We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room in spite of no view”
Review of The Carousel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Carousel Hotel
Ranked #16 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Bacup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice room in spite of no view”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Attended a wedding reception here which was very nicely presented
Room overlooked the back roof with an abandoned trainer to look out on, but was large and modern, bathroom was very nice
Breakfast was reasonable with plenty on offer but hard eggs and tinned mushrooms not too good
Limited parking so if you get a spot, leave the car and get a day rover on the tram which is outside the door. Staff very obliging but we felt for the guests who were not at the wedding as they had no entertainment and had paid £80 for one night and were side-lined into a second rather bleak bar.

Room Tip: We got an unrequested disabled room which turned out to be bigger and more convenient than many of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    316
    145
    45
    31
See reviews for
388
298
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The booking in was problem free. As was the on-line booking.
The room was clean and well maintained.
Good power shower for the morning. Plus the little free bottles of shampoo etc..
Terrific breakfast, they even put black pudding on the menu. It is a buffet type breakfast more than you can eat and I can well recommend it.
The is one drawback and that is the distance from the main town.
For one or two nights then not a problem .... book it. A very nice stay.
Very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marknorris30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loddiswell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for just 1 night, to go onto the Isle of Man for a holiday. The staff were pleasant the, evening meal was good,some of us said that if this is the standard of the food for the rest of the holiday we won't go far wrong. The room was very small with a small 4ft 6in bed,we would not have liked any longer than 1 night in it. I cannot comment on the other rooms.

Room Tip: The room we had was on the front of the hotel. I would not have liked to have paid extra for a sea v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venessa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed for one night in July 2012. Paid £100 for a sea view room which was very nice and clean and had a great bathroom. There was a wedding on that same day so felt as if we were 2nd class passengers. We were not allowed to use the lounge / bar area as the wedding party had taken it over. Had to sit in the very very brightly lit dining room on wooden chairs. Someone had asked for food at about 6.30pm and were told that no food was being served until the wedding party had been sorted and that they had to wait half an hour. A group of 8 of us decided to go out instead and went down to the casino and had a great night. Breakfast was chaos to say the least.... too many guests, not enough staff.

Room Tip: Sea view are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beverleyconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Hotels Management Representative at The Carousel Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for your review of The Carousel Hotel. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. We see it as our foremost duty to ensure that all guests, whether with us for an event or relaxing break, are made as comfortable as possible. Our events are very important to us and their guests, but we would like to apologise if you felt in anyway that you were not given the excellent service that we are proud to provide. Thank you for your otherwise kind comments regarding our facilities and decor. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Blackpool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here on a wekend break for the illuminations last weekend, having never stayed on the South Shore before was expecting it to be a long way out - which it was, however there was a tram stop almost opposite, with trams every 10 minutes, so access into the center was very easy.

Checking in was not allowed until 3pm, which was only a slight niggle, but the staff were very polite and friendly - a far cry from the last time we stayed in Blackpool.

The rooms (we stayed at the rear of the hotel), were big enough for a weekend stay and very clean, however the bathroom was massive - big enough to have a party in, but think that the plumber or the designer was a child as the shower (no bath) was so small you could not even turn round in it properly and when you turned the shower on, it did run straight onto the floor. This was a bit annoying, but the only thing wrong with the room. It was very clean and tidy, with good quality fittings and bed linen.

We had room service on our first night and it was excellent, the bar snacks were more than big enough and the quality of the food was very high. It was delivered by very pleasent staff in around 15 minutes from ordering. In fact it was so good that the following night we only ordered Bar Snacks again, instead of eating a full meal.

Only one other problem, which was not the hotels fault, we were on the 3rd floor, while there is a lift to all floors, you had to shut a cage door to engage the lift and you were required to shut the cage door on leaving the lift for other people to access it. If the previous person had not shut the cage then the lift would not work, not very good if you are on the 3rd floor and have a problem with the stairs. Like I say this is not the hotel fault as there are notices explaining how the lift works, but think that people are so used to just walking out of a lift they forget to shut the cage to let others use it.

Overall a very good hotel with good prices, would definatley stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hally_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed at the Carousel at the weekend, very clean, great staff and service. Hotel is a 5min walk to the main part of the busy promenade which is'nt a bad thing, its really quiet around the hotel itself. Parking bit of a nitemare but guess thats the case everywhere in Blackpool, got to say though a member of staff sorted that problem for us which was very much appreciated. Would definitely stay there again and would recommend the hotel to anyone going to Blackpool for a short stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louise k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

first time to stay at this hotel on arrival the lifts were of and we had to lug our luggage up the stairs only to find the room was two single beds and not a double as booked got that sorted food was just about eatable my partner had food poison on one night which no one was interested about when reported on another night we sat at six for dinner and bt seven oclock had been served soup it took another hour or more to serve the main coarse. when EVERYONE complained one member of staff was totally rude to a member at our table and other guests never seen the like of it in my life i could not fault all the staff but they need to be respectful especially when people are payin to stay there as far as value for money its not and the star ratin would need to be looked at first time havin a holiday at home roll on spain they know how to look after peoplewas totally disapointed i read up on the hotel before goin and the pictures of the rooms were lovely but ours was small and the shower no room at all blackpool itself was enjoyable but next time id research my accomadation a lot better.

Room Tip: rooms at front of hotel deffo have the best veiw with the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Hotels Management Representative at The Carousel Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for your review of The Carousel Hotel. We are very disappointed that you were unhappy with some aspects of your stay. With regards to your specific comments regarding the service of your meal, we endeavour to serve all meals to the comfort and satisfaction of all guests and have passed on your comments to our team to ensure the issues raised do not happen again. As you suggest, our customer service is of the utmost importance and our staff did their utmost to meet your personal expectations. We do find some of your other comments unfortunate, but hope that your overall view of The Carousel Hotel has not been adversely affected and hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Blackpool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,044 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,910 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 70 in Blackpool
3,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
454 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
488 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#34 of 70 in Blackpool
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carousel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carousel Hotel

Property: The Carousel Hotel
Address: 663-671 New South Promenade | South Shore, Blackpool FY4 1RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#23 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#27 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carousel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautifully refurbished Carousel is the highest AA rated 3 star hotel in Blackpool. Situated five minutes from Blackpool Pleasure Beach, the hotel is ideally located on the South Promenade, near to all of Blackpool’s attractions - but far enough away from the bustle of Blackpool's famous Golden Mile to offer a relaxing, refreshing and high quality experience. Our Cafe Bar 663 serves both breakfast and an extensive menu for all-day dining, alongside its bar facility and 24 hour room service. We have 22 family rooms all with DVD players and an extensive library of DVDs for the children available to loan with our compliments. The hotel also has nightly entertainment during the summer months alongside Cafe Bar kids activities, subject to seasonality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Carousel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carousel Blackpool Hotel Blackpool
The Carousel Hotel Blackpool
Carousel Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing