We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tinsel and turkey weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Metropole Hotel
Ranked #67 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“tinsel and turkey weekend”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

A nice break with national holidays for the tinsel and turkey weekend 23-25thHo November

ROOM
Room was big with a nice jacuzzi bath.

FOOD
Restaurant serving good food , nice full english breakfast and it was eat all you want, choice in fish or pie with chips or mash and veg for tea and lots of cake for after, and on last night we had a turkey dinner :) crackers and party hats on the table, proper got you in the christmas spirit :)

STAFF
All staff very pleasant . The girls on reception was very helpfull, had booked rooms next to each other with national holidays but upon arrival our rooms was on compleatly different floors with in five minutes the receptionist had changed our rooms for us.

ENTERTAINMENT
both nights we stayed at the hotel they had good entertainment, bingo, then a quiz.. then the main show fantastic vocalists on the rock and roll night and same for the christmas show followed by another lot of bingo. 99p bar on selected drinks so that was a bonus but saying that i drank lots of rum and baileys and that wasnt on the list. Could have done with the show lasting a bit longer as come 10pm it was over and done with, but saying that there was bars and clubs across the road from the hotel to go to.

LOCATION
The hotel is in a fab location smack next to the beach, shops and the tower, PUBS/CLUBS and a short walk to the pleasure beach (this was closed when we went tho )

OVERALL EXPERIENCE
lovely hotel good value for money, met some amazing friends in the three days who i hope to stay in contact with. Really enjoyed the break.
Thanks to all the staff at the hotel and especially to the chef for some yummy food.
were booking to come again for my birthday in january :)

Room Tip: Pay that bit extra and get a sea view room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahThackery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was delighted to read that your found your room and the Hotel to be clean and tidy and the staff to be helpful and friendly. The entertainment is being looked at in terms of how long it goes on for.

I was pleased to read that after teh initial lack of twowels they were delivered forthwith.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    668
    667
    557
    1,216
See reviews for
801
1,552
153
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 night weekend break. After reading the reviews on here I was really nervous of what to expect.
Our room was ok. It was clean well apart from not being hoovered. We had a view of the tower , room 113, it was very warm and quiet.
The food was ok although there could have been more choice as there were only 2 meal choices at night time. The breakfast was nice too.
We didn't stay in for the evening entertainment so can't comment.
The reception staff are not very enthusiastic and will help but you have to ask and ask and ask .... The staff in the dining room were very busy and tried their best.
The entrance to the hotel does let the hotel down and it's the place where everyone stands to smoke so is a bit if a pain trying to get threw the crowd to get in and out if the hotel.
Overall it was ok for the price, although we did book for the Savoy but got a call the day before we went and told we had been moved . Oh we are in our 30's and I think we were one of the youngest in there !!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was delighted to read that your found your room and the Hotel to be clean and tidy and the staff to be helpful and friendly. The hoovering of your room and teh presence of smokers will be dealt with.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2012

we booked this hotel for a weekend break for 6 on the tinsel and turkey weekend.we had a wonderful time. the hotel location could not have been better. we had three double rooms on the ground floor which were spotless.only downfall on a personl note, could have done with darker or blackout curtins. the meals were very nice, there was entertainment on both nights which catered for all in our party. all the staff that we met were very frindley.all in all it was a good weekend break, we will hopefuly be back next year.thanks for everything

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjs_7577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was delighted to read that your found your room and the Hotel to be clean and tidy and the staff to be helpful and friendly. The curtains in teh room you stayed will be changed for darker curtains.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Paid 270.00 for two, for two nights 19th october 2012.
Building work on outside.
inside quite filthy
The worse being the actual entrance which is like a cafe?? I have never seen such filthy windows in my whole life.
They must have never been cleaned since the day they were installed.
receptionist thinks she is works at the Ritz, snotty but as common as muck
When I asked where the towels were, this was at 5pm and we had been travelling all day, so obviously I wanted a shower, She looked at me in disgust like I should know that they were still in the laundry and would be in the room later.
The room was about the same size as a broom cupboard, bed 4ft, no bath, just shower, with no shower mats, nothing
Cold room with delightful view to the sea front... which we couldn't see unless we opened the window... as the window was yet again filthy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grantstar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review.

We have tried to contact you directly to investigate your comments, but have been unsuccessful in receiving a response. If you would like us to investigate your comments further, please contact me directly, on francis.sheridan@britanniahotels.com .

We are sorry some areas of your stay did not meet your expectations and hope this does not deter you from staying with Britannia Hotels in the future. Feedback is important to us as we use it to further improve our standards and service.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments.

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

a nice break with national holidays. room was good, jacuzzi bath was a bonus! food and service good for a 2* HOTEL. Some of the public areas could do with more attention i.e. corridor outside room wasn't cleaned for 2 days after someone had obviously been unwell!!
Entertainment was limited unless you like bingo!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeymManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was delighted to read that your found your room and the Hotel to be clean and tidy and the staff to be helpful and friendly. The inattention with the corridoor has been dealt with.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Booked this as a trat for my parents, we were staying at a cottage near by. They had stayed before, no room at the inn when they arrived and were told as they hadn't booked direct they would have to switch rooms mid way through there stay. An alternative hotel was offered 2 mile away which made meeting up a nightmare. Never again...

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmandaC1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review.

We have tried to contact you directly to investigate your comments, but have been unsuccessful in receiving a response. If you would like us to investigate your comments further, please contact me directly, on francis.sheridan@britanniahotels.com .

We are sorry some areas of your stay did not meet your expectations and hope this does not deter you from staying with Britannia Hotels in the future. Feedback is important to us as we use it to further improve our standards and service.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments.

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Early November midweek may not be the nicest time to visit Blackpool. Although the weather was as you would expect one of the unexpected highlights was the Grand Metropole.
We found parking and finding the hotel no problem at all. Great location on the sea front and close to where we wanted to get to. Reception was friendly and efficient and we were impressed at the old style grandeur of the hotel. The room was basic but spacious and clean. Bed comfortable and a great price. Breakfast was good and should we return again to Blackpool I would certainly hope there would be space for us again at the Grand Metropole.
Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was delighted to read that your found your room and the Hotel to be clean and tidy and the staff to be helpful and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,057 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
0.5 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#48 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#34 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Property: Grand Metropole Hotel
Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing