We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“October 2013”
Review of Blackpool FC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blackpool FC Hotel
Ranked #10 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“October 2013”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night and it was not a good experience.
We went to our room, which was lovely and big, with 4 wardrobes, unpacked everything, and discovered the shower was spewing water all over the floor from the head connector. We thought we were doing a good thing, by telling housekeeping, who said they would inform reception straigh away. THEY DIDNT. 20 minutes later, I rang reception who literally said "you will have to move room, give me a minute".(no apology)
ANOTHER 20 MINUTES LATER, I rang again for her to say "Im doing you a new card, give me 2 minutes". 10 MINUTES LATER (thats 50 minutes so far) the concierge knocked on the door (he was lovely) and moved us to another room. The room was way smaller and felt pokey. The wardrobe was a small cupboard with an ironing board filling it.
I tested the shower and it had the same problem. It felt like a serious DOWNGRADE. I rang reception again. Reception was sharp, "give me a minute". Concierge back, we went to a pitchside room. as big as the first room, but no wardrobes, it had the same pokey cupboard, enough for a couple, for hanging clothes for one night, but no shelves to put smalls on.
this was a family room, I have no idea where they would put their clothes.

blackpool fc, you need to learn from premier inn regarding open wardrobes.

Good beds, but the banging noises and squeeks from the corridoor doors was terrible from 8am onwards. Incidentally, the shower screen leaked and water still went all over the floor.
We also noticed that the floor was not hoovered properly, clearly hair extentions not hoovered.

Breakfast, we got there at 9am, it finishes at 9.30. I didnt want cooked, but couldnt believe the scraps of cereal for me to choose from. no yogurt, fruit salad was empty. milk was full fat only and warm. I had to ask for everything i wanted, the girl was lovely and got me what I wanted. but i shouldnt have to ask for basics.

checkout, asked if we had a good stay, when we said no, they didn know what to say and didnt even make eye contact. what is the point of asking a question, that you either cant answer or wont respond to in a positive manner.

not a good stay, wont be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Phil1287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpoolfchotel, General Manager at Blackpool FC Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Blackpool FC Hotel and taking the time to review us.

We are sorry that you had a poor experience when you stayed with us. The problems you addressed in your review are being rectified and we can only apologise that your stay was unsatisfactory.

If you would like to speak to us about anything regarding this review then please give us a call on 01253 401953, or alternatively you can email reception@blackpoolfchotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    173
    60
    17
    11
See reviews for
217
348
21
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We spent a lovely overnight stay here. The staff were all excellent and very attentive. Our room was very clean and well appointed. Every aspect of our stay was very good indeed. The hotel should be proud of its staff - they worked very hard. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Firstly this is a clean and modern hotel. The rooms are great, the beds super comfy, bathrooms very good. It is just let down by the price charged for it; the staff and its general lack of atmosphere.
Guests appear to be a bit of an inconvenience to staff. The staff are many, and some quite friendly, but not that bothered about whether their guests are being looked after. Breakfast was OK, have had better and worse. Nothing special, buy let down by the service.
To be honest, a lot of the staff seem to be lacking basic hospitality training.

We paid £190ish for a double room and a roll out bed for our son. They charged an extra £45 for a child to stay, a bit much. We were booking last min and anything else decent in Blackpool (only a handful to start with) was gone. This is the one situation where I would recommend this hotel. They are pricey, but the rooms are very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ninak101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsace
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Very new, very clean, excellent service. Very warm welcome. Short walking distance to seafront. Restaurant bar was a little disappointing. I think the staff need more training. Great view of the pitch from the restaurant.

Room Tip: For an unusual view, take a room overlooking the pitch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank memsaabkali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We booked this hotel with friends with groupon. We went for two day stay to do some holiday clothes shopping. On arrival we where greeted by very friendly reception staff. The rooms were very large compaired to other double rooms we have stayed in. There was everything you needed down to iron and ironing board. Beds very large and comfy, there was even a bottle of prosecco in an ice bucket on the table with white napkin and two wine glasses. This hotel is spotless clean and the restaurant was lovely to. Breakfast was second to none.( great choice and very good ). While we where there we booked to watch a show with meal, the place was called Vegas, please go it's a fun filled night brilliant show. We will return again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillandroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Spent two nights here on a KGB deal and could not fault it, excellent value and one of the very best hotels we have had on a deal. Lovely room and the ice bucket with the bottle of Proseco was a great touch. We dined at Rowleys on one evening and had a very enjoyable meal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyholidaymakers49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Booked a long weekend to Blackpool, our first visit, got a great deal with Saga and this superb hotel. The overall standard could be compared with a five star cruise ship so good is the accommodation, meals and customer service at which all the staff excel, thanks to George and Albert and especially Jenny in the restaurant who kindly arranged with the chef so that we could have the delectable sticky toffee pudding even though it wasn't on the menu - gorgeous! Location is great too, near to everything you want to get to but quieter than being nearer the seafront. We had a wonderful time here, well done to all, you have a hotel and staff to be proud of!

Room Tip: Pitch side rooms are less accessible on match days, check when booking. We had a town side room whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swainc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.2 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,044 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,910 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 70 in Blackpool
3,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
454 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 70 in Blackpool
971 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#32 of 70 in Blackpool
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackpool FC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackpool FC Hotel

Property: Blackpool FC Hotel
Address: Bloomfield Road | Lancashire, Blackpool FY1 6JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackpool FC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a landmark location and boasting 70 bedrooms, the Blackpool Football Club hotel is confident of providing the finest facilities on the Fylde Coast.Customers can choose from a wide range of superior accommodation, including luxury suites and family bedrooms depending on your needs.Guest will have access to the brand new state of the art gym, allowing for a healthy and relaxing experience.A view of Bloomfield Road’s hallowed turf accompanies many of the rooms and while the hotel is within touching distance of the town’s many amenities, a built-in sports bar and restaurant will ensure that you can relax without having to leave the comfort of the complex.A concierge and valet parking service will be on hand to make your stay as comfortable and easy as possible, by offering a first class service, peace of mind is guaranteed.All bookings include full English breakfast and guests can also take advantage of free WI-FI and parking. The hotel also boasts a top class restaurant, Rowley’s at BFC, which offers guests a modern British menu.The hotel is within easy reach of The Pleasure Beach, Tower, Piers, Madame Tussauds, Blackpool’s award winning promenade and bustling night life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Blackpool FC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing