We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never pay for a room before you have seen it !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
North Parade Guest House
Ranked #796 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Watford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Never pay for a room before you have seen it !!”
Reviewed May 6, 2008

I just don't know where to start, from the dirty moldy bathroom, to the sticky carpets, Fernando had to be the best thing about this hotel, there was a rather entertaining iron stain on the floor and dirty cups to make the coffee in! A walk from the bar to the reception left a friend with a massive grease stain on her clean jeans, you just felt dirty the whole time I never used the shower and choose to use one around the corned where some friends were staying in a much nicer hotel for only £7 a night more, (pay the extra £7 for the Alabama or Liberties, ) but from what I hear the shower experience was awful. It was an hours walk to the Golden Mile and not a few minues as stated on the hotel website. Do not stay here for any reason it was the worst place I have ever stayed in my life.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Pixienixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    8
    6
    62
See reviews for
12
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2008

We arrived on a Friday afternoon for a Hen Party to be greeted by the staff arguing about who was going to clean the bathrooms, Obviously no one want to do it so it appears they just didn't bother!
The place was an absolute disgrace! The smell as you walked through the front door was enough to put you off.
The rooms were dirty, the bathrooms hadn't been cleaned for what looked liked weeks, there was a tampax wrapper on our toilet floor also there was hair everywhere.
oh and the ceiling was sooooo moldy .

The decor was older than my Grandmother and in much worse condition!
The whole place was just filthy!
However the Lady who served Breakfast was amazing, for reasons i can't even begin to imagine she cared about the place and seemed happy to working there! She couldn't have been more helpfull!
The only other positive thing i can say is that the pillow cases were clean but to me that should just be normal so i begrudge praising them for this!

So overall it was not a pleasant stay!

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank blackpoolBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Leeds
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2008

Arrived on Fri and met the owners, was pleasantly suprised with the friendly welcome.
Enjoyable stay and good value.
Big buffet breakfast and well stocked bar.
Found the hotel near the clubs, ideal for us as we are all in our twenty's

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2007

On arrival we were greeted with a friendly smile and an old musty smell ... a bit like my grandad's old wardrobe. Clashing wallpaper and carpets throughout, but hey, everyone to their own. There is no working lift in this hotel, so you could well be on your knees by the time you reach the top floor.
The room we were given could not have been worse if they tried. It was dusty, and there was a large "deposit" waiting for us in the toilet which took two flushes to get rid of. The shower curtain had a hole in it and you had to run the tap on the bedroom sink to get the shower to work. The wardrobe was falling apart and the beds were as comfortable as lying in a coffin. There were punch marks on the walls. As for the tea/coffee making facilities... it would probably be safer to drink from the toilet. The heating controls seemed to be broken and the room resembled a sauna. The only positive was that the bed sheets were clean.

Breakfast was the only good thing about this hotel and the staff were friendly.

If you are crude, vulgar and/or toothless .. this hotel could be the one for you.

  • Liked — The breakfast
  • Disliked — The cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mscandyfloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2007

This is by far one of the worst propertys we have stayed in. The room and bathroom were disgusting they were not even cleaned properly. After spending £60 on this accommodation and 30 minutes in the room we decided it was time to go else where. They would not give us a full refund they gave us a £20 refund they must be keeping the other £40 to buy cleaning materials!!!

  • Liked — nothing!!!
  • Disliked — Everything!!!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sweetheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2007

My mate and I decided to stay an extra night in Blackpool and so looked for a B&B.

The Firgrove looked nice from the outside and once inside we straight away were made to feel at home by the friendly staff.

We were given the chance to view the accomodation before committing, but as soon as we saw it we had no hesitation in booking.

The room itself, was very clean and spacious, it did however give the impression that it had seen better days and the decor of the hotel in general did seem a bit 1960's/1970's.

However the main thing I look for in a B&B is cleanliness and friendly owners/staff and both of these things were present.

The owners say they normally cater for stag/hen groups and I would definately recommend the Firgrove to these groups.

Finally the breakfast is superb with plenty of choice, with good quality branded food used instead of cheap alternatives.

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wearecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2007

We booked a stag weekend in blackpool and expected just basic bb, but was suprised with the hotel. Patrick was a great host and the bar staff were excellent!
We had the biggest breakfast out, although a few of us couldn't manage it.
The location is near town and they are plenty of pubs on route to the clubs.
Rooms clean, wallpaper a bit dated, but had ensuite and TV.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Thewelshone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Viagra
Hotel Viagra
#68 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
2.4 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,006 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Oakwell Hotel
Oakwell Hotel
#470 of 853 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alfies Hotel
Alfies Hotel
#732 of 853 in Blackpool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rockcliffe Hotel
Rockcliffe Hotel
#206 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Parade Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Parade Guest House

Property: North Parade Guest House
Address: 68/70 Dickson Road | North Shore, Blackpool FY1 2AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #796 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is situated within minutes of every major attraction in Blackpool.and for those with more than pleasure in mind, a short walk from the famous Blackpool Winter Gardens Conference Center.We have Refurbished our en-suite rooms to make you feel very comfortable and welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing