We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short family break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Phillips Apartments
Ranked #43 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Blackpool
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“short family break”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

did not look up reviews on apartments, on internet it looks lovely, told them at time of booking that there was myself/husband, daughter with baby of 5 weeks would sleep in pram and child 4yrs, daughter with baby 8 months, would sleep in travel cot which we would bring we climbed two flights stairs, and then a very narrow flight stairs with an acute bend at start of stairs which was very difficult to carry pram up,the apartment was in the attic, we would never have booked it if we had looked it up, one of my daughters only stayed one night, there was not enough room in the bedroom for pram, and travel cot.

On reading reviews now, the carpets definetly don t look new especially the hall carpet, on top floor, leading into lounge, surely anyone travelling from outside to the top there feet should ve been long clean before they got to the top, tap in lounge constantly dripped, the futon was bloody awful to lie on,

proprietor gave us key, showed us room,i asked if they were busy, said yes, hoping that we could ve got another apartment, if i had not paid deposit, i wouldve left then, but this was our treat to family, and was very disappointed especially when i distinctlytold him at time of booking tothat we had two very small babies with us to be put in the attic,

Room Tip: i ve been in many places, this was definitely not my idea of comfort or value. would not recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ansp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casinoshark, Owner at Phillips Apartments, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
with a young family to support and a business to build up-these damaging remarks do not help us achieve what we have planned -we have spent hundreds of pounds replacing furniture -fridges and carpets and if someone needs a repair doing or anything extra in the flats-we always say to just ask us-we need happy customers to be able to refurbish...you saw our flats on the internet and rang us to book and we did say that a flat for up to 6 people was available with 1 car space-if you bring extra people and cars and say everything is ok when we ask you- then why go home and put these detremental remarks on trip adviser-once we were aware the taps were dripping-these have now been replaced-and the same with all the carpets-we are doing our best to completely refurbish all the apartments to a very high standard but Rome was not built in a day - we are sorry that your 2 day break was not as expected
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2012

just returned from another lovely stay, we stayed in apartment 6 (no, 3 last year) the apartments are very well equipped and clean, obviously had recent new carpets, beds and bedding extremely clean and comfortable. overall we cannot fault it a warm friendly welcome by andy and lisa who go out of their way to ensure a good time, already planning our next visit!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casinoshark, Owner at Phillips Apartments, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thankyou very much-we think you are working your way through the house as you have had just about all the flats-and as you say- we are trying hard to refurbish them all to a very high standard -----------looking forward to seeing you again soon -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Booked into the Phillips Apartments as a last minute booking in February 2012 due to our usual choice not being available and was pleasantly surprised. The Proprietors Andy and Lisa was very friendly and outgoing and considering it was out of season during our stay had an abundance of information on local things to do. The room we stayed in was very clean and tidy and very well equipped. We will definitely be visiting The Philips apartments again and look forward to catching up with our new friends Andy and Lisa again soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruth2012si
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casinoshark, Owner at Phillips Apartments, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thankyou very much -we hope to see you all again soon-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Very friendly and accommodating management.Clean well equiped apartments - highly recommended - a real home from home environment - stuated very close to attractions and sea front but far away enough to ensure a good nights
peaceful sleep.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casinoshark, Owner at Phillips Apartments, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thankyou Carl for your review and patronage- by the time you return again- even more of the house will be refurbed-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Settle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

A very well run establishment, friendly and will bend over backwards to assist in your needs.
We had a very pleasant 3 day break, took in the resort, surroundings and show ( Chubby Brown)at the famously run Blackpool Grand theatre.
Andi and Lisa are the proprietors of the guesthouse, The rooms are fully equip with all your basic needs and are very well presented and clean.
We highly recommend this is the place to stay and have told our friends about it.
If you are planning a stay in Blackpool, you cant go wrong with this place
ENJOY!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: we recommend all the rooms, i would imagine they are all up to the same standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casinoshark, Owner at Phillips Apartments, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
always a pleasure to have such lovely people stay with us-lookin forward to your next trip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,044 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waverley House Apartments
Waverley House Apartments
#49 of 128 in Blackpool
143 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#95 of 128 in Blackpool
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,910 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#228 of 856 in Blackpool
145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmont Hotel
Belmont Hotel
#207 of 856 in Blackpool
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phillips Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phillips Apartments

Property: Phillips Apartments
Address: 56 Station Road | South Shore, Blackpool FY4 1EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Blackpool
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phillips Apartments 2.5*

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing