We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden Picnic/Afternoon Tea with a Twist”
Review of Ma Baker

Ma Baker
Ranked #3 of 11 Dessert in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $8
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Ma Bakers is just off the main Preston New Road on the World of Water site (formerly Wyevale Garden Centre).We are open 7 days a week from 9-4pm Mon-Sat, 10-4pm Sundays.We offer a range of breakfast's Served all day everyday except sunday till 12 noon.Sandwiches, pannini's, fresh soup, Jacket potatoes, cakes and much more. We make and cook everything but the bread!
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Went for a friend's baby shower with approximately 20 ladies. Nice setting in the café and the food was lovely with soup, open sandwiches, cakes, cream scones, homemade cookies, mousse and milkshakes all displayed on miniature picnic benches followed by tea, coffee and if you fancy it, its licensed so you can have a glass of fizz. All staff very friendly and were very accommodating to change with people's preferences at short notice (veggies/dietary requirements).
Would be happy to recommend this too anyone wanting to celebrate a special occasion or just to treat themselves.
thanks for a lovely afternoon.
Emma & co. x

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MICKnEMMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle355, Owner at Ma Baker, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you Emma for your review of our Cafe. We love what we do and are so pleased you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again soon? From the girls at Ma B's!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 132 of 184 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2014

The food is really good, efficient pleasant staff and pleasant premises. The cakes are delicious!
We've been twice when visiting relatives and there has been plenty of space for us each time (probably because its a little hidden).
The veg etc are of high quality so they must have a source for fresh veg.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle355, Owner at Ma Baker, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Thank you John for your great review! I've been baking cakes for over 25 years but still love every minute of it. Im glad you love eating them. Hope to see you soon at Ma B's. Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

A hidden gem, clean and welcoming with pleasant, effecient. staff. A good choice of excellent homemade food well presented. We will definitely be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Digse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle355, Owner at Ma Baker, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Thank you Digse for writing a review, we have a passion for tasty fresh food and were pleased to hear you enjoy visiting mabakers. Hope to see you soon? From the the girls at MaB's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This review is a bit late as I wrote the review on someone else's restaurant. I love going to Ma Baker's because the atmosphere is always so friendly and they have lovely food. We go regularly and I like to try something different every time and they never fail to impress!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cerys99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle355, Owner at Ma Baker, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased you enjoy coming to eat with us.
We love what we do at ma bakers. Hope to see you there soon. Thank you from the girls at MaB's!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Passed this place a few time but never went in, finally went in for a coffee and now we're addicted. Absolutely love the place, the coffee is excellent, the food is excellent, especially the pea and ham soup, the staff are lovely, so friendly, helpful and accommodating. When you go in the first thing you'll notice is the array of delicious looking homemade cakes which are to die for. When we go in with my son they're so good with him. They also do outside catering and hire out the room, as they have a bar and licenced to sell alcohol. The mulled wine of theirs with brandy is lovely on a winters day. Please do try this place you'll love it and wished you'd been sooner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CarolineB1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle355, Owner at Ma Baker, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Thank you for your comments caroline. Feed back is very important to all at Ma Bs,
it keeps us on our toes to continue in the way that our customers do enjoy their visits
and will return in the future. With regards to all the deserts, cakes & paisteries only the
best ingredients are used.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ma Baker also viewed

Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 
Preston, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to Ma Baker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing