We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
Stretton Hotel(Blackpool)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Vienna(Blackpool)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Viagra(Blackpool)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
Parisienne Hotel(Blackpool)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Claremont Hotel(Blackpool)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,956)
Filter reviews
3,956 results
Traveler rating
429
704
736
625
1,462
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
429
704
736
625
1,462
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,763 - 2,768 of 3,956 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I booked this hotel for 3nights for myself, my mum & 2 kids. Arrived on frid 5th April, at first impression this hotel looked like a hostel, with all the smokers standing at the entrance. The glass doors were filthy, covered in hand prints! The reception had drunk men staggering about and shouting. On checking in, the staff didnt look particularly happy at their job. On walking along corridor to our room, the smell of stale cigarette smoke would have knocked you out! If it couldnt get any worse, it did, our room also smelled we had frosted glass windows, no outlook, when we did prize the window open, we were looking at pigeon poo and the kitchen extractor pipes. The bunkbeds were swinging from side to side and totally unsafe.

To top it all, this hotel DOES NOT put the heating on until you ask them to, and even then, they 'boost' it for an hour, so after that you are freezing again. The housekeeper gave us extra blankets on the first night.

We did ask to be upgraded even offering to pay extra, but were told there was no other rooms available.

The dining room was filthy with pieces of old food on the floors and tables. The staffs appearance was very dirty, with spillages down their uniforms. The food was very basic with the cheapest quality used.

The deputy manager Karen James was so unhelpful that i informed her of same, she refused to give me her name in order for me to write a complaint letter, but the stupid had a name badge on!lol. I clearly told her that she should never be in her position and also that she shouldnt be dealing with the public as not a people person.

I will be writing to Francis Sheridan the General Manager as i feel that we threw £400 out of the window with this place. It should be shut down!!

Room Tip: There could never be a good room in this hotel
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulagallacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at the Metropole recently for 3 nights, should have been 4 nights. But the mattress was so hard it was like sleeping on a plank of wood my husband spent most of the nights sleeping in his wheelchair as it was more comfortable for him, he has arthritus in his back,we asked at the reception if there were any softer mattresses and were told they were all the same, so by the 3rd day we decided to return home to our comfy bed. My husband is disabled and in a wheelchair, the room was quite a good size and my husband could get around easily, we should have had a disabled room as my husband could'nt get his wheelchair through the bathroom door, tthe room was clean but there was a big damp patch in the top corner of the room, the meals were nice but it was a bit chaotic getting your meals, the hotel really needs updating, I would.nt stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoke_on_trentBarb44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I've stayed at a quite a few Britania Hotels, but this takes the biscuit for in my opinion the worst. On arrival we was treat like inmates being booked into a Prison or similar establishment. Our first room smelt like a kennel. Our second room had a 3/4 bed in I'm 6 foot my wife not much shorter. The bar had closed when we got there for a drink at 10.50pm. The breakfast was like a canteen in a third world with the food cold, stale and inedable, terrible. No one will convince me that this hotel has changed in years. It wants a good shake up with a strong Manager put in post. It's obvious that this hotel is for the young who are there just for a glorious booze up with no concideration to anyone and the staff couldn't give fig...

Room Tip: If thre are any we didn't get one.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coldstreamer258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because we thought it looked grand but the interior needs urgent attention we asked for a non smoking room but got a room that had been used by smokers staff were not very helpfully only one that was very nice was the night porter very polite. Carpets were very dirty we went to the entertainment on the Thursday and the table we sat at was filthy but the floor was covered in what looked like dog hair and the carpet was filthy would not go to this hotel again. Staff defiantly need training in all aspects of cleaning and politeness.

Room Tip: Very dirty defiantly in need of updating
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liz22_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

we booked this hotel at 11am tuesday as we were getting our son from blackpool on the wednesday, we arrived at 2pm as we only live 45 mins away, our son goes to his aunts for respite as he needs 24/7 care so we try to stay over to have a break. Our room was spotless clean we had a wonderful view overlooking the sea. There were complimentary tea coffee shampoo shower gel. We went down to the bar at 8.30pm and watched a good young group doing 50s songs, it was really nice. We went for breakfast the next morning and we were very happy with the choices, you had fruit juices, grapefruit, prunes, yoghurts,cereals, bacon 2 choice of eggs sausage beans tomatoes and toast. The waiter brings you tea or coffee. All in all we had a great night for the cost of £29 for 2 adults. I have been here before and always been happy,

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was pleased to read that you found the staff welcoming and your rooms to be a good standard of cleanliness.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews