We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mini break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Metropole Hotel
Ranked #71 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed July 30, 2011

this was our 2nd stay at the metropole.1st time a lovely room with bedroom dressing room and jaquzzi bathroom.2nd time given large family room with jaquzzi bathroom it was fine for the money we paid. but sadly frosted glass windows overlooking the middle of the hotel where all the pidgeons slept and woke you up early.if you like a lie in pay extra for a sea view overall very good.great buffet breakfast and dinner.entertainment gets a bit boring same thing everynight.good value for what you pay and the only hotel on the prom. mr +mrs nelson Bedlington northumberland (seniors)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cat-nel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francis_sheridan, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2011

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,721)
There are newer reviews for Grand Metropole Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,296 - 3,302 of 3,721 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2011

Following a very enjoyable Tinsel & Turkey break at the Norbreck Castle last November, the challenge this time was to see if sister hotel, the Metropole would offer equal standards of hospitality. And believe or not dear reader -it did!
I have stopped worrying about write ups such as "worst hotel in the world" when interspersed with others saying what a good time the writers had.
The Metropole did not dissappoint. From booking in, to walking out, our two day break was a succession of pleasurable experiences which left us both determined to return again as soon as possible.
The room had a side on sea view and extensive view north along the promenade and tram lines. Scrupulously clean, with comfortable twin beds, crisp white sheets and duvet covers, plus luxury soft towels and an indulgent spa bath, together with a bracing power shower. What else do you need? Not forgetting the 10 channel tv and tea/coffee facilies for at least 3 brews each.
Self service meals in the Edwardian splendour of the restaurant were hot, tasty and with a choice of three menus for dinner and even more for breakfast. Dining room staff could maybe have been a bit quicker in clearing up and a wine service would not go amiss, instead of a 50 yard hike to the bar to invest nearly £11 in a bottle of fairly indifferant house red. But heh, that really was my only moan.
Entertainment is provided each evening in the cabaret bar, consisting of a short bingo session, a 10 question quiz and a threequarter hour musical cabaret spot. All very entertaining and a perfect excuse to sink a couple of sherberts to pass the time.
So that was it really. The town centre location left no excuse not to take a walk around the town centre, and happy hour lagers in the consevatory bar at £2 each afternoon on our return made a very happy chappy. No need to use the car from arrival to departure, so it stayed where I left it on the free car park throughout the stay. To top it all the weather was absolutely superb throughout and we have nothing but happy memories of a very enjoyable and relaxing short break. And at a cuuple of pounds under a ton, what else could anyone ask for?

Room Tip: Book early and ask nicely! You don't get anything if you don't try.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ducko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francis_sheridan, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2011

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

The Metropole is a Britannia hotel so this usually means quality and value,the Metroploe is no exception! The buffet breakfast and dinners give you a great selection so something for everyone.The hotel is a fantastic place to stay ,location is superb ,right next to the north pier,the only hotel actually on the sea front.Offering entertainment at night,so if the weather is a bit iffy you can stay in,with the bar prices being reasonable.It was an old Butlins hotel so still has the splendor with its original mouldings and decor but with a modern twist.The rooms are great,a couple offering superb disabled facilties and ramps ext making wheelchairs easy to get around.

Room Tip: Book a sea view if poss ,you are away from the main road
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8haworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francis_sheridan, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2011

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

excellent all round, food, staff, room, location, entertainment all excellent. Only downside not much parking on site.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francis_sheridan, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2011

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

having been misled that norbreck castle was in the town we transfered to the far superior sister hotel metropole .
staff were exceptional especially jenny at breakfast lovely lady . the receptionist left a lot to be desired tho and reading other reviews this comment is reccurring in many reviews .
she was uninterrested robotic and downright miserable .
our room was clean , well maintained and sizeable .
breakfast was an awesum experience and the staff were helpful and efficient cant wait to visit again

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nrgize77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francis_sheridan, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2011

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

we stayed at the motropole taking advantage of a special offer on a flyer. we had been there previously with coach companies so had an idea what it was like. we went on the train, it is handy walking distance from the station to the hotel. the room was clean and well equipped. the food presented attractively and of a decent variety. the entertainment could not be faulted. all in all, A plus.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank art_grundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francis_sheridan, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2011

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Having just spent a few nights at the Grand Metropole Hotel, I was happy with the experience. The hotel is to a comfortable standard, the staff very pleasant and the food perfectly OK. As with any hotel, you can always find things that you wish were different, but tor the money it charges, the hotel provides excellent value for money. Good food, good location and clean rooms. For those looking for fine dining and luxury, remember you can't get 5 star facilities at these prices!

Room Tip: Book online at the Britannia website. 3 or 4 night DBB packages are excellent value.
Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
Thank SunHunterXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the delights of the Jacuzzi.


We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#34 of 73 in Blackpool
1,038 reviews
0.5 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#59 of 73 in Blackpool
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
517 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: $54 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing