We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb! And this from a Derby fan!”
Review of Rowley's

Rowley's
Ranked #32 of 735 Restaurants in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $47
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Paul Rowley, Hotelier, Entrepreneur and Chef has opened his first restaurant on the 2nd floor of the superb new 72 bedroom 4* Blackpool FC Hotel.Rowley's restaurant offers guests a modern British menu and the best of local and regional produce with some international twists and always "big hearty flavours". Respect for seasonality means that daily specials will always be worth looking for.The restaurant is beautifully appointed with a unique view of the stadium and the warmth of welcome, service and attention to detail that ensures all guests of a wonderful dining experience.Rowley's was awarded the "Best New Restaurant in the North West 2012/13" by Lancashire Magazine
London
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb! And this from a Derby fan!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is not for everyone. If you don't like excellent food, friendly service and a brilliantly unique location, do not visit!

We had an extremely enjoyable meal for six with the delicious 'while you wait' canapes, starters and mains but were forced to share desserts as we were all so full. The atmosphere was vibrant and friendly, even though it wasn't a match day, hopefully next time we go it will be!

I am always wary of these 'location' type restaurants, which tend to rely on their unique nature rather than the basics like good food and service at a reasonable price. I was pleasantly surprised that this was not case. This would make a great restaurant wherever it is, but given its location it truly is superb.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EdwardJoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindsayCampbell, Director at Rowley's, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Edward,
Thank you for your review - really good of you and much appreciated.
The view and setting is unique as you say and in many ways we feel a real obligation to do justice to the history and tradition of the club and the location.
We certainly never rest on the "location will sell it" aspect - we work very hard indeed trying to add value and compliment the location and views and eleagance of the restaurant with what we prepare, cook and serve. It is a big responsibility and we never want to et anybody down so reviews like yours give us a big boost, so thank you
Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    53
    33
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
1 review
“A highly enjoyable experience”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We took a little drive out from Lytham for a welcome change and decided to try Rowleys at Blackpool FC. We were delighted to find a high quality venue with a relaxing atmosphere and good food with some modern twists on some traditional Lancashire dishes. The service was excellent throughout. Well worth the visit. Good news for Blackpool and the football club!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TOMW71190773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindsayCampbell, Director at Rowley's, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Tom,
Thank you for visiting Rowley's and driving down from Lytham (where you're not short of eating houses) and thank you for your kind review - it is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back soon
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Blackpool has been missing an excellent restaurant for a while, and now we have one.

The food here is excellent from start to finish. The menu includes classic dishes like fish & chips and steak pie, as well as slightly pricier fine dining alternatives, lamb & duck.

I really recommend trying trying the fillet steak skewers and blue cheese arancini for some pre-starter nibbles.

The fact the restaurant is integrated into the stadium adds an impressive back drop to surroundings, even for those not really interested in football.

My only slight criticism is that the restaurant doesn't cater well for vegetarians, with only mushroom risotto on the menu you're stumped if that isn't to your taste.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eldr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindsayCampbell, Director at Rowley's, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Eldr,
Thank you very much for your review and for namechecking our "while u waits", which very few reviewers touch on, yet are very popular with all our guests - including the Blackpool Manager, Michael Appleton, who loves the Steak Skewers !!
Your point regarding vegetarian options is really well made and our new menu which will be published shortly will feature a far more comprehensive vegetarian offer.
Best wishes from us all here at Rowley's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This restaurant had come well recommended and we decided to give ourselves a pre Xmas treat with a meal for 2 overlooking the hallowed turf of Bloomfield Road. The restaurant itself is lovely with some interesting old pictures of the town on the walls and, of course, a view of the BFC stadium. The a la carte menu looked very tempting with a good selection of traditional and more original dishes on offer. We chose our starters which arrived very quickly after we ordered them and they were pleasant but not memorable. We both ordered steaks off the menu - I ordered fillet (medium) and my wife ordered rib eye (medium rare). Again the dishes came very quickly after we had finished our starters and unfortunately the orders seemed to have been mixed up as the fillet was medium rare and the ribeye was cooked medium. The fillet was fine but the ribeye was a very thin and tough piece of meat that lacked any tenderness and taste. When the waitress asked if everything was ok with our meals, we pointed this out and eventually we asked for the ribeye to be changed. The meat was properly cooked to order this time but was still a thin and fairly sad looking ribeye when you consider the price (£20+). The waitress was very apologetic but she was clearly young and inexperienced (as were most of the staff) and it was very disappointng that, at no point, did any member of the management team come over and offer any sort of explanation or apology. In fact, there seemed to be no discernable management control or front of house operation. We continued our meal and enjoyed the wine and coffees but the final bill of £109 did not present good value for money. I would normally leave a minimum 10% tip but unfortunately I did not leave any tip on this occasion due to the poor quality of the main course and the poor management. We felt sorry for the waiting staff who were obviously inexperienced and lacked training with no management support to help them. I was very disappointed by this experience as this type of restaurant is much needed and very welcome in this part of Blackpool but if they are to continue to charge these (relatively) high prices then the quality of food and service has to improve.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyW1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindsayCampbell, Director at Rowley's, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Tony,
Firstly let me say thank you for your review and for taking the time out to give us your observations, thoughts and feedback - even if it is a little bit painful for us to read.
Secondly, let me apologise for your eperience not being anything other than exceptional.
We're not the cheapest restaurant in Blackpool as you point out and we never will be, as what we try to do is provide all our guests with great food, lovingly prepared and beautifully presented with great service.
As we do with all our reviews that are less than 5 star (and thankfully they are few in number) we always investigate what happened immediately and i can confirm that we didnt have any senior managers on that evening as Holly had been taken ill and had to go home around 6.30pm
No one else was available at such short notice.
I think reading the review carefully - the issue was around the Rib Eye steak as eveything else seems to have been satisfactory and initially around how the steak was cooked - which is always a subjective area (one man's medium rare is another mans medium) but all I can say is - we are really sorry you didnt have a fantastic time as that is what we always strive for and urge you to please come back again and let me know when you're coming and we'll ensure you are reallty well taken care of. (best way to get hold of me is lindsay@rowleysatbfc.com)
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“best food in blackpool”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

what more can you say except this is the best in blackpool .the food is great yor overlooking the grond its warm comfortable and relaxing .

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sagemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rowley's also viewed

Blackpool, Lancashire
 
Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to Rowley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing