We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different to the usual seaside cafe”

Beach House Bistro & Bar
Ranked #34 of 747 Restaurants in Blackpool
Price range: $4 - $51
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Alfresco
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
616 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Different to the usual seaside cafe”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Visited Sat afternoon and it was very busy, mostly with people meeting and drinking. This ties up the tables for people who want to eat. The staff were helpful and and friendly and we only had to wait 5 mins for a table. The food is a little pricey but was very nice, drinks prices are a little over the top. The cafe is very modern and extremely noisy, not the background music, but people's voices bouncing of the hard surroundings. Not a place for a romantic evening. The menu has a good choice of fish and meet dishes but a limited vegy. choice. We only had a meal and was served quickly and tasted very nice. If you can stand the noise the food is nice and try a sweet

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank old_romantics_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    598
    265
    119
    80
    87
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“A hidden gem amidst a sea of fast food burger stands.”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was the first time we have visited the Beach House Bistro and bar and what a lunchtime experience it was. I suspect this restaurant/bistro will do exceptionally well given both its location right on the promenade opposite the Tower, not to mention the excellent quality food served.

I've said this before, and I'll say it again. The success or failure of any restaurant these days is linked to three things, quality of food, pricing structure and staff. In the case of the latter, the waiting staff really are some of the best. Helpful, attentive, pleasant and knowledgeable (I quizzed mine about some of the ingredients in a dish). It's such a breath of fresh air these days to find staff who genuinely enjoy their work, and that shows in their dealings with customers. I also believe its important to acknowledge such matters.

A nice touch is the fact that the restaurant is fully disabled access friendly with no steps to negotiate.

We were dining from the lunchtime menu which featured a good selection of choices, including soup of the day; served with fresh bread & butter at £4.50, Sandwiches are all served with a mixed side salad and hand cooked crisps and included chicken ciabatta, freshly cooked chicken breast, brie cheese, sliced tomatoes & rocket dressed with homemade tartar sauce for £6.95. Roast ham & cheese comprising home roast ham, cheddar & brie cheese toastie on thick white or wholemeal bread for £5.95. There was also a selection of salads, Mozarella at £6.95; layers of mozzarella, fresh tomatoes, salad & pesto oil on freshly sliced bread. Cajun chicken priced at £7.95; Cajun chicken breast, served over a mixed salad with caramelised onions, fresh tomatoes, and a classic vinaigrette dressing. A sea salad for £9.95; A selection of freshly marinated premium seafood served cold on mixed salad with a marie rose & sweet chilli dip. Burgers and Pizzas also feature on this lunchtime menu, so there should be something to tickle everyones tastebuds.

The building itself is so well designed with an eye to its surroundings and many glass panels allowing diners sea and promenade views, that its worth a visit if only to sit with a coffee and admire your surroundings.

I'd urge you to give this place a chance if you're visiting the town - you won't be dissapointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The-travel-writer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Fab”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Lovely place for a drink, bite to eat and sit and watch the world go by. In a prime location on the promenade near the Tower. The interior is light, airy and extremely comfortable. Drinks are reasonably priced. Lovely antipasti platter on menu - really great value for money. Staff friendly and service efficient. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic evening”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Had a brilliant meal mid-week here - we both had halibut off the specials menu and I had mussels to start. Everything was delicious, and the staff were perfect - friendly but not too in your face. Not only was the food great, but the atmosphere was amazing - the view illuminations were on all down the seafront, and there was some filming going on too, so we had fire-eaters and jugglers outside!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romantic Date”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Me and my boyfriend had the most wonderful time at the beach house. The atmosphere was excellent the food was outstanding and the staff were wonderful. We will deffinatley be back for another visit. Thank you :-)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vikki76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach House Bistro & Bar also viewed

Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to Beach House Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing