night here 27/10/13 if we had booked more than 1 night we would have gone & stayed in a B & B as shower glass dirty ,dust on lamb ,bed so bad we didnt get any sleep went down for breakfast at 9.00 am the resturant was full we got a table before we went & helped ourselfs to breakfast (what was left ) we had a table for 4 & our daughters had to use our side of the table has somebodys breakfast dishes left there we also had to go & ask 1 of the 4 staff for our tea & coffee .Then went & complained & was told to fill a form in which i did .
.Not worth the money very unhappy :( (Also you need to pay £3.00 for parking)very bad service no wonder staff walk round with sad faces .

Room Tip: 335 Hotel ok the service needs to improve
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank louise m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. Sadly we cannot do anything about charges in other car parks.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

not worth it rooms in need of make over Bathroom was the best part of hotel very good shower more modern than rest of room. don't think any thing has been done to hotel since butlins days .dinning room was not inviting was like holiday camp . Saw some chips left on first floor still there next day .Will not be going back .

Room Tip: do not look out of windows not clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rottweilersherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. Sadly we cannot do anything about charges in other car parks.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#35 of 73 in Blackpool
1,066 reviews
0.5 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#61 of 73 in Blackpool
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
530 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
4,167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: $46 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing