We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely loved this, don't be put off”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Metropole Hotel
Ranked #67 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved this, don't be put off”
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Before I went to this hotel I read the review on Tripadvisor and was really put off. I think someone should go from your company to check this hotel out, becuase the majority of people who post on here are habitual complainers. We spoke to one lady while waiting to check in and was complaining that she had left a 42" TV at home and all she had here was a small screen TV.This particular lady goes frequently to this hotel!! This hotel is 2 star, and yet people expect a 5 star establishment, if you want that then go to a 5 star. We have been there for a week, paid £99 for the week and for that we got, a sea view room, clean bedding, room and bathroom, afternoon tea which consisted of sandwich, salad, chrisps, pot of tea and scone with jam each! buffet breakfast which was NOT cold and was plentiful, buffet evening meal which was filling, varied and HOT. The staff in the hotel from reception (especialy Rachel), bar staff and restaurant were helpful, and from the way they were welcomed there are a lot of people who go back time after time. Oh, and I forgot we got a bottle of wine to! Now this was a 2* hotel. I have been in 5* hotels and also Premier holidays, but I could not complain about this holiday, and to top it all the weather was lovely. Entertainment each night was good and on the whole a week enjoyed for all of us. So take it from someone who was put off going on his holiday, DON'T BELIEVE all you read on this website, be like me and give it a try you will be pleasantly surprised. Yes, it is an old hotel, but it still wearing well, and lots of people return two and three times a year, that says it all. We will certainly be back. And for you who moan, next time go 5 star and pay three times as much as you pay at the Metropole and you may, or may not, get a different service.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trish110711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    668
    668
    557
    1,218
See reviews for
801
1,553
153
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Driffield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

arrived friday in July for 5 nights B/B + Evening meal. Room ready, large en-suite room overlooking sea. Hotel is next to North Pier in Blackpool. Lots of hen and stag parties in town (none in hotel), Good fun!!! Happy hour from 4pm to 7pm ( I think) £2 a pint for beer and lager. entertainment at night plus bingo. Meals, I enjoyed them, all plenty of choice. All staff were helpfull and friendly. Car park free (first come). We came on 5 night offer, cost £100 each. Real value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bargainhunter60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hul
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

I went on a 3 night package which cost £90, it included a buffet brekfast and buffet evening meal, the food was fine, I would suggest to the hotel to provide better quality tea and coffee.
the room was of a good standard, but the curtains need to be thicker as they dont really block out the street lights, if you want a more quieter stay, then opt for the seaview rooms.
The lobby and dining hall are beautiful, and the staff are great.
Its good to see Britannia hotels are not all grotty.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leedel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2011

From start to finish our time at this hotel was most enjoyable the staff were courteous and friendly and always willing to help. There was an excellent choice of menu and the food was well presented and great value for money. Although some renovations would improve the decor of the hotel it did not take away from the first class effort and welcome we recievd from all hotel staff. We're already looking into booking this hotel again in september for a break prompted by the wonderful time we had here in June/July.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazzamalazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aldershot
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Why didnt we listen to the other reviews , instead we booked the superior package, not expecting the very below par experience that we received. The breakfast and dinner included in our package was terrible. The first time in over 40 years of travelling all over the world have we ever had such an unprofesional encounter, causing us to leave early.I would advise anyone travelling to Blackpool to find alternative accomodation.

Room Tip: go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AldershotDolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor.

I'm sorry you had these issues at the hotel this week-end.

Could you drop me a line on francis.sheridan@britanniahotels.co.uk and I am sure we can come to a resolution on this.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

My wife and I stayed here from 8th - 11th July and had an absolute ball. The hotel is a bit dated but the rooms are spotless and the service fantastic only downside was the 5pm dinner time but you can get it changed if you want. We will definately return!

Room Tip: room 355 top floor great sea view and deathly quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sblairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2011

them who say they had a great week end must be staff what a load of crap
we stayed on lower ground well noise from kichen slaming doors all hours bad security
we got woke at 3 am a lad nocking on door a lad said let me in no where to stay,
the hotel cannot find him they want to go to spec savers 3am you do notice a lad walking around.on cam
also no phone sgnals
we was moved from 1 floor over looking nelly deans the crap noise started at 4 pm over taking the tv and window was shut
all the manager can offer is one night bb this is rubbish want more for what we went though that week
we are disabled my wife went to the bar the barman did not take notice of her a man got from is table he served him then left my wife waiting we left the bar we dident go back in again
iam getting in touch with grand ceo on how this hotel is run

Room Tip: get a room away from nelly neans
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leedsyorks11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review.

We have tried to contact you directly to investigate your comments, but have been unsuccessful in receiving a response. If you would like us to investigate your comments further, please contact me directly, on francis.sheridan@britanniahotels.com .

We are sorry some areas of your stay did not meet your expectations and hope this does not deter you from staying with Britannia Hotels in the future. Feedback is important to us as we use it to further improve our standards and service.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments.

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,058 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#32 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
0.5 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#49 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#35 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Property: Grand Metropole Hotel
Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing