We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a better time than I expected after some of the ratings”
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Queens Hotel
Ranked #50 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed monday to friday,during the summer holidays. Hotel has a gym/swimming pool. Other features are a cocktail bar, and the Theatre bar.
The food was decent and the room was presentable. The staff were friendly for the Majority of the time, although one receptionist always appeared lack-lustre.
Things brightened up in the evening, Most of the artists were very good, And the lady singer on the Tuesday night (Heather Dee) was excellent, by far the best of the week.
The Hotel is large, and is well placed on the promenade near to the Pleasure beach, and the piers. I would reccomend this hotel as a place for good food and entertainment, but it would be wrong to call it a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pethea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
There are newer reviews for Queens Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 527 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed with family for september weekend,arrived and and reception staff were very helpful and professional,room was ok and clean and tidy,meals were excellent and polish waiter Daniel was an absolute gem a credit to the hotel,entertainment was ok,very suprised its only a 2 star worth every penny we payed,only downside was we asked for seaview when booked but faced back of hotel and asked to be close together but were on 2 diffrent floors,but other than that had a ball of a time,so thanks

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Main rooms and food and service very good We stayed in room 23 on the first floor and thought great first floor but the only lift in hotel only took 3 people and after we reached the first floor we had a long walk along creaky floorboards to another set of stairs before reaching our room . Room was small but clean .We last stayed at this hotel 30 years ago and still the same furniture in the bedroom and oh dear those creaky floor boards, Glad we were only there 3 nights Loved the Legends show on central pier. Enjoyed the new trams and so glad we bought a day pass for trams and buses, well worth it . The prom was lovely, but hotels on the front in need of a facelift.Las Vegas of the north EH NO .We are a couple in our seventies and hotel seemed to be full of older people. How the disabled people managed,I do not know.The entertainment in hotel was very good . Towels had to be kept on bed as nowhere to lay them in the bathroom .The only chair in the room was dirty, sat with a poly bag on it .Dont expect to pay good money for this type of room. We had to pay before we saw the room or would have looked around for better

Room Tip: Did not see any.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fifer33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Queens organised through Alfa travel. My elderly mum who has slight mobility problems was with us.
The hotel is a recent addition to Leisureplex, part of Alfa travel. The decor is 'faded grandeur', but our rooms and all public areas were clean and tidy. The location on the south promendae is excellent.
The reception staff dealt with my request to change our two rooms so that they were closer quickly and efficiently, and we had two twin rooms in a quiet area with minimum steps and distance from lift.
Breakfast was good, but the menu was standard traditional fayre and somewhat limited.
Evening meals also had a limited menu, essientially a roast, a fish dish or a salad dish, with chef's specials and vegetarian options only available to pre-order at breakfast. Desserts were a hot pud, cold pud,i ce cream or cheese and biscuits. The menus are the same weeek in wek out across the Leisureplex hotels and apparently do not change over the years.
The hotel caters mainly for guests 55plus and knows what this age group wants, basically good value accommodation, plain cooking and bingo and entertainment. My Mum loved it. I would have preferred a more varied menu with less bland food.
When the hotel is refurbished, and the menu is updated, it will be an excellent base in Blackpool.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NanaPond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Really disappointed :-( smoke shed right at entrance so nice fog for fag smoke you to walk through on arrival. Reception and most of staff very welcoming and helpful. But the place just lets itself down. Mass produced tasteless food. It's in major major need of a re vamp. Some nicer public toilets that the one in my room. The landing has a constant smell of must. Everywhere you went was just scratched marked worn etc I don't pay to go away somewhere worse than my own house! Mum brought us here as kids and was a real shame to have this experience. And for £140 for half board 1 night could of tolerated it for half the price. Won't return :-(

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wadz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here for one night on Sat 18th August... was a last minute booking, we booked on the morning of our stay, so I didn't get chance to 'have a shop round'. Been to Blackpool hundreds of times, and knew this one had been there for years so thought it'd give it a go. Wish I hadn't to be honest. We were plonked in the back of beyond, room 17, which honestly was a good 5 minutes walk from reception, over looking the kitchen extractor and the back street. I presume as we are a couple in our late 20's they thought we wouldn't be in till the early hours, so put us away from all the other guests in case we woke them. (They thought wrong, we actually went out for a meal and was home for midnight!). Bed was old and tired, the window didn't shut/lock, there were cigarette stains on sink in the bathroom, stains on the curtains, just generally really worn & tired and a little grubby. We paid £65.00 for bed & breakfast, which I thought was a little steep. When we asked if we could have a sea view room, we were asked to pay an extra £10.00, which I wasn't prepared to do. The hotel doesn't pay for the sea view, so why should I??! - A little niggle of mine! Parking was free however, which is the only real bonus... Have a look round, you will find a lovely little B&B a lot cheaper and a lot nicer.

Room Tip: Avoid room 17
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsDuck22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here over bank holiday, an although we have stayed here once before I must say standards have fallen a little. This more of a hotel for the older generation, although it smelt of cigarettes galore. The rooms were really spacious with a fantastic seaview but really old with creaky floorboards, an the showers did not run very nice. All in all we had a fab time which is all dat matters

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anj21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#19 of 73 in Blackpool
1,151 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Doric Hotel
Doric Hotel
#9 of 73 in Blackpool
1,253 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
517 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#23 of 73 in Blackpool
1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Address: 467 - 469 South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: $76 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queens Hotel-Blackpool (3 alpha grading AA 3 star) ideally situated on South Promenade, the Queens is one of Blackpool's larger hotels overlooking the Irish Sea and only a ten minute walk from the famous Pleasure Beach and Sandcastle waterpark. The Queens hotel is the newest addition to Leisureplex Hotels and is a perfect base to explore 'Britain's most popular holiday destination' with its prime location between Central and South piers. 111 Bedrooms have central heating and bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, internal telephone, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. Generously sized public areas including cocktail bar, recently refurbished theatre bar with superb entertainment, attractive lounges and an indoor heated pool, sauna and gymnasium. Extensive coach and car parking. A Leisureplex Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool Hotel Queen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing