We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous discovery!”
Review of Cedars

Cedars
Ranked #1 of 32 Coffee & Tea in Blackpool
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: FINALIST 2015 - CAFE OF THE YEAR- (North-West Region) Quality coffee shop/cafe.Excellent selection of cakes,sandwiches and more at exceptionally reasonable prices.Luxury interior and surroundings,with cool marble,elegant seating and fantastic service. Outdoor seating available. Breakfast served from 8.15am-1pm.Our food menu finishes at around 3pm,when we would be delighted to offer Coffee, Cakes & toasted goods until closing.
Malton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A fabulous discovery!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Prior to our 'pigeon' weekend trip to Blackpool, we consulted tripadvisor for a list of cafes to visit. We visited Cedars on our 1st day and had homemade soup with toasted sandwiches, both choices were excellent, very tasty and well presented by Janice who was so friendly, welcoming and made us feel so 'at home'. We rounded it off with a pot of tea for two, an extra large pot at that, which is so refreshing these days. We enjoyed everything so much that we returned on the following two days and tried something different, again we weren't disappointed. The ham in the toasties is delicious, not plasticky as you often find in other places, in soft fresh bread that had an equally delicious taste. I tried the lovely scones complete with jam and fresh cream plus butter if required, they were scrumptious, so light and fluffy. This cafe is an excellent little discovery, very reasonably priced, ample food to choose from with very friendly staff. It is sparklingly clean , modern and ultimately comfortable, we would certainly recommend without hesitation. Thank you both for a lovely welcome, you deserve your ratings! We hope to be back soon!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 366Kathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice A, Owner at Cedars, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Hello there!
Apologies for taking a while to reply, but we have just returned from holiday and are having a Tripadvisor catch-up.

Many, many thanks for taking the time to review cedars, and in such a lovely way .Both Mark & I are delighted that you chose Cedars on so many occasions on your recent pigeon weekend in Blackpool, and that you sampled a range of our menu, at different times of the day and seemed to be pleased with the quality, service and cleanliness,each time.
We hope you are keeping well, and look forward very much to seeing you again,
With kindest wishes,
Janice & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    7
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bannofee pie”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

I went here for a full English with my girlfriend and I can say that the full English is very good for the price,the food comes out immaculate,and we tried the Bannofee pie which was defiantly the best we have ever tried,the only small things I could recommend would be having bottles of tomatoe and brown sauce on the table instead of sachets and the option of making your breakfast better by paying extra for good quality black pudding and Cumberland.this cafe is defiantly worth a visit,great environment and a lovely host!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 123abcBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice A, Owner at Cedars, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Hello !
What a wonderful review.Both Mark & I are delighted that you enjoyed your visit yesterday for breakfast & banoffie pie!
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit and make a couple of suggestions. We simply use sauce sachets as they are the most hygienic way we can serve each sauce (we always have plenty if anyone requires more),and we will give the Cumberland sausage some thought when we review our menus in the future.

Many thanks for your review, and thoughts, and we hope to welcome you again to Cedars soon, until then,with our best wishes
Janice & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Such a homely friendly atmosphere. A great place to visit rain or shine.”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I visit this cafe regularly and have never had a bad experience. Everything is lovely. The staff are so helpful and friendly and the cakes are so yummy. My favourite is the lemon cheese cake !A trip to town is not complete without a visit here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice A, Owner at Cedars, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Hello Kirsten W !
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are both delighted that you enjoy Cedars and the Lemon crunch, that you choose us each time you take a visit to town.
Until your next visit,
Best wishes Janice & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Warm, fresh homemade food!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Had our breakfast here on a Sunday morning. Had the best banoffee pie I've ever tasted here! The owner of the cafe is lovely and friendly as well! Definitely a gem in Blackpool, don't miss this place if you're planning to visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice A, Owner at Cedars, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Hello there!
Many thanks for your lovely review, and for taking the time to review your visit to Cedars on Sunday.
We are both delighted that you enjoyed your visit ,and in particular the Banoffie Pie!
With best wishes,
Janice & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm, inviting, friendly, honest, fresh, homemade food”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

A warm friendly relaxed atmosphere, with ample seating, with plenty of room.
A great menu , with additional specials board. Lots of home made cakes that looked great, too full to eat any after our meal though.
Will definitely be going back for coffee and cakes.

I have been to many cafés in Blackpool and have been constantly disappointed, not this time.
If you want clean relaxed environment, reasonably priced, freshly prepared food, friendly polite and helpful staff, this is definitely the place to go.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 778Kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice A, Owner at Cedars, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review of your visit to Cedars. It means such a lot to Mark & I that you value and appreciate the work we have put in to building Cedars from nothing. We have now been open for 8 months, and for you to say such lovely things, is heart-warming.
We are both delighted that you enjoy the menu, with the quality of service and choice available, in our surroundings.
Until your next visit and with kind regards,
Janice & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedars also viewed

Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 
Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to Cedars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing