We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Metropole Hotel
Ranked #71 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I have just returned from a two night break at the Grand Metropole. Only paid £70 for two nights including dinner, breakfast and wine oh and of course a room !
Having read the reviews on here I turned up at the hotel with some trepidation but was pleasantly surprised. The girl on the desk, whilst extremely busy was polite, helpful and provided service with a smile.
The room, whilst not massive was more than adequate for my needs and the bathroom was about as big as the bedroom. A little on the noisy side given that I was street facing but nothing that a pair of earplugs didn't deal with.
The food was somewhat surprisingly good. Although there was not a huge choice, it was hot and tasty. Breakfast allows you to fill up for the day. I do wish hotels would't use the cheap sausages though, quite quite vile !
The free bottle of wine was a rather fruity little number and whilst it wouldn't win any awards given that it was complimentary it was a decent bottle.
The weekday customers seem to people that are in Blackpool on coach trips and whilst the hotel is not quite gods waiting room, it's certainly sharing the same postcode. Ah well at least they are all tucked up in bed by 9pm.
My advice for getting the best price for a package is to use the Britannia Hotels website. They offer some great discounts.
So, thanks to all the staff for making my stay enjoyable. Next stop, Britannia Manchester Airport!

Room Tip: Use the Britannia Hotels Website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yorkshire1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was delighted to read that your found the dining experience a pleasant one, and that you found teh Hotel to be clean.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,764)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,005 - 3,011 of 3,764 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2012

What a depressing hotel. On arrival the receptionist had the personality of an ant. There was no eye contact, no smile or please and thank you. She was sullen and miserable and a poor indicator of what was to come! We paid extra for a seaview which was lovely, the room was slightly dated and smelled of stale tobacco as did the corridors. There was an ashtray in the room for some bizarre reason! The beds looked nice until you lay on them and it was clear to see that the matresses had been there since the hotel opened in 1785! In the bar at night we ordered a bottle of Italian red wine which was awful and undrinkable. On inspection of the label the wine stated that it was actually British. We returned it to the bar and the bar lady was un-helpful and said ''what do you want me to do about it''. My husband said to her that it was false advertising and he would report the hotel to Trading Standards if nothing was done about it. She said we had drank a glass so she would take £4 off the price, take the wine back and give us 2 other drinks of our choice. We chose 2 other drinks which exceeded the price of the wine and had to add more money to it! There was no attempt to satisfy the customer and we were dissapointed with the service. The food at breakfast was again awful. It was piled up high, the bacon appeared to be deep fried, the toast was cold and the service was non-descript. The dining room was dirty, there was food on the floor and stuck to the base of the table. You get what you pay for and this was cheap rubbish. You expect it to be better when the word ''grand'' is used. Will not return!

Room Tip: Don't! or pay extra for a seaview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiona v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for posting a review.

I'm sorry you had an issue with your booking and would very much like to discuss it with you.

Could you contact me on francis.sheridan@britanniahotels.com

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Rather tired place that is well past it's prime, although the staff try hard to make your stay bearable, it remains an uphill battle. Parking is extremely limited and to park elsewhere means a long walk or bus-ride of about a mile. Even disabled parking is far away.

Room Tip: Try an alternative hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rooster_España
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for posting a review.

I'm sorry you had an issue with your booking and would very much like to discuss it with you.

Could you contact me on francis.sheridan@britanniahotels.com

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

My husband and i booked an over night stay at the Grand Metropole Backpool for our Wedding Aniversary on sunday 20th May. We have stayed at the Norbreck Caste Hotel Blackpool a few times and also stayed at the Grand Burstin Hotel Folkestone, all Britania Hotels, weve had very good breaks at these Hotels and 1 bad experience at the Norbreck, but decided to stay at the Grand Metropole for a change, and we were thrilled with our mini break, The hotel room we were allocated was excellent and had everything we wanted and needed for our stay, the staff from the receptionist to the waiting staff were helpful and pleasent and made us feel extremely welcome, nothing was too much trouble for them.We ate in the hotel restaurant on the sunday evening and had a superb 3 course meal which was very reasonably priced and was worth a lot more than we actually paid, Breakfast was pretty standard self service, a wide choice of cereal to full english, I would like to thank the Grand Metropole for a fabulous short break, this hotel for me ticks all the boxes. This Hotel is 3 star with a 5 star experience for a 1 star price, we will deffinately be staying at the Grand Metropole again.

Room Tip: We asked for a sea view room and because we are smokers requested a smoking room too we got a seavie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denjax_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was delighted to read that you found the facilities and service be of a good standard and that the food was to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We recently stayed for a weekend and had a fantastic time. We arrived on the friday and the room we were given was spacious and very clean including the en suite bathroom. We had booked bed, breakfast and evening meal and we enjoyed every meal, were we were given ample choices.
We were made to feel very welcome by the friendly staff and are looking forward to our next stay (very soon I hope).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was delighted to read that you found the facilities and service be of a good standard and that the food was to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

After booking this hotel as a late deal and a short trip away for the weekend, i must say the prices you pay you would have expected a lot more. we wasnt allowed to check in until 3pm, when we finally did check in the reception staff which served us was rude and impolite looked as though she couldnt of cared less through the key and room card onto the desk and that was that we had no idea how the bed n breakfast worked and she was so umprofessional.
On my booking i had requested a seaview, which im aware is only avalaible upon avaliability and a non smoking room however when we went to our room it was shocking, room stunk of smoke and dirty ash, the room was extremely tiny , windows looked like they hadnt been cleaned for months the bed was creaky and the sheets were dirty. we went back down to reception and she changed our room straight away, we got a non smoking sea view room the size again was really small however the view made up for it .the hotel is in a nice location and views can be nice, however we both felt that the hotel was not for us but for the older generation who i found rather rude and ignorant.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kerry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for posting a review.

I'm sorry you had an issue with your booking and would very much like to discuss it with you.

Could you contact me on francis.sheridan@britanniahotels.com

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

My wife & myself are regular visitors to 'The Las Vegas of the North' - we have stayed at numerous hotels and, in truth, had previously avoided The Grand Metropole because of the volume of negative reviews on this site.
Having now 'taken the plunge', we thought it would be helpful to give a more objective, unbiased opinion of the hotel.
As many will be aware, the hotel offers a fantastic sea-side of the promenade location - cross the road and you're in the heart of the town's bar and restaurant area, or seconds away from tram and bus stops should Fleetwood market or The Pleasure Beach be more to your liking.
The hotel is a very impressive, historic building - check-in was a smooth transaction and the sea-facing, third floor room was far bigger than we had expected. The room was spotless and had a generous-sized bathroom complete with a spa bath.
The restaurant easily accommodates all diners, with all staff working as a team to ensure guests are looked after far better than many restaurants, let alone hotel dining rooms.
Bar staff are polite and friendly, with drinks very reasonably priced.
The large lounge area offers a large number of comfortable seating areas and was most relaxing before we ventured out.
A very minor issue is the car-parking, this is provided at £3 per night but appeared to be rather limited - maybe, the option of a 'guaranteed' space at the time of booking would help to avoid subsequent disappointment and frustration which is bound to cloud many an on-line review.
On a final note, we completed an in-house feedback card and were very impressed that the hotel's manager, Francis Sheridan, not only read the feedback but also took the time to write a personal email of thanks (all before we had arrived home!).

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Gareth and Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Mel in particular was delighted with your feedback.

I was delighted to read that your found the dining experience a pleasant one.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#35 of 73 in Blackpool
1,061 reviews
0.5 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#61 of 73 in Blackpool
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
530 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: $48 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing