We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Deals and No Problems” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Metropole Hotel
Ranked #69 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Deals and No Problems”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel a number of times when we are looking for a low cost stay in Blackpool which represents great value for money. If you are looking for luxury, then this is not for you but if you are looking for a decent hotel with good food at an incredible price, then stay here. We paid £32.50 for 3 course dinner with wine, bed and breakfast per head, and had a great weekend in Blackpool with our young adult family.
The location couldn't be better, just outside North Pier entrance and it is really convenient for Tower, Golden Mile, shops, pubs and restaurants.
The hotel is very traditional in appearence and decor bit I quite like that as it gives a flavour of what Blackpool hotels were like many years ago, although the hotel is modern in terms of the service it offers. It also has a secure car park which you can get into unlike some others who advertise car park and you've no chance of finding a space.
We have used Grand Metropole several times and will continue to do so in the future.

Room Tip: If you are not worried about a view, the lower ground rooms are larger, convenient for restaurant, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkWW57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was delighted to read that your found the whole experience a pleasant one.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    663
    660
    552
    1,168
See reviews for
783
1,519
151
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Well where to start, we arrived at the hotel for the very first time on 10/03/2013 and we were very disappointed with the customer service that we were provided with by the receptionist....no hello or anything she was very rude upon arrival. We checked in as normal to be told the room wasnt ready until 3pm (fair enough) arrived back at 3pm to be told "room isnt ready we havent been told anything" whats that all about???? anyway we got the room key in the end to be greeted with a disgusting room with dirty pigeon poop all over the window and god awful noises outside!.....where was the sea view room we paid for and requested via phone to central reservations??? I literally went to reception to complain to be told the reservations team were based in MANCHESTER. My question is why based in Manchester if hotel is in blackpool...and we paid and we're promised a seaview room. Anyway got the room in the end after arguing at reception. the hotel would have been a really nice place if they redecorated the rooms alittle they we're very run down with outdated furniture. Hotel is ok for the price but it is very run down with ill mannered reception staff.

Room Tip: room 171 had boiler banging all night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spike1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review.

We have tried to contact you directly to investigate your comments, but have been unsuccessful in receiving a response. If you would like us to investigate your comments further, please contact me directly, on francis.sheridan@britanniahotels.com .

We are sorry some areas of your stay did not meet your expectations and hope this does not deter you from staying with Britannia Hotels in the future. Feedback is important to us as we use it to further improve our standards and service.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments.

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

But please read the whole review! On the downside it cannot be denied that the Grand Metropole is in serious need of a lot of renovation and refurbishment. It is a case of faded glory - some of the architecture is fabulous but the level of wear and tear ... the fact that the maintenance man (all one of him) wears a spotless uniform says a lot. Similarly the Hotel management must have had a bit of a set-to with the local window cleaner who obviously withdrew his services quite some time ago! The aforementioned management may well have a contract with the local Asda as the tomatoes and beans at brekky are obviously Smartprice efforts (other own brand value supermarket products are available). However, we paid £99 for two of us (on a KGB voucher). For that we got two nights dinner, bed and breakfast with entertainment both nights and a bottle of half decent wine thrown in. The food wasn't cordon bleu but acceptable if basic (hot enough and plentiful, self service by the way). I thought there was a fair choice at breakfast and vegetarian option available (although nothing was labelled). The room was again basic but clean and comfortable and warm, lots of hot water for a relaxing bath. Staff were courteous without being over-welcoming to be honest but they did their job. Entertainment was good and we admired the fact that they put as much effort into their act in a two thirds empty room (owing to the time of year) than they would in front of a full house. Overall, good value for money, a good atmosphere in the hotel, excellent location (half a mile from the Tower) and, the bottom line, we enjoyed ourselves despite the faults and, that is the whole idea of a weekend away at a hotel such as this, it's a question of value for money. Don't get your expectations too high and remember that Blackpool didn't enter the Capital of Culture race - so you know what to expect!

Room Tip: Might be worth paying for an upgrade so that your room has a sea view otherwise you will get a fair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was delighted to read that your found the whole experience a pleasant one.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

At the end of your stay,ask yourself one question.Have I had value for money? If you answer no then you are not a seasoned hotel user and live in cloud cuckoo land. I would definitely use this hotel again,just remember you get what you pay for enjoy your stay and don't go round nit picking.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillipsmithsenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was delighted to read that your found the whole experience a pleasant one.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Just back from a four night break at Metropole Hotel ,Found hotel good value for the price we paid Breakfast good choice but not very hot,Room 147 on first floor a longish walk from the rest of hotel but quite clean and comfortable,Leak in bathroom a bit off putting to say the least,Tram track about 6 foot away but wth the new trams not a problem.Floor show quite good if short,bingo supposed to be after but in the end about 45 min after.Tram stop 100 yards from hotel,Good service runs on time .Over all would go back again.

Room Tip: rooms on the side near trams .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bwalkden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was delighted to read that your found the whole experience a pleasant one.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in in my life. The lobby stinks of mould and is freezing cold. The bar staff need a personality transplant. The dining room staff were pleasant enough. I found the place depressing and now need another holiday to cheer myself up. Avoid it like the plague.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stellaWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review.

We have tried to contact you directly to investigate your comments, but have been unsuccessful in receiving a response. If you would like us to investigate your comments further, please contact me directly, on francis.sheridan@britanniahotels.com .

We are sorry some areas of your stay did not meet your expectations and hope this does not deter you from staying with Britannia Hotels in the future. Feedback is important to us as we use it to further improve our standards and service.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments.

Francis Sheridan.

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

My partner and I booked a mon to fri stay in a sea-view room. We booked by telephone. Saw the hotel on-line. Read the first few reviews, should have read them all!! What a sad, tired excuse of a hotel! From entering the foyer a permeating smell of greasy chip-fat lingered throughout! From ground floor to third floor, where our sea-view room was, even the lifts, this smell was there! The decor was dated and tired, as were some of the staff! I think a contest was being held that week for the dirtiest uniform wearer! Hygiene non-existent, I went shopping for wet-wipes and detergent as soon as I could. Cups and cutlery had crustings of food on them, ughh! I felt sick each meal time. I shopped for food and snacks as I couldn't eat in that grimy excuse of a restaurant! Enter this sad dilapidated, crumbling mess of a place at your own risk!!

Room Tip: Choose sea view, pay a fortune for grubby surroundings and grubby staff, and a wonderful chip-fat pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harrison-Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review.

We have tried to contact you directly to investigate your comments, but have been unsuccessful in receiving a response. If you would like us to investigate your comments further, please contact me directly, on francis.sheridan@britanniahotels.com .

We are sorry some areas of your stay did not meet your expectations and hope this does not deter you from staying with Britannia Hotels in the future. Feedback is important to us as we use it to further improve our standards and service.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments.

Francis Sheridan.

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#34 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.6 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#46 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#37 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Property: Grand Metropole Hotel
Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, LateRooms, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing