We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should have listened to the reviews”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cherry Tree

The Cherry Tree
Ranked #100 of 713 Restaurants in Blackpool
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Should have listened to the reviews”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

The girl behind the bar was on her first day,tried her best but clueless.Poor girl got no help at all,just shown a booklet on how to know which wine was which.Food arrived on time and the service was good,but unfortunately the girl had got the order wrong.The food was only warm,not hot but regretably we said nothing till the end of the meal,when we remarked that the food wasn't as hot as it should have been.Waitress said she would mention it,which i doubt,nobody came anyway.My pal went to the bar,gave up and went to another part of the pub,eventually got served.I in all honesty i wrongly ordered red instead of white for the girls,wouldn't change it because it had been poured eventually.Noticed a preference to serve locals firstWife was poorly that evening and although on holiday this week my mate rang me to ask me if me or my wife had been ill as he had.Saw who i presumed to be the landlord and landlady once in 2 hours,(might have been because Liverpool match was on).I had been with a colleague from work,first two weeks in December,very good.We will not be going again,i think i'll stick to a local Harvester,and they can be up and down.Have never posted a complaint before but felt i had to.Billie Jo behind the bar and the waitress who brought the food were the only two who were bothered,plus the poor new girl who tried her best

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tommy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    65
    33
    32
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Welcome, changed title and customer service with it!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Booked a table for four o'clock, we were 15 minutes late as we had three young children to organise. We were greeted with, you booked your table and it's now 20 past, which I beg to differ. You're lucky it's still there we were told, I tried to ring you at five past, no answer. We were on our way. Your tables there, we need it back between 6 & 6.15pm, which to be fair we were told that when we booked. We were away at 6.10 latest. Food was okay, bar service dreadfully slow, customer service absolutely appalling, manager very rude.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PandAHall_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I CAME AWAY STILL FEELING LIKE A HUNGRY HORSE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

I had eaten here before, when it was opened as a hungry horse pub, I thought very nice ,friendly staff, good food. was quite impressed and came away happy. But a few months down the line ,wow how things have changed, firstly when you go to the bar for a drink if you dont catch the eye of a barperson you could be there all night waiting. The next thing I noticed is the meals are a lot smaller, its as if the menu has changed from the first opening nights, from giving us plenty to make an impression to smaller plates giving us less. standards have dropped and I dont think they care.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hugh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
104 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Glad that we now have tried it!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Two of us had evening meal here last night and I am glad that we have now tried the pub for a meal.

Its a very nice place with great staff and plenty of tables, The only problem was the average food which seems very generic and bland.

Out the two places for a good mixed grill I would pick the sizzler on Whitegate drive.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MixedGrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The staff are really friendly and helpfull really great night had by all.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

We were advised we could not reserve a table when we telephoned the pub. But on arrival the barmaid claire was very happy to help! she did her best to seat our party at a table that suited our needs! We were a group of adults with a very fussy lot!! She happily seated us at a table allowing for my brother in his wheel chair.the food was great.. service fantastic.... and clair
e was very funny and we will be back to see her again! !!! Good job to all the team we had a great night x thankyou

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank annerico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cherry Tree also viewed

Thornton Cleveleys, Lancashire
Preston, Lancashire
 
Southport, Merseyside
Preston, Lancashire
 

Been to The Cherry Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing