We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem!”
Review of McHalls Bistro

McHalls Bistro
Ranked #1 of 735 Restaurants in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Opening Hours: Friday and Saturday: Serving 5pm - 10pm (food orders 5pm - 7.3pm) Sunday: 1pm - 5pm (last orders3pm) Reservations not always necessary.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We had a sublime meal at McHalls Bistro on Saturday. The food - all of it homemade by the lovely Gavin - was absolutely delicious and exceptional value. The wine was fab and free-flowing - Danny looked after us really well and made us feel so welcome. McHalls is a lovely, cosy Bistro, serving excellent food at great prices, truly deserving of its place at the top of the TripAdvisor rankings. You owe it to yourself to visit if you're in Blackpool!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmaDiseworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    559
    25
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ayrshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“No 1 for a reason...fab!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our party of 12 had the pleasure (and luck) to dine here on a recent Friday evening. Our B&B owners had recommended and booked McHalls for us and they mentioned we had a birthday celebration amongst us and so we had balloons on the table which was a lovely touch. We had an extremely warm and friendly welcome from the front of house host Danny who remembered all our names and made us feel very relaxed and kept us entertained whilst being efficient and professional....i could write the 5 star review on him and the service alone but the food from the bread at the beginning to the mango ice cream at the end was superb and extremely delicious and they could not do enough to please our party (some of whom are fussy eaters!) We were all sorry to leave soon after the meal as we had a show to see and would happily have stayed on for post dinner drinks in the lovely atmosphere here. McHalls most definitely deserves it's Number 1 spot in Blackpool! I cannot wait to come back!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bessiescot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Out of the ordinary”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We would never have found this brilliant little bistro without Trip advisor as it is a bit off the main routes. However it is in the centre just behind Funny Girls and well worth a visit on a Friday or Saturday night, particularly if you like GOOD food at reasonable prices. Everything is made on the premises by Gavin from the bread down to the ice cream!. Everything we had was delicious. The menu changes fortnightly according to Daniel the host, and we went just as the fortnight was ending. The 3 cheese pate was delicious but the chutney was divine. We would have bought some to take home but it had all been sold in advance!. Thank you Daniel for a really great evening.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Viv T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“always good”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Not been for a while, but always consistently excellent. The starter four cheese pate was amazing. Best food in Blackpool & good value. thanks Gavin & Danny.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank allan151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely place”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

fantastic 3 course sunday lunch with wine , owner danny was lovely and welcoming towards us and we had a good ole banter with him .everything was homemade and the food was to die for , wish I could have bought some of the homemade onion chilli chutney I had with the pate ....it was yummy
wine , food and service was perfect , the dining room and the ambiance was lovely too . thankyou for a lovely experiance

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McHalls Bistro also viewed

Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to McHalls Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing