We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never seen so much filth! Life's too short to stay at place like this!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Metropole Hotel
Ranked #67 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
glasgow
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Never seen so much filth! Life's too short to stay at place like this!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My Mum purchased this as a gift through Groupon to give us a weekend away together. We arrived after a long drive at 9pm.

First demand at reception was for car parking charges, which they didn't have receipts so wrote on a piece of paper, that should have warned us.

We arrived at room 314 and it hadn't been cleaned, dirty mugs, tissues, clothes and a full bin. The sink looked like someone had been using it as a toliet!

We went back to reception to complain and agreed to stay in the room provided they cleaned it. After about an hour we came back to the room to still find it filthy. The seat in the bay window threadbare and full of stains and still had dirty tissues next to the bed and a dirty cloth in the bathroom. They had cleaned the sink but the bath was still filthy and sheets full of stains. Everything in the room was falling apart including the window ledges.

We gave up at this point as it was clear that their level of cleaning was to make a bed and empty a bin. I was seriously scared to touch anything in the room or the whole hotel, the filthy lift tells how good at cleaning they are. We were going to book in somewhere else but found this difficult by now 10pm and it was clear that the staff were uninterested in any complaints that we had, we also had to stay as my husband had a pleasure flight out of Blackpool airport on the Sunday. Our room got the full force of banging music till 3am from the clubs across the road too - so very little sleep.

We didn't eat the free breakfast, I seen the chef's overalls and that was enough to put me off eating anything in the Hotel.

I read the reviews and didn't think it could have been that bad, IT IS EVEN WORSE than the reviews. I've stayed in some ropey places in my time and these look like a palace in comparison to this Hotel.

They should re-name it the 'Grotty Metropole Hostel' as there is no way this is a Hotel, I wouldn't let a dog stay here. On the way up to the room we noticed the window ledges in the corridor - full of pigeon do do that looks like it's been there for years!

Let me repeat - rude staff, filthy hotel, filthy rooms, stained sheets, furniture that belongs in a skip and banging music to keep you awake all night. Why would you want to book in here, life is too short, find somewhere that wants your custom and cleans well - think of your health!

I've attached a photo of the 'clean sheet' put on our bed!

Room Tip: Don't choose 314 if you want a sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    668
    668
    557
    1,218
See reviews for
801
1,553
153
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The 2nd floor room was dirty and smelled of smoke despite being a non smoking room. They cleaned the room but couldn't / wouldn't change the room. We ended up paying for a second hotel room at the Hilton. Our second night we had to return. We didn't sleep as there is no air con and the hotel is alongside the clubs. The windows and carpets were dirty. We didn't want to try the free breakfast having seen one chef walk out of the toilets having not washed his hands! Yeuch! The stay was ended with a lack of luggage storage and a check out of 10am! We were grateful to leave. Awful, awful awful. Read all reviews and don't fall for the impressive hotel facade. It's dirty and run down.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marks_londonmarkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Moreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

After reading the reviews for this hotel I was worried about staying here, I could not be more wrong. Lovely family room, clean and tidy, all the staff were friendly and helpful and I would certainly stay here again. Made to feel very welcome by the reception staff at check in who allowed us to put our bags away safely as we had arrived early.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was delighted to read that your found your room and the Hotel to be clean and tidy and the staff to be helpful and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

well what can I say about this auful place,the only positive remark is that our room was large and airy,the carpet was dirty and the furniture was ancient and cheap,the staff were surley and the food was dire,and they are now charging gueste £3.00 per day for parking what a cheek,they would have to pay me a very large sum of money to stay there again.

Room Tip: just don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

As a Town centre Hotel we believe it is appropriate to charge a very realistic £3 per day car park fee.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

The staff were extremely unhelpful & not at all welcoming. Booked & paid for a sea view, you could just see the sea but I certainly wouldn't call it a sea view. There was only one tiny lift - max 4 persons (the other one was broken - apparently for 3 days). There were quite a few motorised wheelchairs in the hotel and only one of these could into the lift at the time - so it took absolutely ages to get to your floor. The hotel needed a clean, filthy, but our room was passable. The breakfast was help yourself from the Bain maries and the food had obviously been left there for some time, not good or tasty. Certainly wouldn't go back and definitely not worth the extra money for a sea view room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JHNorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

The room you were allocated was most definitely a Sea View.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Knowing this hotel was an old building and with the cost I suspected it could be a bit run down. it was acceptable for one night but don't think I would have stayed 2 nights. Biggest let down was the staff. Receptionist gave the impression that the customers were a real nucience and most unhelpful. The evening meal was a help yourself with only a couple of staff clearing dishes. no drinks available with no warning before going in. Have to say that the food was lovely though. There were more staff during breakfast but took ages to catch a waiter and ask for some tea. That waiters shirt was filthy. Room very basic but spent little time in it. Don't think I will be back. I'd rather just look for a nice b&b. Defiantly wouldn't recommend

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fostmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,060 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#32 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
0.5 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#49 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#35 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Property: Grand Metropole Hotel
Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing