We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic building but tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Metropole Hotel
Ranked #67 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic building but tired”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night , in a single room, £30.00 inc breakfast
The building still shows glimpses of it's former grandeur
A bit like Blackpool it's self
The room was adaquate
The bed was uncomfortable
And the bedding was basic
Only one hard pillow.
However the breakfast was buffet style and very good.
A cheap room in an ideal location.
Bar drinks very cheap too.


  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neil j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was pleased to read that you found the buffet breakfast to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    668
    667
    557
    1,216
See reviews for
801
1,552
153
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This wonderful old worldly Hotel is in a fabulous location with lots of atmosphere, it exudes a quite laid back feeling nevertheless full of character, which I like. The twin room was fantastic value for the money and so clean. Parking my car for £3.00 was superb value. Yes some of the staff were lovely, others rather grumpy, but overall I thought it was great, I do not like guest houses and this is a Hotel and there is a difference! Would I recommend, without question, I would be realistic about value for money and the rate includes breakfast in a large open restaurant with sensational high ceilings. I truly enjoyed my stay and the weather was wonderful...an added bonus. If you want a Hotel with nostalgia, value for money and a feeling of old fashioned grandeur you can not go wrong. I would certainly book again.....without question.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was pleased to read that you found the staff welcoming and your rooms to be a good standard of cleanliness. I was delighted you apprciated teh olde worle charm of eth bilding, its something we try to play to in our refurb programme.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I have today returned from a six day half board break at the Grand Metropole Hotel.
Whilst not cosmetically perfect the staff more than made up in their willingness to help with any problems that I had.
It is perfectly located (being the only hotel actually ON the promenade therefore having the very best sea views)
Within a few yards of of the hotel are all transport links for trams / buses and taxis and across the road from all the nightlife / Tower and most of the other attractions.

Room Tip: Request seaview / inner rooms as they are quieter then the tram / roadside of the the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandaWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was pleased to read that you found the staff accommodating and location appropraite to your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in May 2013.
We had a room overlooking the sea and pier. Room was very clean, comfy, had everything you could possibly need!
Fab location right on the prom, so great if you fancy walking all along the front( which we did! ) or if not, the tram stops just outside the hotel. There are also Lots of places about to eat, drink, shop.
Breakfast was good! Lots of choice and help yourself.
We paid £25 for a double with breakfast and it was an absolute bargain and we had a lovely break!

Room Tip: Sea view room! Just ask at reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was pleased to read that you found the staff welcoming and your rooms to be a good standard of cleanliness.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

I was in this hotel on the 26th April for 2 nights. The place was FILTHY. The lifts smelled of urine and the room was a disgrace. Thick with dust and you could hardly see out the windows for dirt. Brood and snot and ash stuck to them. It was freezing. We slept with our coats on! The good was average but I got sick so don't know if it was that. Since coming home my face has broke out in coldsores with the dirty cups that could not have been washed right. Staff where unhelpful. I asked 4 times for the room to be cleaned and was ignored. I have spoken to the manager to get my money back. This place should be closed down for health and safety as my asthmatic child had to use her inhaler more with the dust.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bjlh2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times & I find it really pleasurable.. The staff are very helpful & polite it is a nice clean hotel & there is a wide variety of food available the evening entertainment is really pleasing as well.. The hotel is situated in a really nice location overlooking the sea. The rooms are very comfortable & clean I love staying at this hotel & my recent stay was very pleasant I will be booking this hotel for another break later this year

Room Tip: if possible try to book a room overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was pleased to read that you found the staff welcoming and your rooms to be a good standard of cleanliness.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Ideal for any one looking for a reasonable place near the town centre. Room was good, staff friendly and food was also good. Had no trouble finding parking as hotel has ample. Have stayed there twice now and will return in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRYAN-ROSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was pleased to read that you found the staff welcoming and your rooms to be a good standard of cleanliness.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,057 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.5 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#48 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#34 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Property: Grand Metropole Hotel
Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing