We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not reccomend”
Review of Shepperton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shepperton Hotel
Ranked #576 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Room was unclean, there was hair in the bed which was not my own and quite a lot of dust. The shower was very slow and very cold. It was very far out from anything and from the window all we could see was rubbish accross the way. The bed was uncomfy and not attached to the headboard properly so very noisy.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ljr12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 82 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

When we arrived, after waiting what seemed to be rather a long time to be let in, there was a strange smell in the entrance hall. The young lady who let us in was friendly enough, but struggled to work out the balance of what we had to pay. We had paid for 1 night out of 3 and she was unable to figure out that the balance owing was simply twice that amount.
The room was a major disappointment. Cheap, flat-pack furniture that was chipped and falling apart, dirty window, a full-sized kettle that was impossible to fill from the small sink in the bedroom, mess on the carpet from a previous occupant (which was still there when we left, as the room wasn't cleaned during our stay). Calling it a double room stretched incredulity to its limit, and the bed was very small. with next to no room to move around it, or the rest of the room. The shower was inadequate. When washing my hair, I managed to bang both elbows on the side walls. There was part of an instant coffee sachet on the bathroom floor when we arrived, and it was still there when we left. The sanitary bin wasn't emptied whilst we were there.
Cups - chipped and needing to be washed before we could use them - weren't washed or changed during our stay.
There was a bar, but this was opened only once while we were there, for the England football match.
Breakfast - an experience. Most of the items would seem to have been of the 'basic' variety, and left a lot to be desired. Somewhat off-putting was the written instruction to take 2 pieces of bacon and 1 of every other item. Not something i have seen anywhere else.
The hotel seemed very faded and in need of a major facelift. Uneven stairs which caused me to trip the first time I used them, chipped woodwork and paint that has certainly seen better days.
Out of date promotional leaflets were a disappointment. as was finding a huge pile of mail on the floor just inside the hall when we returned, mid-afternoon one day.
And whilst we appreciate that some people need to be reminded more than once about no smoking policies, having seen a notice on the way in, and one on the outside of our room door, my partner and I were bemused to see one on our bathroom door informing us that smoking was a disciplinary offence!
All in all, a very disappointing experience, and one that we will not be repeating. Neither can we, in all honesty, recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsTambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

This B&B was just fantastic, I stayed here with my partner and younger siblings and we loved it, it is a cosy B&B with very friendly staff. We was made to feel so welcome, everything was GREAT, the room, the food and the staff. The room was perfectly clean and a great size for a family, my younger brother loved the room so much he wanted to live there, there was so much breakfast on offer and the standards were great, we all were very satisfied with the breakfast and the chldren whom are fussy loved the food on offer too, we never went without anything and was always topped up with toast, tea/coffee, milk and so on, the children loved the bar. It was very convinient also as it was close to the beach and pleasure beach and near to plently of restaurants and bars. When we was leaving because we travelled by train, the owner offered us to put our lugage in the bar so that we could enjoy the rest of our last day which so helpful and kind of him. We loved it and will certainly be visiting again and we would recommend The Shepperton to everyone and anyone!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bethan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We have just arrived back from a weekend away at The Shepperton. What utter nonsense some people have put on here!! On arrival the hotel owner could have not been more polite. He checked us in and introduced himself as Geoff, helped us with our bags & showed us to our room. The room was extremely clean & tidy with clean towels & toiletries. It had a fan, hairdryer, iron & board, tv & had lovely clean bed linen. The room was much cleaner than some chain hotels we have stayed in. The hotel is near the pleasure beach end of Blackpool. But it was an easy walk along the promenade to the other attractions ie tower & main town. Or you could get the tram along the promenade. Breakfast was served to us at our table on the first morning as there were only a few guests & we were asked if we needed more tea/coffee & toast. On the second morning the breakfast was self service as more guests had arrived but was not a problem as Geoff explained where the plates etc were. There was plenty of cooked items to choose from. We had a really good nights sleep on both nights-the bed was comfy & the room lovely & warm. Geoff & the two girls we met working for Geoff could not have been more polite. The young lady on the first morning of breakfast service took time out to talk to us & we could not fault her attitude & politeness she really came across as a lovely girl. On the second morning the other young lady asked us several times if we needed anything else & if we were alright. Geoff could not have been nicer & we thoroughly enjoyed our conversations with him. He is one of the nicest people we have come across. This also went for a number of people we came across in Blackpool - some of the nicest people we have met on the various places we have visted throughout this country. We will definately be back if we visit this part of the country again & stay at The Shepperton. Thank you Geoff & your staff for making us feel so welcome and we wish you all well. Regards Lisa & Russell

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisadb69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed one night with my wife and 2 boys, 12 & 8 yrs. We were looking for 1 nights b&b to go to the Pleasure Beach. Location for the kids entertainment is spot on. 55 quid for a family room with a good breakfast, booked the night before on last minute.com, clean and tidy, excellent value for money. You want the Hilton then pay Hilton prices!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy310515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

the service in this hotel was a disgrace not only did we not have any toiletries in the room we didnt have any clean towels. in regards to the breakfast which has gone really bad from what it used to be, we waited half hour as it was a help your self buffet and fatties eat too much so geoff only cooked enough for each room. the bar was never open and when it was its terrible price for cans of lager. i feel that geoff doesnt care about his guest and we didnt feel at all welcome. we felt so uncomfortable we cut are stay short and didnt get any money back for the half of week we didint stay. we would NOT recommend this for any type of person.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rebecca m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caringandfrustrated, Owner at Shepperton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thankyou for this review we always try to show the correct attitude to guests everyone has shampoos and soap in every room and if they were not there then as i said when you arrived tell us and i would deal with it personally same as everything else you mentioned we try to keep up with our standards but being human either myself or my staff may fall down we are sorry you felt let down thanks for drawing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Me and my family have used this hotel for many many years. Maxine and Geoff couldnt be any nicer. Friendly, chatty, welcoming. The hotel is immaculate!! For anyone to say otherwise is just being ridiculous! Breakfast is great, something for everyone. I have 3 very fussy children and they always came away from the breakfast table full. I will continue to use this hotel for many years to come.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sweet_sasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#99 of 863 in Blackpool
211 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#102 of 134 in Blackpool
155 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#147 of 863 in Blackpool
84 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#30 of 73 in Blackpool
3,355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#347 of 863 in Blackpool
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shepperton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shepperton Hotel

Address: 74 Station Road | South Shore, Blackpool FY4 1EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #576 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $58 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shepperton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shepperton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing