We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"it's not just about the Food"”
Review of McHalls Bistro

McHalls Bistro
Ranked #1 of 741 Restaurants in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Opening Hours: Friday and Saturday: Serving 5pm - 10pm (food orders 5pm - 7.3pm) Sunday: 1pm - 5pm (last orders3pm) Reservations not always necessary.
Lytham St Annes
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“"it's not just about the Food"”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was our first visit to this town centre bistro and we were not disappointed.
We heard about McHalls Bistro via tripadvisor because they Knocked our local italian restaurant off the number One spot in Blackpool on the Tripadvisor review website,
so we thought we must see what all the exceptional reviews were all about,
I booked a table for two for Sunday Lunch second sitting at 3pm and we were greeted by a very friendly and smiling Danny front of house.
We selected a table at the rear of the Bistro as it filled up very quickly, within 10 minutes the small restaurant was full with a good mixture of all ages,Danny was very calm even though everybody turned up at the same time he controlled the room very well seating clients and still having time to chat and get to know peoples names also and first and second course's and drink requirements.
The starters arrived and were excellent I had the Black pudding stack with apple and creamy mustard dressing my wife had the home made pate served with caramelized onion, wonderful.
Our main course's Turkey for my wife and Roast Lamb for myself cooked to perfection served with the best selection of vegetables we have ever been offered, in total 7 yes Seven different vegetables plus roast and mash potatoes.
Now my title "it's not just about food" you can have great food but if the people who serve you your food have no personality or are not professional this can ruin your dining experience.
Danny is bursting with charm and eager to get to know you he made the afternoon wonderful.
We finished off with the sticky toffee pudding and cheese and biscuits both were delicious.
We paid our very reasonable bill and said our goodbyes, but we will definitely be back to sample the evening menu and hope to take our family with us the next time.
Thank you for a wonderful lunch and see you again soon.
Pat and Ray,

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RAYODEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    569
    25
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Tim and Mandy”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Never written a review before but feel compelled to do so now.
We dined at McHalls yesteday evening and had a really enjoyable evening and a fantastic meal. Danny was the perfect host, the food was well presented and cooked beautifully with good portion sizes. Brilliant value for money. We will certainly be back.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Home Cooked Food with Brilliant Hosting!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

First of all, we have never visited this Bistro before. We went solely on the No 1 in Blackpool ranking from Trip Advisor, and were really surprised at what a nice atmosphere we dined in, and the quality of the food.

Some reviewers have said this Bistro deserves a Michelin star. Make no mistake here, this Bistro is not trying to attain a Michelin star as it isn't a place which does small portions with finesse and sublime artistry. This is no bad thing, because I find Michelin starred restaurants can be stuffy and pretentious; half their portions; triple the price and charge £70 for a mediocre wine.

What they do at McHalls Bistro, however, is give you a pile of tasty food - home made with fresh ingredients, and great (almost theatrical at times) hosting. If you're going to set up a successful Bistro in Blackpool, this has to be a blue print for what you should be doing, and good luck to Danny and Gavin on knowing what you do, and doing it rather well.

Danny, the host, was impeccable, and made sure he knew our names when we sat down, and continued to use our names throughout the entire meal. Nice touch. Danny interacted well with all of the diners, and made sure there was a friendly atmosphere with lots of warmth and banter.

The price of the food was extremely good for what we received (a large Sunday lunch at a shade under £7), and there was plenty of it. All home cooked, tasty and fresh.

The wine list was my favourite wine list ever. Danny just told us that all the wine was the same price - and rolled off a list of what grape varieties they had. Just a tad over £12 a bottle (any bottle) is not only a great price for a restaurant wine, it also makes choosing your wine a lot less of a pretentious experience, as the price isn't of relevance. We had a bottle of Lindemans Shiraz, and it was great for £12.40!

Very enjoyable Sunday lunch and excellent value for money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I cannot explain to the full extent of how amazing the food here is!! Everything home made, the cheese pâté is a MUST!!! So glad we decided on the 3 courses on Sunday!! We WILL be back!! Xx

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank redhead1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best food in Blackpool !!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

The food in the bistro was just to die for !!
Had dinner Friday night and Sunday three course lunch , Danny talked the talk and got us ordering and Gavin prepared the most amazing food !Defo Michelin star quality!

Helpful?
1 Thank Brookeswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McHalls Bistro also viewed

Blackpool, Lancashire
 
Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to McHalls Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing