We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exellent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carousel Hotel, Blackpool

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Carousel Hotel, Blackpool
Ranked #17 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
wigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed one night only .We were greeted by friendly staff. The room was very modern and very clean with a lovely tiled bathroom. Shampoo, shower gel, soap provided plus tea coffee etc. Quiet area but a tram stop across the road for easy access into Blackpool .Thank You to all the staff for a lovely stay and will return in the future.

Room Tip: Some rooms have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    299
    141
    45
    31
See reviews for
360
286
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

I and partner arrived at hotel early.
The hotel staffs was very good .They let
Us in room early as it was ready.
We were on third floor. It was like a maze trying to find our room. Not all room numbers were on the wall.
So it was a struggle every time we left the room. Anyway we arrived in room, first impressions it was a lovely room.
Then we needed bathroom.
Well it was a small room. You had to get dry in the bedroom after shower rather than. The bathroom also had to have the bathroom door open while you brushed your teeth. Or when my partner shaved. toilet roll holder was high up to reach. Lucky the towel heater was not on other wise you could have a burn. there was a wedding on .so when we came down stairs looking for reception .twice we where told to go back up stairs and go down another way. there should be signs stating you not allowed in that part of hotel when wedding is on.The beds very comfy.
Also we where woken at 6.30 by the people in next room .Very loud people.
We went down for the continental breakfast that was stated .What a pleasant surprise
Tinned fruit and full English hot breakfast cereal toast yogurt choice of 4 juices
So all in all was ok .But we will not be going again
We spent most of the afternoon and part of evening out .so not all break ruined

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JACQUI P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We returned home on 27th October 2013. We had an enjoyable stay with our two young grand children for two nights. First time stayed at this hotel main reason for this choice was location. The room was very comfortable, clean and tidy, we were on the second floor and didn't experience any noise. The breakfast was very good however evening meal left a lot to be desired cost £30.00 per couple children ate free choice of two dishes which the children didn't like. Extra charge for burger inedible. which was good.There was entertainment both evenings Tram service stopped across the road from hotel. Some staff very pleasant. We would definitely return to this hotel on a b&b basis only

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We was a large family holiday with 6 adults and 8 children. First time stayed at this hotel on recommendation. Cannot fault really, parking available on the front which the 3 cars in our party found easily available. Early check in at 12.30 as rooms were available. Main reason for choosing this hotel was the location, and this did not fault at all. Tram service stop available across the road from the hotel, £9 a day for a family ticket.
Rooms were clean and tidy and had everything you need for a stay in Blackpool when your not spending much time in your room. Shower cubicle was a little small but shower was excellent. Flat screen TV in the room but didn't use really. Mattress was a little on the soft side for us but that's personal preference. Sofa bed was great for the kids.

Didn't buy any food from this hotel so cannot comment on that, although room service was available 24/7. Breakfast however was all that you needed, full English, including hash browns, cereals, yogurts. Breakfast was a 7.30am to 9.30am on the midweek and 8am to 10am on the weekend. We stayed on the third floor and didn't have any problem with any noise. Entertainment was available every night. We had a singer on both nights of our stay.
Late check out of 11am was great.
We will definitely be coming back to this hotel when we come back to Blackpool.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs172013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Carousel Hotel, Blackpool, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Carousel, in particular, your kind words regarding the quality of the room and amenities, as well as the excellent breakfast we offer to all guests as standard. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Blackpool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here a few times now as do all our friends. Very clean modern friendly hotel 5 mins past the pleasure beach. Quiet at night but not too far away from all Blackpool has to offer. Decent food and lovely breakfast. Only downside was a menu saying baguette and crisps but we all thought it said chips so when mentioned it to a guy he said 'I know what it says coz I designed it' (not really professional nor did we deserve that smarty pants answer. All in all tho a good place to go and enjoy.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tashman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Carousel Hotel, Blackpool, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your review of The Carousel, in particular your kind comments regarding the high standard of the bedrooms and restaurant dining we offer. We appreciate your feedback regarding any unclear aspects of our menu and apologise if a member of staff was not able to help in clarifying. We hope to welcome you back to The Carousel on your next visit to Blackpool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Hotel good away from the arcades, fast food shops etc., walking distance from Pleasure Beach. Room clean, staff friendly and courteous with the usual tea / coffee making facilities. Had the evening meal which was good value, excellent buffet breakfast with good selection of food. Hotel parking limited but free in nearby streets, have to share with day visitors which could be a problem finding a space.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dusty6843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just back from a two night break with my husband, teenage daughter and her friend. We booked a double room with sea view and a twin room. The hotel is located just across from a tram stop so is ideally situated, not right in the heart of the bustle but a minute or two on the new trams. There is parking in the crescent out the front of the hotel or a private car park to the rear. The rooms are clean and tastefully decorated with fully tiled en-suite facilities with corner shower.

Our rooms were on the second floor accessed by either stairs or an old-style but perfectly operational lift. The twin room (205) was a very generous size with plenty of floor and storage space and was bright and clean. The view from the two room windows was non-existent, looking into other bedrooms via a large net but since the teenagers were occupying this room it didn't bother them and I'm not even sure they looked outside. The en-suite was also a good size and it too benefited from a window for extra light, corner shower, sink, toilet and was fully tiled and perfectly clean.

The double room with sea view, which we paid extra for (202) was tucked in the corner and while it benefited from not having other guests passing the door, it was probably the smallest double room in the hotel. When we checked in, the receptionist quickly showed us the location of our rooms on a room plan and I queried the size of the double room at this point. With a rather patronising tone she advised that the plan "obviously wasn't to scale". Eh, righto! Our double room was a fair bit smaller than the twin and had one average-sized window with drawers and flat screen TV positioned in front of it so in order to benefit from the sea view you needed to lean over top of the TV. My idea of gazing out the window at the view didn't materialise.

The bathroom in the double room was also a good bit smaller than the twin room and a jaunty angle was required on the toilet due to the positioning of the heated towel rail. This review seems hyper-critical, but the size of this room in comparison to the twin did tick me off ever so slightly, especially as I had queried the size of it at check in and got a rather patronising reply from reception.

We only used the restaurant for breakfast and each morning it was very busy but we were seated quickly and the food was well cooked with a varied selection of cereals, fruit, cooked food, toast and yoghurts. Amy, the Restaurant Manager should be commended on her level of service, efficiency and courtesy and if the waiters who served the tea and coffee moved at half her speed, this would resolve the only gripe we had of waiting and repeatedly asking for a cup of coffee on both mornings.

The bar/lounge area has plenty of seating and is well stocked and not badly priced at all. Bar meals were available too and the menu looked varied and well priced but we were at the mercy of two teenagers who wanted to go into Blackpool for chips! There was entertainment on here in the evenings, but we didn't stay in but there were crowds of other guests who did stay in for the bingo, singer / entertainer and they seemed to have enjoyed the 'turn'.

All in all a nice, clean hotel, well positioned with good facilities and (mostly) friendly staff. Not sure I'd shell out for a sea view again if it means compromising on the size of the room. We would be interested to hear the hotel's view on this.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClanRobertson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Carousel Hotel, Blackpool, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Carousel, in particular your kind words regarding the cleanliness of the rooms and helpfulness of our Restaurant Manager, Amy. We will ensure your personal feedback is been passed on. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the sea view in your room. Owing to the nature of the period architecture of the property, our double rooms do vary in size. The hotel is not a modern steel frame building and, as such, has rooms of varying dimension and view aspect. Some are in effect larger than others, but all our rooms are of a good size. We apologise if you were unhappy with the scale of your particular bedroom and if the information provided by our reception team was unclear, but we are delighted that you found the facilities clean and of modern and tasteful decor, the catering of such high quality and the location ideal. We will be delighted to accommodate any specific room requests on your next visit to Blackpool, when we would hope to welcome you and your family back to The Carousel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.4 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,737 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carousel Hotel, Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carousel Hotel, Blackpool

Property: The Carousel Hotel, Blackpool
Address: 663-671 New South Promenade | South Shore, Blackpool FY4 1RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#23 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#27 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carousel Hotel, Blackpool 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautifully refurbished Carousel is the highest AA rated 3 star hotel in Blackpool. Situated five minutes from Blackpool Pleasure Beach, we are ideally located on the South Promenade near to all of Blackpool’s attractions - but far enough away from the bustle of Blackpool's famous Golden Mile to offer a relaxing, refreshing and high quality experience. Our Cafe Bar 663 serves both breakfast and all day dining, alongside an extensive bar facility and 24 hour room service menu. We have 22 family rooms all with DVD players and an extensive library of DVDs for the children, available to loan with our compliments. The hotel has nightly entertainment during the summer months alongside a weekend kids club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Carousel Hotel, Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carousel Blackpool Hotel Blackpool
The Carousel Hotel Blackpool
Carousel Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing