We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Remarkable value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Metropole Hotel
Ranked #70 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Remarkable value!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Booked a last minute stay on Easter Sunday just for one night. Criteria was a centrally located hotel with own parking and the Metropole seemed to fit the bill. We thought there was some mistake with the price on the website because it seemed to be incredibly cheap, and included breakfast but on check in we found that it wasn't a mistake - just good value!
Our room was a little tired, also very small but for one night it was clean and had everything we needed. Despite overlooking the street we had a fantastic night's sleep and couldn't really fault it. Breakfast was a little frantic as the Restaurant was very busy but there was plenty of food of good quality.
Yes, the decor needs upgrading, yes it is a little outdated, and there was a smell of smoke in all the corridors but it was fantastic value for money and in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was pleased to read that you found the staff welcoming and your rooms to be a good standard of cleanliness.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    666
    664
    555
    1,199
See reviews for
799
1,540
151
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I have always wanted to stay at this hotel since childhood, I had stayed the night on a hen do at another hotel, and was joined the next day by my husband for us to stay at this hotel, The hotel is so outdated and corridors musky smelling, the room (double) was the smallest I have ever stayed in, and the bathroom even smaller, there was no telephone in the room so had we needed to contact reception we would have had to either walk there or use our mobile!! Breakfast was definately the highlight of the hotel, couldnt fault the food or the service, although there didnt seem enough staff to cope with the number of guests. We have stayed at other britannia hotels and have never been disappointed before, the best thing that could happen to this hotel is for it to be flattened and re-built. I wish now we had booked somewhere else or even stayed at the hotel I had spend the previous night in!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenna1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Spennymoor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 31st march for 1night. 5 adults 2children in 2rooms.

Positives - location, tram stop outside, comfortable bed an warm bedroom...

Negatives:
- Requested low floor easily accessible room for our 80yr old gran who's struggles to get up a couple steps at best... Was given a room on top floor at furthest point possible from reception. Told lift would be nearby, the lift was 2 flights of stairs and approx 75m away! No alternative room available apparently dispute hotel seemingly very quiet and no easier route.
- Didn't request non-smoking rooms to our misfortune, a must do if required or preferred, rooms given absolutely stunk of stale smoke!
- hotel very dated and run down, sub-standard furniture and fittings
- entertainment on evening terrible for anyone with children or under 70yr old.
- no food available after 8pm.. Maybe no surprise to some people but we had to leave hotel for food.
- breakfast on morning (just) ok but disorganised an certainly nothing to write home about.

Overall not good value stay, poor customer service, duty manager sat quiet whilst we complained to receptionist, not Reccomended, consider all the negative reviews.

Paul.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulJH1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Metropole is a very welcoming hotel with a superb location to experience all the best Blackpool has to offer. While the decor is looking a little tired in a few areas, the original charm is very evident and our spa room, which we upgraded to with ease, was excellent. Meals very good considering the numbers being catered for, and the staff were happy to cater for our wishes quickly and courteously. Rachel on Reception in particular deserves all the praise she gets on Trip Advisor; very nice to deal with and eager to please. Onsite parking at £3 per night is definitely a plus and there was ample space on our mid-March stay :-) In response to criticisms on other reviews, I would simply say "You can't please all of the people all of the time", and the English are renowned as a nation of complainers. Credit where credit's due is what I say; the decor could do with a tidy up, is all I can find to comment on in anything but a positive note.

Thank you for a fantastic time; we definitely plan a return visit :O)

Room Tip: Opt for a sea view and upgrade to a spa room :O)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBizness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was pleased to read that you found the staff welcoming and your rooms to be a good standard of cleanliness.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Booked in on 31/03/13 with intention of seeing a show in Blackpool.
On arrival the receptionist was pleasant, if a little preoccupied with some issue or other and informed me of the £2 surcharge for using a card. This always gives the impression that money is tight and that the business needs to gouge every penny it can, can not think of any other large hotel chain that does this.
The room initially looked ok but noticed no towels in the bathroom, obtained these from reception. The room was decorated in an "old" way, with mis-matched and "Tired" furniture.
We went out for the day, and returned to prepare for our show. Whilst moving around the room we noticed more and more things, dirty bathroom, debris underneath furniture, assorted stains on carpet, upholstery, bed, and a general "grubbyness" to the room.
We returned late at night following the show, and decided to check out and drive home rather than stay as we really did not spoil our night.
The whole air of the place was that the staff were battling on, but probably losing.
Left the hotel with a sort of sadness, it is clear that this was once a splendid establishment, possibly the finest in the resort? but it has been allowed to decay for decades. Such a sad waste.
Will check twice before considering staying at another Britannia Hotel Group establishment in the future if this is what they consider to be an acceptable standard. They should be ashamed to take peoples money.

Room Tip: Ask to see room before paying.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vic h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Never ever again! Booked this hotel as a last minute break for Easter. On arrival we met miss no personality at reception. She gave us our key and explained how to get to our room. Walking through the hallway you can't help but notice the damp musty smell. Our room was downstairs and in the corridor leading to our room were stale chips and kebab meat obviously lying from previous night. When we got into our room first impressions were ok, then we actually noticed how dirty the place was. Piles of cornflakes under the chairs in the lounge area. Stained couch that we covered with spare blanket from bedroom so we could sit on it. Dust and crumbs everywhere. Dinner on the first night was fine, but heading down for breakfast the next morning was a riot!!! No tables cleared so we cleared our own, very understaffed!! Nobody seamed to be in charge to show any kind of order. People standing waiting to be seated and all the staff could do was moan and pull faces. Never met such unpleasant staff in my life!!! Toilets in main hallway were a total no go for me, stale urine smell was overpowering. I'd rather use an outside public loo as I'm sure it would be cleaner. We have stayed at many hotels, b&b's etc over the years and this has to be the worst by far! As my son would say "DON'T STAY, RUN AWAY!"

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lennon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed here in the run up to the Easter Holidays in room 170, the room itself was clean but very cold and soon realised that heating was on a timer, we had a wonderful sea view through filthy windows and as we had a balcony(which we could'nt access) it was just as well as it was covered in birds excrement so I used to close the curtains so we did'nt have to look at it! there was a disgusting smell in the bathroom of raw sewage and the fittings all needed renewing!

The first morning at breakfast in the Promenade Restaurant we were faced with what looked like a bomb had dropped!!! none of the tables were being cleared and the staff were not being supervised and no one to show us to a table, after about 10mins we took it upon ourselves to clear a table putting dirty dishes onto another already cluttered one, we always carry hand gel so used this with a clean serviette to clean table then sought out our own cutlery,china etc to set table ourselves, (this happened every morning on our 4 night stay) when we were at the self service area dishing up our food I noticed the floors were filthy, so at the end of our meal I did a closer inspection of the overall cleanliness of the entire room and found that most of the chairs were covered in congealed food and debris as was the radiators,skirtings, windowsills,ledges and the hard floor and walls by the service areas were appalling!!!

I reported my findings to the receptionist who duly wrote down my complaint and promised it would be reported, I told her that I would expect a marked improvement at the least by the next day.------ Next day!!! was faced with the same filth nothing had been done, so back to reception and asked to speak to the Manager who was told was not available but would inform duty manager----- Head Housekeeper ( who was a very pleasant lady) introduced herself as I now revealed to her my occupation which is an NVQ assessor and Internal Verifier for City& Guilds in Hospitality Cleaning and Housekeeping explained my findings and she informed me she was well aware how dirty the restaurant was and although this area was not in her scheme of work or rosta would take it upon herself to get a team together and clean it that day, I might also add that I told her that the Department of Health would be informed if it was not carried out!!

True to her word this lovely lady carried out the clean to this area that afternoon as we witnessed on our return from our day out so Well Done!!! to the Housekeeper(so sorry did not get her name)

The rest of the staff would benefit from a good training programme on Customer communication Skills, Health and Hygienne courses(eg cleaning tables with cloth wrung out in old teapot ughhhh) I dont know how any of customers or staff have not contracted norovirus or samonella, It seems to me that a lot of the staff feel very unhappy in their work including the entertainment team who never smiled or acknowledged anyone when not performing, The improvements must come from the top management to instill in their staff a happy, secure and safe environment and then maybe there would be a lot more positive reviews than negative ones then maybe we would have had a much more enjoyable holiday!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chucksyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,026 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#32 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.5 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#47 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#37 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Property: Grand Metropole Hotel
Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing