We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So friendly”
Review of The Hollingdales

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hollingdales
Ranked #767 of 860 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“So friendly”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Haven't been to Blackpool in a few years but me and the hubby stayed here every year when we did, the hospitality of Martin and the family is superb! Your made to feel so welcome, they even had a bottle of bubbly for us when we arrived soon after we got married! Would highly recommend this hotel, hope to take our daughter here soon

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roz-Lb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    13
    7
    8
    48
See reviews for
38
26
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
macclesfield
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

i arrived here on the 16th june 2013, i left on the 17th even though i was booked in for 6 nights. i was made to feel not welcome almost immediately on arrival.
i was not shown to the room i was staying in stead i had to make my own way complete with luggage, the room was supposed to be a double ensuite, there was a double bed and a single bed in the room, you had to walk round the room sideways as there was so little room around the beds. there was a wardrobe right behind the door in a narrow entrance, the only window that opened had to be reached by standing on a chair to open it, i was scared to touch the curtains because the rail was hanging off the wall and the curtains didnt slide easy they had to be dragged, the cables for the tv and the sat box were hanging down and touching my head (im 5"1) so god help anyone taller. the "ensuite" was a glorified cupboard, the sink was hard to get to because of the shelf above it, the "hot" water was cold which made it impossible to have a shower or even a wash, to fill the kettle you had to either use a mug from the room or the cup from the bathroom because it would not fit under the tap and then you had to put the kettle on the floor where the only socket in the room was. it does not deserve the one out of 5 i have given it. certainly will not go back or recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyMacclesfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very close to all attractions just off the main streets near the old Foxhall if you struggle finding it look for the Joke shop its near there not easy to find first time basic room and tv breakfasts ample and good to get going for the day advice they don't take credit/debit on arrival I had to get the cash from the town and sort it when got back oh and many places surprisingly in Blackpool you will need cash that's why they have cash machines near the attractions and in the town be aware some machines charge up to 2 quid was reasonable stay though and nice weather may go back again later

Room Tip: only 22 rooms but lower id say is good as bit of hike the stairs can be
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here 2012 and will be booking to stay again in July this year, nice clean family room in fab location, got parked outside the hotel which was great and free,excellent welcome and smooth check in, breakfast in morning was lovely and the staff were extremley friendly and took the time to chat to guests and the kids and even provided colouring in things to occupy the kids, enjoyed our stay that much we stayed an extra night looking forward to our return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank XJULESX11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldham
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed as a couple at this hotel on 5-04-13 for a weekend break. On arrival we were greeted warmly and attended to promptly. Lovely clean and homely establishment . The rooms were basic but freshly decorated and a good size.The bed looked new and was comfy with clean new covers. Breakfast was served 8.15 to 9.15 and the service was very good. The food was good quality and well presented. The bar area was adequate with Hughie on hand to serve reasonably priced drinks when required.
The location of the hotel is very good with free parking on both sides of the road just outside. Just a short walk to the centre and local bars and 2 mins. to the promenade.
Overall a good hotel with a warm welcome from Hughie and Janet.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem nice but room No.1 has noise from the bar area being first up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank giggyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#10 of 73 in Blackpool
842 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oban House Hotel
Oban House Hotel
#524 of 860 in Blackpool
48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#343 of 860 in Blackpool
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#282 of 860 in Blackpool
148 reviews
1.0 mi away
Trentham Hotel
Trentham Hotel
#116 of 860 in Blackpool
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glendowie Guest House
Glendowie Guest House
#425 of 860 in Blackpool
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollingdales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollingdales

Property: The Hollingdales
Address: 37-39 Tyldesley Road, Blackpool FY1 5DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #767 of 860 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hollingdales 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Hollingdales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing