We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At last,a decent cafe in Blackpool”
Review of Cedars

Cedars
Ranked #1 of 30 Coffee & Tea in Blackpool
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: FINALIST 2015 - CAFE OF THE YEAR- (North-West Region) Quality coffee shop/cafe.Excellent selection of cakes,sandwiches and more at exceptionally reasonable prices.Luxury interior and surroundings,with cool marble,elegant seating and fantastic service. Outdoor seating available. Breakfast served from 8.15am-1pm.Our food menu finishes at around 3pm,when we would be delighted to offer Coffee, Cakes & toasted goods until closing.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“At last,a decent cafe in Blackpool”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Being frequent day trippers to Blackpool but always eating enroute it was wonderful to find this gem of a cafe in the centre of town. The decor is chic and modern and the whole place was immaculately clean. With a menu to suite all tastes from breakfasts and toasties to cakes to die for,no one would be disappointed. The service is second to none being helpful, attentive and obliging. The cafe is run by couple Janice and Mark who seem to enjoy their work. Long May the Cedars survive,we shall be frequent customers.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PattyP27348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice A, Owner at Cedars, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Hello there !
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely, positive review of your recent visit to Cedars.
Both Mark & I are simply delighted that you have found us, and that on your future visits to Blackpool, you will be visiting us again.
It means such a lot to us both to know that our valued customers enjoy each aspect of their visit, and leave with a positive experience of a Blackpool Café.
Until your next visit, and with best wishes,
Mark & Janice x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    7
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“How do you like your latte?”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

My family and I have become regulars at the cedar cafe. So much so that the proprietor Janice now knows our coffee order before we sit down! 1 strong , 1 regular, 1 weak all served with a smile and a choice of delicious home cooked food, snacks and cakes. Nothing is to much trouble and it is refreshing to find such quality and service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peteman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice A, Owner at Cedars, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Both Mark & I thank you for writing such a lovely review.
To know that you all feel welcomed and that you enjoy your visits to us, means such a lot. We hope to continue to welcome you and your family to Cedars, whenever you visit Blackpool and we will always have your lattes waiting !!
Heartfelt thanks once again, Janice & Mark x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Friendly and nice atmosphere”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Arrived one cold morning for breakfast. We were greeted immediaty by the very friendly owner. We both had full english traditional breakfast with one latte and one filter. Overall the food was nice using good quality produce but we felt the bacon was undercooked, maybe asking how you like it grilled and a little let down with the week coffee but maybe we could have asked for another shot. The establishment is very nicely decorated and modern and very clean.

Helpful?
Thank LancashireCefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice A, Owner at Cedars, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Many thanks for taking time out of your busy day to review your recent visit to Cedars.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit overall, but had issue with the grilled bacon and coffee. Had it been stated that you wished your bacon to be very well cooked, at the point of ordering, we would only have been to happy to do as you desired. I always ensure that I ask each table if everything is ok with their food, and you also could have mentioned it at this point. As for the issue with the coffee, I assume it was for the latte, as the filter coffees are all one strength. I can make a weak 1/2 shot latte, regular, or strong 2 shot latte. Again it would have been no trouble at all to make your coffee to your personal preference. Many of our customers ask for a differing degree of strength to suit their own tastes.
We do welcome both constructive criticism and honesty, and take note you enjoyed the quality of food served in the surroundings.
We both thank you once again, and hope to welcome you back to Cedars, on another crisp Winters day.
With best wishes and kindest regards,
Janice & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great little cafe”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Warm welcoming reception, helpful staff and great food and excellent value for money. Will be coming back

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitch M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice A, Owner at Cedars, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Hello there,
Many thanks for taking the time to review your visit to Cedars, and we are delighted that you found us to be great value for money, with quality food served, and that you will be returning to us in the future,
Until then, with warmest wishes,
Janice & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friendly and warm greeting - wasn't disappointed!!!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Early last Sunday morning two friends and myself arrived in Cedar Square looking for somewhere to eat. Being early very few places were open but we were drawn to this smart looking restaurant. Two people were already in and obviously enjoying their meal. My friend's husband ordered three full English breakfasts with coffee. We weren't going to be disappointed! The friendly lady had taken our order at what I can only describe as the most unusual counter we have ever seen.
Whilst we waited the coffee was made in our presence and served by the lady. The coffee (2 latte 1 cappuccino) was the most delicious we have EVER tasted!! Shortly afterwards an appetising meal was served. Freshly cooked NON-GREASY full English consisting of bacon, egg, mushrooms, beans, hash-brown, fried tomato and sausage was gorgeous and we pigged out on 6 slices of brown granary bread toast too which we couldn't finish!
The layout of the chairs and tables specially designed for the restaurant are so laid out that a single diner to as many as a group of 8 (and possibly more) can be coped with together! When we finished we complimented the lady on everything and we left planning our next visit - we left clutching our loyalty cards! Go you wont be disappointed - we WILL BE BACK to quote a movie star!! Fabulous! We don't know if it has a bar, website and we don't know the phone number - but that's because we only found it as we walked passed - prices are more than reasonable!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bisphamkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice A, Owner at Cedars, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hello BisphamKid !
What a lovely review you have written after your recent Cedars visit at the weekend.

It is so lovely to know that we are achieving our aim, to give every single visitor a lasting positive experience when they visit Cedars, whether that be for a latte, a hot breakfast or lunch. We are simply delighted that you and your friends chose Cedars and even more delighted that you will be returning, along with your loyalty card !

The décor and coffee bar were bespoke built by my Father-in-Law, and we are very proud of his achievements, and for you to mention the décor in your review means such a lot to us all, as we have worked very hard to create an unusual décor for a Blackpool café !

Mark & I look forward to welcoming you and your friends to Cedars many times in the future,
with kindest regards & best wishes
Janice & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedars also viewed

Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 
Blackpool, Lancashire
 
Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to Cedars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing