We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our worst Nightmare!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Parade Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
North Parade Guest House
Ranked #850 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our worst Nightmare!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2007

This is by far one of the worst propertys we have stayed in. The room and bathroom were disgusting they were not even cleaned properly. After spending £60 on this accommodation and 30 minutes in the room we decided it was time to go else where. They would not give us a full refund they gave us a £20 refund they must be keeping the other £40 to buy cleaning materials!!!

  • Liked — nothing!!!
  • Disliked — Everything!!!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sweetheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    8
    6
    62
See reviews for
12
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2007

My mate and I decided to stay an extra night in Blackpool and so looked for a B&B.

The Firgrove looked nice from the outside and once inside we straight away were made to feel at home by the friendly staff.

We were given the chance to view the accomodation before committing, but as soon as we saw it we had no hesitation in booking.

The room itself, was very clean and spacious, it did however give the impression that it had seen better days and the decor of the hotel in general did seem a bit 1960's/1970's.

However the main thing I look for in a B&B is cleanliness and friendly owners/staff and both of these things were present.

The owners say they normally cater for stag/hen groups and I would definately recommend the Firgrove to these groups.

Finally the breakfast is superb with plenty of choice, with good quality branded food used instead of cheap alternatives.

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wearecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2007

We booked a stag weekend in blackpool and expected just basic bb, but was suprised with the hotel. Patrick was a great host and the bar staff were excellent!
We had the biggest breakfast out, although a few of us couldn't manage it.
The location is near town and they are plenty of pubs on route to the clubs.
Rooms clean, wallpaper a bit dated, but had ensuite and TV.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Thewelshone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2006

When we arrived in Blackpool, I was optimistic about having a good time there, but when we arrived at the hotel, we could not get in because a ladder was blocking the door; we were made to crawl under the ladder to get in, not a good sign, not to mention the smell that we were greeted with.

After we had checked in, and paid, we went upstairs to find that our room had not even been cleaned! I went down the stairs to be told that they would put us in a different room instead, but after we got to our new room, we were told that they had changed their minds, and that we were to stay in our original room.

We waited for it to be cleaned, this took them some time, after which, we went back to the room to find that the lights were not working, and that the sink was actually falling off the wall! The room was a health and safety nightmare, and definitely not the kind of place that anyone would want to stay in.

We went back down the stairs, and demanded a refund, and to their credit, they gave us one, they were probably expecting it.

This hotel should not be open at all; the building is in serious need of repair and cleaning. We had to find another hotel nearby to stay in.

  • Disliked — Everything.
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid this hotel like the plague!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
england
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2006

Great location for a hotel but not for a place to stay. An old, musty smell greats you as you walk in the door and the decor is hardly up to date. Booked in but not told where room was and had to find for ourselves. Room was in need of a total make-over. An interesting mix of staff were friendly but not top of our customer service list of requirements. Only good things in the end were the breakfast buffet which all guests seem to enjoy and the other guests who were a friendly bunch. Wouldn't recommend to anyone.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — decor, smell, olde worlde essence
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Scunny-Paxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2006

I booked a a weekend to see the lights because the hotel was busy i was told it would be £35.00 per person per night , £140 in total .
They took a deposit of £70.00 with my credit card .
i arrivied at the hotel and from the outsde it looked ok .
I entered the hall way i was greated by a terrible smell .
i was given my key and made my way upstairs my room was small and dirty and cold and damp ,and stunk ,
I went downstairs to complain , and asked for my money back
at first they said no ,but because i said i would take it futher they give me a chq , they said they couldnt refund my card back .as there machine was broken !
the hotel was a dirty dump and was very old and scruffy i wouldnt have stayed there if i had been paid too .

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank holliepoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2006

Having booked the hotel on the internet and travelled expecting good clean rooms we were totally disappointed when we were placed into a small attic room which was like a saunna. The place was a mess. the bed was hard with springs poking through, the wardrobe was a ramshackle affair with the back hanging off and the chest of drawers was falling apart. Myself and my partner are in our 50's and found it difficult to climb the 4 flights of stairs with our cases as the lift was out of order and remained so for the duration of our stay. No assistence was offerred. Due to on going electricial repairs being carried out we were left with no electric in our room. During the day there was absolutely no management in the hotel to see to the needs of the guests. The only positive we could find was that the breakfast served was very good. Would not recommend this hotel to our friends under any circumstances.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank zaklud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,980 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,933 reviews
1.5 mi away
Oakwell Hotel
Oakwell Hotel
#473 of 913 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Alfies Hotel
Alfies Hotel
#771 of 913 in Blackpool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rockcliffe Hotel
Rockcliffe Hotel
#249 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.7 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#213 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Parade Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Parade Guest House

Property: North Parade Guest House
Address: 68/70 Dickson Road | North Shore, Blackpool FY1 2AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #850 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is situated within minutes of every major attraction in Blackpool.and for those with more than pleasure in mind, a short walk from the famous Blackpool Winter Gardens Conference Center.We have Refurbished our en-suite rooms to make you feel very comfortable and welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your North Parade Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing